We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Birmingham Downtown at UAB

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites Birmingham Downtown at UAB to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Birmingham Downtown at UAB
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2024 4th Avenue South, Birmingham, AL 35233   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #27 of 81 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sandestin, Florida
1 review
“A great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

My wife and I stayed at your suites Aug, 15th, and 16th,. We were there for a medical appointment at the Kirklin clinic. We found the hotel very clean and well furnished. The staff at the welcome desk were very helpful and efficient. All the employees were cheerful and friendly. Many going out of their way to make us feel welcome. The comp, breakfast was was impressive and more than expected. The suites were large and well appointed. We used the shuttle bus to get to the medical clinic and back to the hotel. Again, the shuttle service was prompt and efficient with a very helpful driver. We enjoyed our stay and plan on returning next week.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
creativeingenuity, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites Birmingham Downtown at UAB, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
To our Tripadvisor Nation and Hospital travelers:
Our staff has been consistently trained on taking care of all of our guests and strives to ensure comfort, safety, convenience, and customer care. We will do whatever it takes to make sure that when you here in Birmingham whether it is for business travel, personal travel, or medical purposes. We know that often times our guests are here during rough times and we will make sure to do our part to help make your stay more enjoyable, pleasant, and peaceful.

Thank you again for your review,

Chris Nelson and the entire SpringHill Suites Staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    72
    29
    10
    9
See reviews for
60
36
18
90
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

My team and I travel to Birmingham quite frequently and stayed at the Springhill a few times. During the course of that time, I found hair in my food several times, hairs in the shower (not mine), I was double charged for items I ordered, room service took over 1.5 hours, and the customer service is FAR worse than any I've seen at any hotel in the country. One of the employees blatenly rolled his eyes in my face and was incredibly rude, and actually thrust a hairdryer at me very forcefully after I had to request one four times. Their amenities in the room (such as hair dryers, irons, etc.) don't work, and they make no efforts to replace or fix these items. I reached out to the the manager on duty regarding the my experiences, who referred me to the General Manager. I've sent 2 emails to the GM and also spoke with a sales director, none of which seem to mind that their employees are blatenly treating their paying customers with up most disrespect. I cannot emphasize enough how terrible the employees at this hotel are. I could write a five page review about every thing bad about this hotel. They clearly don't understand that they are in the hospitality industry. Our team not only is discontinuing our business with Springhill @ UAB, but with Marriott in general after this behavior and service has been enabled to continue.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Usually I have a good stay at a Marriott but not this time. First I was there for four days and one of two elevators was out of service the entire time. That left one elevator for guests AND staff so the mornings I had to wait multiple times to get to the lobby. On the third day we left the room at 12 noon and the maids did not clean our room! When I brought this to the attention of the front desk they were not that concerned. The breakfast was good I will give them that but I suggest you stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
creativeingenuity, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites Birmingham Downtown at UAB, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Kearse thank you for taking time out of your day to review our hotel and tell everyone of your experience with us. Unfortunately Last week we did have an elevator issue and 1 of our 2 elevators was down waiting on a part for 6 days and this did cause headaches for our guests and for that we are truly apologetic. It is never convenient when anything breaks but it’s even more frustrating when the broken item is used daily hundreds of times! Fortunately our elevators are new and should not be prone to breaking down often. We hope that your experience with our elevator and staff will not hinder you from coming again and feasting on our amazing breakfast buffet and giving us the opportunity to serve you again.

Chris Nelson and the SpringHill Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I came here in early July with a bus and the Staff was helpful to me on parking the bus and luckily I was able to park it on the street during the weekend. This is a fairly new property. I was in a king suite and it was nice and well laid out with a sectional couch in LR area.. The partial shower door is a very weird design to me. Noticed there was no bath tub in the bathroom.
The breakfast bar has great oatmeal and grits there. Had multiple groups there and the breakfast bar was jammed packed. I liked the bar set up in the lobby and you can have a salad and an appetizer there also.
Indoor pool was great on a 100 degree day. Will recommend this hotel any day for any one needing a hotel in downtown Birmingham.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
creativeingenuity, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites Birmingham Downtown at UAB, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Penguinlimo,

We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. Thank you for letting the TripAdvisor nation know about our great rooms, and amenities and while all of our King rooms have the half glass shower wall and no bath tub, all of our Double rooms feature a sit down tub and Shower head. So for any guest that would prefer to have a tub the Double room may be the best option. Thank you again for your time and your bus is welcome here anytime! See you again soon!

Chris Nelson and the entire SpringHill Suites Staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Workington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

lovely hotel staff very friendly,rooms great with mini kitchen,close to (six blocks ) uab area with bars and resturaunts.only downside breakfast was not topped up as people ate it,

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
creativeingenuity, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites Birmingham Downtown at UAB, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff to be above reproach, however we did not leave you with a WOW experience and our Breakfast staff fell short. We have addressed this issue in staff meeting and have tweaked our system to ensure a fully stocked breakfast at all times (even when we are busy). I apologize for the shortfall you had on your last stay but look forward to having you stay with us in the future.

