We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small zoo, perfect for us” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Birmingham Zoo

Birmingham Zoo
2630 Cahaba Road, Birmingham, AL 35223
205-879-0409
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 94 things to do in Birmingham
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Watch sea lions being trained and fed, zip around on the Zoo Train, hop on the carousel, check out the alligator swamp and tropical rain forest: all this and more are offered at this educational and entertaining zoo housing 170 animals from around the world, including endangered species.
Mankato, Minnesota
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Small zoo, perfect for us”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We stopped in with about 3 hours to see everything. It was perfect the cats were feed while we were there and the trainers were fantastic with the crowd. One little boy's endless questions were answered and we all appreciated it. That guy will be a zoo-fanatic for the rest of his life.

It was a school day so absolutely no crowds and really enjoyed a wonderful afternoon looking at everything for as long as we wanted.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    200
    85
    19
    18
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alabama
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
56 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great zoo with plenty of space for the animals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

This is a big, nice zoo with plenty to see and do for the whole family. The animals appear well cared for and happy. The elephants in particular had more space than I have seen given them at most other zoos. I was disappointed that a few exhibits were closed during my visit, but the carousel and train ride for my kid more than made up for that. Definitely worth a visit.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Worth an afternoon.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

A lot of effort has been put into the lion and elephant areas. Kids love the train. Don't miss zoolight safari at Christmas. It is incredible !

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Talladega, Alabama
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Tons of Birds...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

I have to be honest the only reason The Birmingham Zoo got Very Good from me was the fact that they have tons of birds - unfortunately they don't have much of anything else. We didn't see any bears or chimpanzees, along with several other animals that we had expected. We did think it was a little expensive to not have more big animals than what they did.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia, United States
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
70 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Very Nice Zoo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

This is a wonderful way to spend a day - especially if you little kids. I have a 3 year son who adores animals - he had an absolute blast at the zoo. The aviary and their bird collection is very impressive. The Lorikeet feeding was just awesome - it was phenomenal to see 2-3 Lorikeets sit on my 3 year old son's hands and drink the nectar from the cup. They also have giraffe feeding which we did - to be so close to the gentle giants was awesome.

We also rode the camels which was quite an adventure - one negative was that the camel ride is about $6 per person and the ride is hardly 2 minutes (maybe even less) - they should look to increasing the duration of the ride for that price

The train ride was fun for kids and adults. They have a pretty impressive collection of animals - rhino, elephants, lions, a tiger, etc. Their reptile section is small and not much to write about.

They also have a children's zoo, carousel and spalsh pad. Unfortunately we were getting late for our drive to Atlanta and couldnt do it. Next time....

We ate at the safari cafe and the pizza and nachos was pretty good. We ordered the whole pie - so it was hot, fresh and delicious....

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Birmingham Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Birmingham Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Birmingham Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.