We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Airport

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4965 Montevallo Rd, Birmingham, AL 35210   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #55 of 82 hotels in Birmingham
Auburn, AL
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Average”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We've stayed at the hotel in the past because the other Choice Hotels property off Grants Mill is atrocious. The price is about right for the hotel and the room and bed were decent. The side entry door lock was broken and that was a concern. Never eat breakfast here, so can't comment on that. Registration was easy, helpful, and courteous.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    7
    8
    8
    4
See reviews for
9
6
Solo
0
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Stayed on cross country trip having just picked up my two dogs in addition to the one I already had with me. Chose this hotel as it was pet friendly ($20 per pet...ouch) and near the airport as I was retrieving my husband there for the remainder of my drive. The room felt so damp but I initially attributed it to the humidity in AL. After going out for food and gas, I returned and kicked off my sandals. The floor felt damp all over. I went to the front desk becuase I thought that the water heater (the manager said it was being worked on) which seemed to by outside my room (repairman there) may have popped. He came back to the room with me and explained that the carpets had just been shampooed that day and that it wasn't really wet, just seemed that way. He offered to move me to one of the other pet friendly rooms but they had all been shampooed and I did not see the point. I decided to keep my room and he offered to remove the pet fee which I thought was a very nice gesture. The bed was comfortable and the morning breakfast was nice. So, despite the fact that the room and carpet felt damp, it was still a good stay. I realize things sometimes happen and the management did make it fair so I am happy with the deal.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

We chose this Comfort Inn for its location--close to the family homestead for a family reunion. We were leery of the other reviews of it not being clean, but in our experience, it was clean. but not without some shortcomings.

When we arrived there was a mop and bucket in the middle of the lobby for no discernible reason--a bad first impression. But the room was nice--we weren't expectiong Hampton Inn class here and it was satisfactory. It was adequately cleaned the second day except the trash can wasn't emptied. Bed and bathroom both clean.

Liked the free Wall Street Journal newspapers and the free breakfast.

But desk staff needed to be more professional---when we checked out, both were outside taking a smoke break, leaving the desk unattended--not good.

Overall, we'd stay there again, given its location and proce. But one bad stay here next time would make us consider the venerable old Birmingham Motel around the corner as an alternative. I hope the competition will keep this Comfort Inn on its toes!

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms were very convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartow, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

We stayed on May 13 for one night, choosing the location for the pet friendly nature. The location is good and there are places to eat nearby. The room was not cleaned as well as expected, especially the bathroom. The bed was comfortable and the TV worked fine. Breakfast was adequate, average for Comfort Inn. The A/C was set to 68, a little cold for our taste.
Not the best stay but not the worst either.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaunakakai
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

I've stayed at this Comfort Inn before many times since 2005. I never had a problem until this visit.
I stayed there 5 nights. When I returned to my room the first night at 8PM after leaving the room at 6AM the room had not been made up. Neither had 3 of my colleagues rooms. I went downstairs to get fresh towels and was told the housekeeper had just "missed our rooms."
The last night I was there I again left the room at 6AM and returned at 930PM. The bed was made this time but the dirty towels were still in the bathroom and there was actually more trash in the waste paper baskets than when I left. Again I was told as the hotel was "full" she just didn't get around to it. She also left the A/C on full blast when she made the bed. It was so cold in the room I had to wear my coat to bed!
I am Diamond Status with Choice Hotels and this is unacceptable. I'll stay at the Hampton Inn next time I'm in Birmingham.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012 via mobile

Great value- we enjoyed the suite with separated living/bedroom, big bathroom and kitchenette, plus pet friendly. Worked perfect for us! Nice and helpful service, too. Would recommend, for sure.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, Delaware
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

A satisfactory choice for a comfortable stay; is overall very clean and well maintained. Courteous and friendly staff. Conveniently located to the Interstate, and in an area that offers many choices for dining and shopping.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Airport

Address: 4965 Montevallo Rd, Birmingham, AL 35210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 82 hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Airport 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern Hospitality is key at the Comfort Inn - Birmingham Airport. We offer each guest the best possible hotel experience possible, with restaurant suggestions, centrally located to all area attractions, and always having smiling staff at the front desk to handle your every need. Come stay with us so that we can show you our extreme dedication to your satisfaction and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Comfort Inn Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birmingham Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Birmingham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.