We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The food is very good and authentic!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sitar Indian Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sitar Indian Restaurant
729 20th Street South, Birmingham, AL 35233
205-323-6500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #126 of 872 Restaurants in Birmingham
Price range: $13 - $30
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: 8th Ave (University Bivd)
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The food is very good and authentic!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

I visited for only dinner, as I had a Groupon to use. I came in just before 6:00 pm on a weeknight and there was only 2 tables occupied. Of course, I received excellent service, no problem. The items I received were very tasty and what I remember from an Indian friend of mine, who cooked for me. I asked for a recommendation for the entree and was not disappointed. Since I was able to order a 3 course meal, I took home quite a bit of food as leftovers for the next day. Good food, even left over!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    15
    7
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama, USA
1 review
“Authentic Indian Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The food is authentic and delicious. Portions are sufficient for 2. If you are around there for lunch time then lunch buffet is way to go. The service is excellent, decor is nice too.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Haven, Connecticut
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Good food, poor service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

I had been to this restaurant previously, for both lunch and dinner. It has a good lunch buffet, and the food for dinner is very good, too. The service was very poor this time, however. We had to wait for a long time to get our food, and it was difficult to get a waiter's attention. The waiters seemed rather inept, and one of them even knocked over a water glass on our table! Moreover, my dish was very mild even though I had asked for it to be hot, and another person in our party got naan with ghee, even though he had specifically asked for naan without ghee. It was replaced quickly, but evidently the waiters had not listened to our requests. Frustrating.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Authentic indian cuisine..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Check out their lunch buffets...you get a ton of food for a good deal. Real aunthentic curries..loved this place.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southfield, Michigan
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very good Indain food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I decided to try this restaurant because I love Indian food and it was in walking distance from the hotel where I was staying. I must say I was not disappointed. The food was really good , well prepared with just the right spice level that I requested. Seasoning was not "dumbed down" for the mainstream.The menu had good variety, and the server was quite familiar with it and able to give additional information about the choices. The service was a little slow, but the staff seemed friendly enough. While nothing fancy the decor was pleasant. The prices were very reasonable for the quality and amount of food offered. All in all, a good choice for Indian food lovers. I can definitely recommend it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sitar Indian Restaurant also viewed

Birmingham, AL
Birmingham, AL
 

Been to Sitar Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sitar Indian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.