Thanks you for your review,

Chris Nelson and the entire SpringHill Suites Staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia
Top Contributor
267 reviews 267 reviews
146 hotel reviews
Reviews in 149 cities Reviews in 149 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Five night business stay and disappointed I could not afford the Courtyard immediately adjacent to UAB Hospital. SpringHill provided a suite at a very reasonable rate and now I am happy I could not stay at the Courtyard. I had a large room with a separate sitting area and a work area. The rooms have a few unusual features but nothing that detracts from comfort or functionality. Examples include the recessed closet and the shower which does not have a complete door. Probably the main reason I would go for excellent on this property is that the promised breakfast at 6:30 was not ready until 6:45 or later (the hot food at least). If you are planning on 6:30 for your business meetings this is a disappointment. If the time is not important you are fine. I needed 6:30. Otherwise a pretty good deal. Two blocks from UAB, which is walkable except for the heat and humidity. If I walked I would be sweating before reaching it and would not appear professional. So, unless the weather is comfortable take advantage of that great shuttle and the great courteous drivers. You can also walk to some restaurants and a short drive from 5 points and Highlands Bar and Grill (the best place in the Southeast or further). You can get a view of Vulcan if you walk the right street. On my return to Birmingham I will start my search with this Springhill and hope the prices have not increased.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
creativeingenuity, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites Birmingham Downtown at UAB, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Sometrip,
With Marriott having so many different hotel options here in Birmingham you will always be able to find a hotel to suit your needs. In your case it happened to work out to our advantage and you stayed with us. We are a very contemporary and modern hotel chain, we still provide you with all the customer service, and amenities you expect to find in all Marriott’s. We are actually adjusting our Breakfast hours, to ensure that all of our guests enjoy a nice hot breakfast when they want it. I am glad you were able to take advantage of our shuttle and convenient location in Birmingham, we look forward to having you stay with us again and I will make sure we take great care of you. Feel free to call me directly for your next reservation!
Thank you,

Chris Nelson and the entire SpringHill Suites Staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

I've stayed here several times over the last couple of years and my experience has consistently been that it's a pleasant stay in upscale digs at a reasonable value.

My last stay -- over 2 weeks long -- was long enough to expose the rough spots if there were any. But there were none. Not one problem. Everything was top rate.

Atmosphere: The staff set the tone with unparalleled professionalism. Employees and management seem to genuinely enjoy and appreciate the guests. They know that their guests put the bread and butter on their tables. EJ at the front desk is especially wonderful to deal with (I'm so glad to see him year after year). Ebidjan is pleasant and helpful as well. Even the hotel workers (maintenance, housekeeping) greet guests as they pass and, if appropriate, offer help. I ran across Justin (a hotel worker) on my way to get some extra towels and shampoo and he seemed genuinely happy to take care of the matter on the spot -- and did very rapidly. A typical reaction from Justin, and others who work here as well.

Management: Continuity in the management guarantees that guests will consistently receive great service. Chanile was especially helpful with my reservations and went an extra mile in helping me resolve a question with my Marriott points.

Rooms: Are extra large, extra clean, and well stocked. Each has a small kitchen area with a microwave and a refrigerator.

TVs: Are widescreen flat TVs. We found a free family movie channel that was lots of fun to watch.

Parking: There is plenty of convenient parking next door in the garage, although parking is an additional charge. The garage has cameras and I've felt safe parking there at night.

Restaurant/Bar: A+ in hospitality. Coffee is well stocked (including a tap for "extra dark" yea!) all the way to noon. Breakfast is good. Ordering from the menu at the small bar in the lobby is surprisingly great! We loved the food and the consistently positive attitudes of the people working there.

In short, if you are looking for a downtown hotel in Birmingham, this is the best choice. Been there. Done that. Hope to do it again.

Room Tip: All the rooms here are roomy. I've stayed in several and they were each nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
creativeingenuity, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites Birmingham Downtown at UAB, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Lavida,

You have provided such a great review for our hotel and it brings a smile to my face to know that we are consistently providing superior customer care, and an exceptional product. We work hard in all areas of the hotel from the bar tender to the front desk and housekeeping. We want to make sure that every guest experiences a breath of FRESH AIR, and consistently experiences top notch amenities and service whether found in our Paul Mitchell bathroom collection, or in our Starbucks coffee. We want to pay attention to detail so that all of our guests will want to come back to Birmingham.

Thank you for your continued loyalty!

Chris Nelson and the entire SpringHill Suites Staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Birmingham Downtown at UAB? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Birmingham Downtown at UAB

Address: 2024 4th Avenue South, Birmingham, AL 35233
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Birmingham Downtown at UAB 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Marriott, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your SpringHill Suites Birmingham Downtown at UAB reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Birmingham Downtown At Uab Hotel Birmingham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Birmingham Downtown at UAB, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.