We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2021 Park Place, Birmingham, AL 35203   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Honeymoon Package Deal!
Ranked #10 of 81 Hotels in Birmingham
Baton Rouge, United States
1 review
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

My family of four - two teenagers plus my husband and myself - really enjoyed the luxury of a one bedroom suite. It allowed us to spread out comfortably.We loved the free wifi (for Hilton Honors members, I think) and room service was a nice treat for a road weary group.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxanne O, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Leslie G we are delighted to know that you had a relaxing stay with us. It is our goal to provide each of our valued guests a wonderful experience and we are glad to know we succeeded with you. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you and your family again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    81
    27
    15
    3
See reviews for
55
62
11
104
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

The hotel, located in a renovated historic property, has more character than the average Hampton, but still what you'd expect from a Hampton - clean room, good value, reliable breakfast. I appreciated the valet parking, but parking for someone who doesn't want to pay the extra $20/night might be inconvenient. Hotel wasn't particularly close to anywhere I had meetings, but it's easy to get around Birmingham so that wasn't an issue. Will definitely stay here again - maybe on a trip with the family. The kids would feel like we're staying in a fancy hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxanne O, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Thank you, Joan C very much for your wonderful review. We value each and every single comment we get and we appreciate the time you took to review our hotel. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and our location was well suited for your visit here in Birmingham.

We hope that your enjoyed your trip to our wonderful city and hope to serve you again very soon!
Thank you so very much for choosing the Tutwiler Hampton Inn & Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Excellent for business; easy access to airport; boutique intimate hotel with historical significance and nice elegant architectural features. Great breakfast. Easy valet parking. Comfortable beds. Southern hospitality - upscale bar.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxanne O, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Thank you 800edwardp for staying with us and for writing such a great review. It is our goal to provide a home away from home with our spacious clean rooms and Southern hospitality. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and had a wonderful time visiting.
We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Point, California
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

This is a unique Hampton, since it's located in a historic building. The room and hallway renovations are very well done, while at the same time preserving some of the architectural features in the lobby and exterior.

Parking is valet or on the street, but although street parking is free nightly until 8am, the front desk warned me that the meter maids are vigilant. I chose not to take the chance

*** I gave the hotel 4 stars, but I would give their restaurant only 1 star... It is apparently affiliated with a culinary school, but our dinner was definitely NOT chef quality, nor was it worth anywhere near the expensive price. My guess is that there were no instructors on site this night.

The wine list is very simple, and our server was friendly, but not knowledgeable about the food.

Our meal was amateur-ish and uninspired. My original entree was the pork shoulder, which came out so overcooked that it was a grey color, and so dry it was inedible. After checking with the kitchen, our server recommended ordering something else, since they apparently didn't think they could improve on the pork.

My second entree was the sesame crusted seared tuna, which was okay at best, but had way too many sesame seeds

Overall, a VERY disappointing meal for $100.... I don't recommend eating here

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxanne O, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. I'm truly delighted you liked our breakfast and friendly service. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. I would like to offer a sincere apology for the inconvenience the noise from other guests had caused you and regret that you were not satisfied with the way the situation was handled. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality and services we offer for to our guests.

Though I would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Just left the Tutwiler and was compelled to write a review because our stay was so pleasant, from arrival to departure! This was our first time in Birmingham and the Tutwiler truly contributed to our satisfaction with the experience. It's located within 10 minutes driving of most things in Birmingham and the valet parking was friendly and expeditious whenever we needed our car (and very reasonably priced at $19 a night!) Also walking distance to lots of attractions including the Civil Rights Institute. Everyone at the hotel was happy and eager to help with any question we came up with. Plus the complimentary breakfast was epic. And most of all the rooms and hotel itself are stunning - it was lovely to be both centrally located and in a beautifully renovated historic building. If we ever come back to B'ham we will surely choose the Tutwiler - highly highly recommend it!!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxanne O, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Alanna K we appreciate your recognition of our staff and efforts to make your stay enjoyable. We are glad that you enjoy our complimentary breakfast, convenient location and you found our staff friendly. Our Tutwiler Team prides itself on our clean rooms and friendly service, so thank you for acknowledging that as well. We are glad you will choose to stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

The Tutwiler Hampton Inn & Suites is the best hotel in downtown Birmingham. It's convenient to everything, the rooms are great, and the staff is excellent. The complimentary breakfast is top notch. The hotel's restaurant, the Century Restaurant is really great with an outstanding selection of entrees and appetizers (many of the appetizers make a great meal if you are on a budget). The staff in the bar is the best.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxanne O, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Danny R we are so happy to hear the location was convenient for you. Our entire staff works hard as always in keeping the rooms nice and clean for our valued guest. I am also pleased to hear you were comfortable and that the service you received from our staff was excellent .I hope to be of assistance with accommodations in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

The Tutwiler is one of the South's great treasures, like Nashville's Hermitage. Formerly the home of orchestra great Francis Craig, this wonderful hotel still possesses charm and grandeur. The staff is friendly and helpful, and the suites are particularly lovely. Downtown Birmingham is experiencing a renaissance, and this is a foodie town - all in all, a great place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxanne O, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Wow Carol O! What a wonderful review! We are pleased to hear that we are doing the right thing to make our guests feel comfortable and pampered. Please come back to see us again the next time you are in Birmingham.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler

Address: 2021 Park Place, Birmingham, AL 35203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#8 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#10 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Birmingham-Downtown-Tutwiler
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham-Downtown-Tutwiler Hotel Birmingham
Hampton Inn Birmingham
Birmingham Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.