We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, but not family friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2021 Park Place, Birmingham, AL 35203   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Honeymoon Package Deal!
Ranked #9 of 81 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Prattville, Alabama, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Ok, but not family friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

I stay at Hanpton Inns and Suites because it is usually very family friendly. I took-my family with me for this trip but it did not have the frig and microwave that I was use to. I guess I have become so use to this in my past trips. It was a good hotel regardless, and the breakfast was pretty good.

Room Tip: Great location downtown, not the best for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxanne O, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you so much for writing this nice review. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I'm glad you enjoyed the breakfast. I apologize you did not have a refrigerator or microwave in your room. We truly value your comments, all the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve, as these give us the opportunity of improving the quality and services we offer. I hope you choose to stay with us again when your plans bring you to Birmingham.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    110
    29
    19
    3
See reviews for
71
81
13
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gulf Breeze, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Check-in Check-out was great. Valet service was prompt and friendly. Room was excellent - clean and comfortable. First level bar/restaurant not so good. Average food, high prices, and extremely slow and unattentive service.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxanne O, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
I would like to firstly thank you for the time to share your experience at our hotel. We are very pleased to hear that liked the friendliness of the staff and that your room was clean and comfortable to your liking. I apologize that the service in the restaurant could not fulfill your expectations and we hope that this will not deter you to visit the hotel in the future. Thank you again for visit the Tutwiler Hotel and kind regards for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOTHAN, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

I chose this hotel due to the location in relation to the BJCC. It is within walking distance and is a very nice place to stay. The beds are amazing and the staff was accomodating. This is the second time that I have stayed here and will do so in the furutre. The hampton line of hotels have always been good to me.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxanne O, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed the room amenities and our Southern hospitality. Thank you for choosing the Tutwiler Hotel as your preferred accommodation during your business trip we look forward to your next visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaGrange, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

...It got a lot better very quickly. After my girlfriend and I checked in, we began to settle into our standard king room when the smoke detector began beeping as though it needed service. I called the desk and they didn't know what to do because their maintenance staff had all left for the day so they offered us another room. It was somewhat annoying to pack everything back up, but not as annoying as the regular beeping. I went down to exchange the keys and the attendant at the desk informed me that she had given us a complimentary upgrade to make up for the trouble. The upgrade was to an amazing king suite. I didn't even ask for an upgrade but they provided one anyway! The staff were courteous and everything was in excellent working order. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in downtown Birmingham.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxanne O, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for telling us about your recent trip with your girlfriend. I want to apologize for the inconvenience of the smoke detector disturbing you. I am so happy that you and you enjoyed your upgraded room. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. I will pass this feedback on to our staff. They always enjoy hearing good feedback about their service. Thank you for your time and we look forward to welcoming you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birchwood, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Hotel is very inviting and staff is great. Location is good, we walked to a few restaurants during our 3 night stay. Breakfast area was great as was the breakfast selections. Fitness is state of the art. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxanne O, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review! It makes us happy to know that you had a pleasant stay with us! We greatly appreciate your compliments on the hotel’s courteous staff, great service, fitness room, complimentary breakfast spread and the wide variety of restaurants in the area and also the convenience of the location.

Thank you for recommending the Tutwiler Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehouse Station, New Jersey, United States
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

A great place poorly executed. We arrived at a very busy time and sat in the driveway behind a line of cars to valet park our car (you can park on the street until 8 am - otherwise you pay $18 + 10% tax). Charming older, well maintained property - a real treat. Rooms spacious and comfortable. The little things got me - crappy bath towels - two per room - I had to get my wife a towel so she could dry her hair - granted the front desk cheerfully provided it but for $160 + $28 in various taxes (not the hotels fault) I expected more. I rank my experience no better than a very average Hampton - a pity because this property has great potential.

Room Tip: Try someplace else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxanne O, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for providing feedback following your recent stay we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. The points you make regarding the towels and the valet parking are duly noted and acknowledged and this is something we will certainly be reviewing as part of the hotel’s ongoing improvement .Thank you again for taking the time to post your review and we look forward to your return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

The hotel is in a great location, and the staff was very nice. The location was great for business. I look forward to my next trip and would recommend the hotel to others. The hotel is a historic property in the downtown area, with a number of restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxanne O, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on the Tutwiler Hampton Inn & Suites. Every member of our staff aims to deliver genuine and excellence service to each of our guests. I am delighted to hear you satisfied with our convenient location and that you would recommend our hotel to others. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to hosting you upon your return to Birmingham!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler

Address: 2021 Park Place, Birmingham, AL 35203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#6 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#8 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience traditional southern elegance with up-to-date convenience in the heart of downtown Birmingham at the Hampton Inn and Suites Birmingham-Downtown-Tutwiler. The Tutwiler has hosted dignitaries visiting Birmingham since 1914. Start your tour of Birmingham with an audio-tour of the lobby's historic photographs. The elegant lobby greets guests with original marble and decorative ceilings. Birmingham's banking and legal offices are steps from the hotel. Explore Birmingham's culinary scene from four-star restaurants to the popular Southern meal known as "meat and three." Century Restaurant and Lounge located in the hotel lobby serves southern and gourmet classics. Tour the Civil Rights Institute and the Sixteenth Street Baptist Church, a central landmark of the Civil Rights movement. See sweeping views of the city from ten-acre Vulcan Park which features the world's largest cast iron statue. Visit the McWane Science Center, a four-story interactive museum with IMAX theater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham-Downtown-Tutwiler Hotel Birmingham
Hampton Inn And Suites Birmingham-Downtown-Tutwiler
Hampton Inn Birmingham
Birmingham Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.