We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Airport Area

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Airport Area to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Airport Area
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3930 Grants Mill Road, Birmingham, AL 35210   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #15 of 82 Hotels in Birmingham
Denver, CO
Top Contributor
326 reviews 326 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Very nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I needed a hotel by the airport since I had a very early flight the following day. This hotel choice was perfect. I arrived in the evening and there were cookies and fruit to choose from. Also the hot tea and coffee. The king room was spacious, clean, and very comfortable. The bed was great to have a good sleep.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    35
    21
    8
    4
See reviews for
37
25
9
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I will definately remember this for future travel. Probably the cleanest Hilton property I have ever been in. The staff was extremely pleasant and accomodating. They all seemed to enjoy working there as well.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, NC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

This is a very good facility for the business traveler. The staff hospitality is great and the facility is well maintained. Workout facility is very good, pantry is well-stocked, breakfast is very good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bhmea, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Airport Area, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear Doug S,
Thank you so much for your knind remarks about your recent stay with us. I am so glad to hear that you found everything to your statisfaction. I do hope that if you ever find yourself back in the Birmingham area you will again choose us as your hotel of choice. Stay safe & happy travels.. Kenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at this hotel. The bed was extremely comfortable and the room had everything that we needed. The continental breakfast served in the morning was wonderful and had everything from bagels and waffles to fruit, yogurt and eggs. The room and lobby were clean and the staff could not have been more friendly. We will definitely stay here again when we are in Birmingham!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bhmea, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Airport Area, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear elizabethcameron,
It’s awesome to hear you are pleased with our hotel. Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience. If there is anything we can do to enhance our services please let us know as we are always listening to our Guests. Thanks again for choosing us! ...Kenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Very nice, quiet and very clean hotel. The staff were very friendly. This is a quality hotel chain - and I love staying there because their beds are so nice.
The only con I can think of was the difficulty getting to the hotel....which was probably our fault. It does sit off the road and our GPS was off a bit. I recommend this place. We didn't partake of the breakfast because we slept late.

Room Tip: The back of the hotel has beautiful view of forest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bhmea, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Airport Area, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear bino1952,
Just wanted to thank you for your recent stay here at our hotel! So glad you were able to experience our authentic Hampton hospitality. Your comments about your stay at our hotel made me smile. We know it’s the little things (like the view of the trees) that make your stay more comfortable. I’ll be sure to share your comments with the team as they will also enjoy hearing them. We look forward to seeing you soon. ...Kenny Goldman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

After several nights in disgustingly dirty hotels we spent last night in room 219 here. The room was spotlessly clean! Sheets, floor, bathroom, everything was perfectly presented. Thank you! Throw in the tasty breakfadt on top and we are now big fans of Hampton Inn.

Room Tip: I can recommend room 219.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bhmea, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Airport Area, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Dear Eddie G,
I am very happy to read the comments about your recent stay and glad that you found the cleanliness of our hotel to your satisfaction. We are all about Satisfaction Guaranteed and I am glad to hear that we were succesful. Should you find your way back to Birmingham in the future we do hope you will again choose to stay with us.
Safe Travels,
...Kenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MT
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

The location is convenient and the hotel was clean, but unfortunately we won't be back for the simple reason that the bed was hard as a rock. Hampton beds are usually great, so I'm not sure why ours was so uncomfortable.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bhmea, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Airport Area, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Dear Ottavina,
I just wanted to say thank you for your recent stay here at our hotel! I do appreciate that for the most part you found the hotel satisfying. But, I also want to apologize that you did not find the matresses as soft as you desire. We want our guests to have the best stay possible where every area is a comfortable as expected. I assure you that I will pass this information on and see if there is anyway that we might be able to replace some beds with a softer matress. Again thank you so much for your feedback and I do hope that you might try us again if you are ever back in this area. Respectfully, Kenny Goldman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Airport Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Airport Area

Address: 3930 Grants Mill Road, Birmingham, AL 35210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#16 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#17 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Airport Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a comfortable and convenient stay at our Irondale hotel with free high-speed internet access in guest rooms and business center. Our business center features a choice of professional services including fax and photocopying. Start the day with a workout in our fitness center or refresh with a swim in our indoor pool. Join us for waffles, eggs and daily specialties with Hampton’s free hot breakfast. If you’re headed to an early morning meeting or golf on the Robert Trent Jones Trail, grab an On the Run® Breakfast Bag, available Monday to Friday, for a quick and healthy meal to go. Host your special occasion or executive business meeting in our Whistle Stop Meeting Room. Pick up a midnight snack or sundries at our 24-hour Suite Shop. If you’re traveling with young children, we can provide a crib and high chair during your stay. Unwind in a guest room or suite that features all of the amenities and services that you’ll need for a carefree vacation in Birmingham. Turn on the 32-inch LCD HD TV and watch a cable channel. Get prepared for the day in a bathroom featuring granite countertops and vanities. Be productive by using the work desk with adjustable lamp or lap desk. Pop popcorn in the microwave while cooling drinks in the mini-refrigerator. Check emails using free high-speed internet access or simply relax in a clean and fresh Hampton bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Airport Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham-East i-20 Hotel Birmingham
Hampton Inn And Suites Birmingham-East i-20

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Airport Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.