We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel. Needs better service.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Birmingham-Hoover

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Birmingham-Hoover to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Birmingham-Hoover
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2960 John Hawkins Parkway, Birmingham, AL 35244   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #10 of 81 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Texarkana, Arkansas
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice hotel. Needs better service.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

The hotel itself is very nice. Large spacious rooms, and very clean. The service is the new restaurant could have been better. I stood waiting for a hostess for about 10 minutes and then someone from the front desk had to find someone to seat me. It was 7 pm and no one was eating. Probably because they looked closed. The food was actually pretty good. Overall good location and nice rooms.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESHoover, Exec Admin at Embassy Suites Birmingham-Hoover, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
natd2,

Thank you so much for your review and feedback! First, we do apologize that you did not experience the service you deserved in our new restaurant, Hoover Grille. Your feedback will be shared with our managers and the appropriate departments. We are happy to hear you did enjoy the food! Thank you for noting our clean, spacious rooms and our great location as well.

We hope you will be back to join us very soon!

Embassy Suites Birmingham-Hoover
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    80
    32
    21
    10
See reviews for
126
41
12
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St. Paul, MN
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Everyone was friendly and accomodating. Could have stayed in the comfy bed for days! Disapointed the pool/hot tub was under maintenace, but that can happen anywhere. The next time, I go anywere for work with an Embassy suites, I will stay there.

Room Tip: King rooms don't have a bath tub, just a large shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESHoover, Exec Admin at Embassy Suites Birmingham-Hoover, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
shellycoolcat,

Thanks for your kind review! We agree - our beds are so comfortable! Thank you for noting our wonderful staff too! We apologize that our pool was under maintenance during your visit, but thank you for understanding. We hope you will be able to enjoy that during your next visit!

Thank you for choosing Embassy Suites, and we are happy to have you back any time! See you soon!

Embassy Suites Birmingham-Hoover
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saint paul
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I've stayed here twice now. This hotel is solid. Check in is always easy. Free breakfast with made to order eggs is great - especially now that they have egg whites. It is always clean and staff is friedly. Meets the mark.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESHoover, Exec Admin at Embassy Suites Birmingham-Hoover, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
khadro74,

Thank you so much for your review and choosing to stay with us again!! We are happy to hear that you are taking advantage of our full buffet breakfast and enjoying the cooked-to-order omelet station! We hope you have also been able to enjoy our complimentary cocktail manager's reception that we have each evening from 5:30pm-7:30pm! If not, stop by next time you're with us to enjoy complimentary house wine, draft beer, house cocktails, and snacks!

We hope to see you again soon!

Emassy Suites Birmingham-Hoover
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stay at this Embassy Suites several times each year while on business to Maxwell AFB. The facility is always in top condition and the staff is extremely courteous and helpful. An easy drive from the airport, close to several of the Robert Trent Jones Golf Courses, and only 75 minutes to Montgomery/Maxwell AFB. A must stay!

Room Tip: Stay on the rear side of the building (quieter).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESHoover, Exec Admin at Embassy Suites Birmingham-Hoover, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
606MikeK606,

First, we want to thank you for being a loyal guest at our hotel, and we are so happy to hear you always enjoy your stay! Thank you for your review and noting our great staff as well! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Embassy Suites Birmingham-Hoover
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Nice hotel and nice room but one big problem. I made reservations and asked the guy at least 4 times if we had a tub since it is a king suite and all they had. He responded yes every time.

I check in and find out no tub!!! They are booked and the guy just apologized that checked me in. Ridiculous! I have a 5 year old and 8 month old. Guess they won't be getting baths the next 2 nights. Gees

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESHoover, Exec Admin at Embassy Suites Birmingham-Hoover, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Christielynn,

Thank you for your review and feedback! Thank you for noting our nice hotel and rooms, but we do apologize that you were not told accurate information and for the inconvenience of having no tub. Your review will be passed along to the managers and appropriate department heads to avoid having this problem again.

Thanks again, and we hope to see you again soon!

Embassy Suites Birmingham-Hoover
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DFW
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

It's usually not something I expect, but I had a lot of bags and equipment to take to the room and the staff just watched me. Felt like an employee. Otherwise the Embassy is my place of choice because of the breakfast and cocktails in the evening. Never had an Embassy not offer any assistance.

Room Tip: Just be prepared to pay more for less.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESHoover, Exec Admin at Embassy Suites Birmingham-Hoover, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
DFWRoofingConsultant,

Thank you for your feedback and being a loyal Embassy guest! We do apologize and are sorry to hear you were not offered any assitance with your belongings upon your arrival. We take great pride in our customer service, so this is not standard or acceptable at our hotel. We hope you will come back and give us another chance to Wow you during your stay!

Embassy Suites Birmingham-Hoover
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Loving this place! Separate bedroom that shares the bath with the living room... Spacious and clean. Very quiet! I'm picky but this place is aesthetically pleasing to me! Has a kitchenette but has no dishes or utensils!complimentary made-to-order breakfast. I did have to pay a $25 deposit due to paying with cash--- a little strange. But overall, I'm liking this place... Definitely better than the Hyatt down the street!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESHoover, Exec Admin at Embassy Suites Birmingham-Hoover, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dixiefamily,

Thank you so much for your review and the pictures you provided of your suite! We are happy you have found your suite to be clean, quiet, and spacious! The $25 deposit when paying cash is standard procedure at most hotels. We are glad you have enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you back soon!

Embassy Suites Birmingham-Hoover
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Birmingham-Hoover? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Birmingham-Hoover

Address: 2960 John Hawkins Parkway, Birmingham, AL 35244
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#5 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#9 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Birmingham-Hoover 3.5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Embassy Suites built in Design Option Three offers all Embassy Suites core amenities while preserving energy and space. Contemporary new suites have natural light in both the bed room and living room and the privacy of our tower structure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Odigeo, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Embassy Suites Birmingham-Hoover reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Birmingham-Hoover Hotel Birmingham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Birmingham-Hoover, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.