We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Overnight Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel Birmingham

Save Saved
You added Clarion Hotel Birmingham to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Birmingham
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5216 Messer Airport Highway, Birmingham, AL 35212   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #53 of 82 hotels in Birmingham
Ellenwood, GA
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice Overnight Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I stayed at the Clarion Hotel, Birmingham, AL airport. It was very convenient to the Birmingham Airport. The hotel staff was nice, the room was clean, the bed was comfortable. The elevators were a bit outdated, but it worked fine. If I have to go Birmingham again, I would definitely stay at this hotel. The price was very reasonable too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    16
    13
    13
    13
See reviews for
9
11
5
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We had to stay overnight in Birmingham, so we booked this hotel because if was near BHM Airport. We came in late, but the shuttle van was prompt in picking us up. The hotel was a Mexican restaurant and they accommodated us, even though it was closing time when we arrived. The room was nice and the bed was comfortable. The continental breakfast was cold and left a lot to be desired, but overall, and nice stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bessemer, Alabama
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

The airport parking service offered at Clarion is excellent! The staff were very friendly and accommodating. I have never used their service before until last week. I would use them again next time I go out of town and would highly recommend them to my family members and friends.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabethtown, Kentucky
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

.Stayed at this hotel on a recent trip to Birmingham. We found it very well kept, clean and the staff was very accommodating. Its location is very convenient to the airport with easy access to I 20. Price was very reasonable for the amenities available. Bar and restaurant are on site. We will definitely use this hotel on future trips to Birmingham.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatlinburg, Tennessee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Excellence is hard to find! My wife and I stayed here for the weekend while on vacation to Birmingham recently. We found the hotel to be perfect for the price and thought the hotel was very nice inside and out. The courtyard area would be perfect for a wedding. The layout was very nice for maybe a corporate event or conference. As a business man that travels alot to Alabama I must say I would not mind at all staying here again and maybe attending a conference here. I attend many conferences throughout the year and I was shocked this place being right here at a major airport was so spacious to be able to host a large event. They have a full service resturant and the food was great! Service from staff was awsome and they all were friendly. Spoke with two different mgrs while there and they were very nice and you felt at home around them. Both were lady managers, a Mrs.Susan and Mrs. Debbie. Thank you for a wonderful stay , we will be back!!! Must say loved the salt water pool!

Room Tip: Request a room near the pool if your staying and its warm weather! Salt water pools are very nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nacogdoches, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

YES, THIS HOTEL IS CONVIENIENTLY LOCATED RIGHT NEXT TO THE AIRPORT...THE ONLY CONCERN IS MAKING IT THROUGH THE NIGHT TO GET TO THE AIRPORT THE NEXT DAY. Rooms were dated and I can accept that it is an older hotel but felt very unsafe and deadbolt was ripped off my door (litterally looked like someone had ripped it off) The nicest thing about this hotel was the very nice girl at the front desk. cancelled my reservation after looking at accomadations and drove back to pelham to stay there. also cancelled another employees hotel there for the next night. Not a safe feeling area for women travelling alone.

Room Tip: Dont stay here at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bessemer, Alabama
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Staff was very friendly, manager was very profesional and they accomadate us with every need. The pool was very clean and nice. Rooms were clean also.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Clarion Hotel Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Birmingham

Address: 5216 Messer Airport Highway, Birmingham, AL 35212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 82 hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel Birmingham 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Clarion Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel Birmingham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.