We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must see in Birminghgam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Birmingham Civil Rights Institute

Birmingham Civil Rights Institute
520 16th St N, Birmingham, AL 35203
205 328 9696
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 30 Attractions in Birmingham
Type: History Museums, Cultural
Activities: Leisure education
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This historic museum traces the journey of the civil rights advocates of the 1950s and 60s, who changed the course of American history. The struggle for equality for Black Americans is chronicled here, from the Jim Crow laws in the 1800s to the freedom rides, sit-ins and demonstrations of the 1960s.
Mooresville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Must see in Birminghgam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Definitely bring the kids here. Let us appreciate and learn from our history. Very well done.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    271
    66
    6
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Awesome and Very Educational”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

This is a vast educational facility that offers a great visual and audio experience. You can see real-life relics from the Civil Right movement, and some of the volunteers there can give you their first-hand accounts of their experiences during that time. It's AWESOME!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, AL
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Different to experience history where it happened”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

I wasn't sure what to expect when I decided to check out the Civil Rights Institute. Turns out, everyone should have to come here and see what things were like in the not-too-distant-past first hand. Very interactive, especially listening to the oral histories. My take is that this isn't to perpetuate what happened, but rather, help all of us find a way to understand past mistakes and look at opportunities to prevent them from happening again. Yes, we still have issues in different parts of the country, but if we take the time to educate ourselves, we can gain a better understanding of each other. Really enjoyed visiting.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, LA
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012 via mobile

Very interactive museum with lots of must see history. The exhibits are very interactive. Try to visit the church across the street. We had a tour with a school group. Very intense and gives you a great sense of history.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

The Birmingham Civil Rights Institute is one of the best museums I've ever been in covering the Civil Rights Museum/Black History. I love how interactive it is as well.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Birmingham Civil Rights Institute also viewed

 

Been to Birmingham Civil Rights Institute? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Birmingham Civil Rights Institute, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.