We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice but not so impressive in the winter” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Birmingham Zoo

Birmingham Zoo
2630 Cahaba Road, Birmingham, AL 35223
205-879-0409
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 94 things to do in Birmingham
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Watch sea lions being trained and fed, zip around on the Zoo Train, hop on the carousel, check out the alligator swamp and tropical rain forest: all this and more are offered at this educational and entertaining zoo housing 170 animals from around the world, including endangered species.
Starkville, Mississippi
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very nice but not so impressive in the winter”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We went to this zoo in December, and obviously I did not expect much since it was pretty cold. Our son loved the Christmas decorations, we also liked the drums located in the African section, but we did not see many animals. I wish there were more indoor displays available for winter, or maybe the zoo should charge a little less during this season, because it is obviously not the same experience as in spring/fall/summer.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    200
    85
    20
    18
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great little zoo.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Went to the zoo with young (2yrs old) children. The flow of the zoo kept the youngsters occupied and eager to see the next animal. The glass walls on the exhibits like the lions made for really easy viewing and those were usually the exhibits that we visited the longest. Would recommend the train ride. The kids loved it.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great getaway in the middle of the city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I liked the large animal enclosure and the variety of large animals. It appears the zoo has a caring staff and most likely a caring volunteer staff. The zoo is clean and well maintained. I had not been to the zoo for 42 years. It was a refreshing stop.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bessemer
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Zoo Light Safari”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I was a little dissappointed that we had to pay extra for the train and the other activities. The lines were very long for the train and Merry Go Round so spent most of our time in lines. The lights were pretty and the kids enjoyed the outing.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great zoo trip for the family!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

The zoo has steadily enlarged and improved over the years (I've lived here since 1978). Close to major roads, downtown, and food, etc., too!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Birmingham Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Birmingham Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Birmingham Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.