We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Birmingham Downtown at UAB

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites Birmingham Downtown at UAB to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Birmingham Downtown at UAB
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2024 4th Avenue South, Birmingham, AL 35233   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #21 of 81 Hotels in Birmingham
Twinsburg, Ohio
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Very Good Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

The staff was very friendly and the rooms were standard SHS rooms -- which is my favorite limited service hotel brand. The room was spotless and the temperature control worked great. The room seemed larger than than most SHS, and the furnishings were nice. The breakfast was very good and there was plenty of room to eat. My only complaint was that after breakfast there was no more "free" coffee in the lobby -- which I thought was unusual but learned that free coffee may be something taken out of SHS (and Courtyard) Hotels --- I am going to check that out and let Marriott know that is really silly. The location is great and I will return to this hotel. Bottom line - no issues and a very nice SHS experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    62
    24
    7
    8
See reviews for
53
32
16
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

Staff here is top notch. Breakfast food was good. I also ended up not having to get a cab as the shuttle is willing to take you where ever you need to go. The rooms are very modern and "fresh and clean" looking. Lots of light and open space in the rooms. Lots of good eating within a mile or less. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Nice hotel and friendly staff. Sam was working the front desk when we arrived and was very nice and very helpful. We arrived early in the day and Sam was able to accommodate us with our room prior to the standard check in time. Even the chamber maid greeted us in the hall and asked how our room was. Hotel is clean and comfortable with a contemporary decor. Rooms are nice. The smooth jazz playing in the lobby and common areas was a nice and classy touch. Definitely recommend this hotel and will stay again in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

I recently stayed here for the weekend and the front desk customer service was excellent. Everyone was great and they did everything they could to ensure we had a great stay. They were all very polite and willing to help with all of ours needs. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting this area.

Room Tip: All rooms are very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is fairly new and the amenities are nice. The free continental breakfast is decent. Our major issues were first, not having our room serviced. Even after phoning the front desk to alert them that upon returning to our room and noticing that it had not been serviced. We were told that the staff was still on site and they would return, it never happened. To make matters worse, our room was abruptly entered on Sunday morning despite the "Do Not Disturb" sign on the door. Secondly is the parking. I would suggest parking on the street and skipping the "Token Headache" which requires you to get a token each time that you exit the garage for price of $20.00 per night. Overall it's a nice hotel with a lot of little issues.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millbrook, Alabama
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night mid-week prior to an appointment at Kirklin Clinic. We asked for a quiet room and received one. The staff was very kind and patient with us. We were able to walk to a nearby restaurant they recommended for dinner. My husband needed Tylenol during the night. When we inquired at the front desk as to whether the hotel sold any medication, we were told they didn't. We explained our need and they said, "We have a shuttle that will take you to get some." The shuttle driver was friendly, courteous and a careful driver, and we were back at the hotel within 10 minutes with the needed meds. The next morning we found we could easily walk to Kirklin Clniic for the appointment. We could have taken the shuttle to and from the clinic, but it really was a short, easy walk. The room was very large and the beds were comfortable. The entire hotel was extremely clean. As to noise from the garbage trucks mentioned by others, we were on the 5th floor and did hear the trucks (we were already awake) and they were there only a few minutes. I would definitely stay at this hotel again. Our son enjoyed the indoor pool.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I stayed here for one night on the weekend. I found the hotel to have very spacious rooms compared to other SpringHill Suites. I stayed in a standard King room. In the room, there was a sectional, swivel flat panel LCD, and work station. The I was on the top floor (6th) facing the major streets and I did not notice any road noises while sleeping.

The only negative thing to say about this hotel is the breakfast area. If you have ever stayed at a Springhill Suites recently, you are probably familiar with the waffle maker. This hotel placed everything in one corner of the breakfast buffet, including the waffle maker, which made it impossible to get any of the breakfast items due to people waiting in line for the waffle maker. Other than that, I had a pleasant stay.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Birmingham Downtown at UAB? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Birmingham Downtown at UAB

Address: 2024 4th Avenue South, Birmingham, AL 35233
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Birmingham Downtown at UAB 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Marriott, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your SpringHill Suites Birmingham Downtown at UAB reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Birmingham Downtown At Uab Hotel Birmingham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Birmingham Downtown at UAB, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.