We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham/Trussville

Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham/Trussville to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham/Trussville
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3230 Edwards Lake Parkway, Birmingham, AL 35235   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA/CAA Members save 10%
Ranked #9 of 82 hotels in Birmingham
Center Point, Alabama
2 reviews
“Awesome Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Enjoyed my stay, the bar was awesome and very reasonable. Also loved the atmosphere of the fireplaces in the lobby. I truely enjoyed the breakfast bar and their made to orders.Will definitely stay there again. It was truely a lovely experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    27
    12
    4
    0
See reviews for
28
20
12
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Augusta, Georgia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The location of this hotel is very good. It's not on the main road through this area, but it's within 2 minutes of the interstate. It's quiet, without any traffic noise. The exterior was clean and well-maintained. No dirty ashtrays or cigarette butts on the sidewalk or parking lot. The lobby is very nice and inviting, with a warm fire and subtle lighting. It was immaculately clean and fresh smelling. The young lady who checked me in was very courteous and I had no problems at all using my HHonors and my military discount.

When I got to my room, which was a double, I encountered the only problem of my stay. The door would not latch. Anyone walking down the hall could just push the door open if the top lock was not engaged. When I went down to report this to the desk clerk, she apologized and immediately changed my room. She even upgraded me to a Jr. Suite, which I thought was very kind of her, even though I didn't ask for an upgrade.

The Junior Suite was very spacious, with a king sized bed, a nice sized couch, 2 tables, desk, refrigerator, and 2 HD televisions. The room was very clean and smelled clean, but not antiseptic/bleachy, like some hotel rooms can smell. The bedding is all white, which is good, because it can be bleached, and indeed it did smell faintly of bleach, so I could tell it was nice and clean. This hotel chain uses the Sleep-Number type system, so guests can adjust the beds to their satisfaction. This worked relatively well, but I always find that the head of the bed remains a bit higher than the foot of the bed, which can be awkward feeling at times.

The bathroom was spacious as a standard Hilton Garden Inn bathroom, with a curved shower rod and a rainfall shower head. The towels were nice and clean, and there was no fraying or anything. They use Bath & Body Works bath gels, which I've never seen at a hotel before, but it was a nice change of pace.

The hotel was nice and quiet, even though there were many cars in the parking lot. I had a good nights' sleep, and I felt safe there. As a female who travels alone quite often, feeling secure in my room is a major priority for me, second only to the room cleanliness. The AC is a central heat/air type unit with a digital controller on the wall. It was very easy to get the right temperature in the room. The unit is a tad bit loud at first, but after awhile, it just becomes white noise, and you don't notice it.

Checkout was easy, and the older gentleman at the front desk was very courteous and polite. I travel to Birmingham several times a year, and I usually tend to stay more toward the Hwy 280 area. However, from this point on, I will definitely stay at this hotel, even if it is not quite as close to my destination.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

the staff in both the bar and breakfast area are absolutely the best. rooms and lobby always clean and comfortable. great location. i travel a lot so i have a lot to compare this hotel to and I am NEVER disappointed

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulf Shores, Alabama
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Had a late check in and called ahead and they said no problem. Showed up a little after 11pm and the front doors were deactivated so they would not open when we walked up to them. We waited a while, knocked on the glass, no activity what so ever inside. My husband was able to slide the door open with his finger tips a little and only then did the front desk clerk come out and start to scold us that we had to use our key and not to ever do that. I ask him how do we use a key if we haven't checked in yet? Then his tone changed and he apologized and proceeded to check us in. Not the nicest greeting, but we got over it. After we checked in the rest of the stay was very nice. No trouble finding the hotel, in a nice area. The rooms were nice, clean and comfortable. The best part of the stay was the shower. It has perfect water temperature and amazing shower head pressure. Used the business center, which was set up very nice and was very convenient. Had breakfast the next morning. It is not included in the price. Cost if I remember right was $9.95 per person for an all you can eat buffet. The food was average, nothing great, nothing horrible. The breakfast staff however was amazing. So nice and helpful. The older gentleman that checked us out in the morning was very nice as well.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine Bluff, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I chose this because it was a good hotel and I used my military discount. The hotel looked like it was recently built. The grounds were well kept. I didn't like the fact that breakfast didn't come with the room, oh well. My room a handicapped room, so it was over sized and spacious. The bed was good and everything was in working order. The room could have been cleaned better. Some of the furniture wasn't wiped down properly, but I lived. Overall, the hotel was good and the staff were good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The hotel manager does not consider retired military to be qualified for the military discount. If you are looking for a military friendly hotel keep looking. Other than that it is your typical comfortable, clean Hilton Garden Inn.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coldwater, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The room was nice, the lobby and lounge,restaurant were very inviting and attractive. The main complaint I had was there was NO BATH TUB, only a stand-up shower in our room. I didn't book the room so I'm not sure if that was mentioned or not.The beds are kind of like Sleep Number beds, so that was great. Staff was very helpful and nice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham/Trussville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham/Trussville

Address: 3230 Edwards Lake Parkway, Birmingham, AL 35235
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 82 hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham/Trussville 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Travelocity, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham/Trussville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham/Trussville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.