We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely do the tour!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 16th Street Baptist Church

16th Street Baptist Church
16th St & 6th Ave, Birmingham, AL
205-251-9402
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 30 Attractions in Birmingham
Type: Religious Sites, Cultural
Activities: Leisure education
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Four young girls were killed when a Ku Klux Klan bomb exploded in this church in 1963. The girls are remembered with a shrine in the crypt where they died, and a vibrant stained glass window donated in sympathy by the people of Wales adorns the historic church.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Definitely do the tour!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Phone ahead for tours of this important landmark. Tours include a video about the bombing there. Try to get a tour that doesn't involve a school group. We didn't know that's what we were getting when we arrived, and it was fairly crowded downstairs.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    28
    6
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
bronx ny
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
142 attraction reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“History!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

so much history, so much pain! a most visit if in Alabama! this is part of our history. Is so great to experience the things we got to read in books as kids.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho Falls, Idaho, United States
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
59 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Just did a drive by but interesting to see where the Civil Rights movement got it momentum.Also drove by Kelly Ingram Park and the Civil Rights institute

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Quick tour, very informative!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

This tour of the church was quick, about an hour. It was very informative, and very sad. I enjoyed learning the history of the church and learning about the 4 little girls that lost their lives that dreadful day in September. I also learned that there were two little boys that lost their lives that day as well. One was killed for throwing rocks at the scene, shot dead while on his bike by policemen that day and the other was killed by a white teen that had just left a hate rally! So six children lost their lives that day over senselessness. This tour is for everyone, all races. This tour focuses on love, forgiveness and human rights. The church itself is beautiful, it has some of its original stained glass windows. The church also focuses on a gift from Wales, and artist from Wales heard about this horrific event and wanted to do something special for the church. As a result, this artist did the most beautiful stained glass window.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Historical and Quick”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We visited the church after visiting the Civil Rights Institute, which is right across the street. As this is an active church, you can only visit a small room in the basement that takes about 5 minutes to go through. I actually learned more about this church when we were in the Civil Rights Institute. It was good to see it, so take the extra 5 - 10 minutes and go to this very historical site. There is no fee, but a box for donations at the end.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 16th Street Baptist Church also viewed

 

Been to 16th Street Baptist Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 16th Street Baptist Church, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.