We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than "Average" but "Very Good" is a stretch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Birmingham - Colonnade

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites Birmingham - Colonnade to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Birmingham - Colonnade
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3950 Colonnade Pkwy, Birmingham, AL 35243   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save Money
Ranked #28 of 81 Hotels in Birmingham
Alabama
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Better than "Average" but "Very Good" is a stretch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

My family was in town one night for a sporting event. I made reservations on Marriott's website using a free night certificate. As always, I requested extra towels, pillows & in this case a rollaway bed & low floor near an exit. I know they saw the extra notations because we were given a room on the first floor right near the side exit and none of the other rooms near us were occupied. However, there were no extra towels, pillows, or a rollaway in the room. As it turned out, there was no room for anything extra so I let the bed slide. The "suite" concept is good, but they fill the space with SO much furniture, you can barely move in the sitting area. During our stay, sometimes our keys would work and other times they wouldn't. Not sure if this was a key or lock issue but it was pretty irritating. I warned my husband that other reviewers said it was hard to find and that he should turn at the Hampton sign, but our GPS said otherwise and he chose to follow it. Needless to say, he had to loop back and I got to say "I told you so". I like that the property is tucked away but not sure I would like being outside at night if he hadn't been with us. It is by no means in a bad area...just secluded...?? My biggest complaint was the bed. I prefer a firmer bed but this one was like sleeping on a board for me. My husband said he slept fine but my back ached most of the following day.
On the upside, the hotel and room were clean and nice(but again, cramped). There was plenty of parking and the grounds were well kept. There were enough breakfast items to satisfy my picky bunch and the limited contact we had with staff was pleasant enough. The outdoor pool was a decent size and the kids enjoyed it.

Room Tip: We stayed on the ground floor facing the interstate (and pool) but had no noise issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    49
    19
    6
    6
See reviews for
47
23
9
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I like this hotel on the other side othe interstate from the Summit. It is fairly new and is Marriott property. They have little wetbars in them and a sitting area. I staying in one for about a month and really enjoyed the stay. I didn't get too claustrophobic. The breakfast is a nice hot meal. The little business center is not much but does the trick. The same can be said for the fitness center. The staff is very cordial and the property is well maintained. The hotel is near the interstate.

Room Tip: If you get a room on the interstate side you will here the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

The hotel appears to have been renovated or is fairly new. The lobby and breakfast area are ample and comfortable. The rooms are a bit on the smaller side for a Suite but are clean, comfortable and nicely decorated. The staff are all very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: If you are sensitive to traffic noise, ask for a room away from the traffic side of the Hotel. I did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

The hotel is fairly new and pretty nice. It's a little hard to find -- the sign off of Colonnade Parkway is hard to spot. Reception is very friendly. However they have a "green" thermostat that keeps the rooms at 80 degrees if nobody's in for "a long time". So, my room (during an Alabama summer) was very uncomfortable for nearly an hour until the A/C could catch up. While hotels strive to give you a "warm welcome," this one was a little too literal. Perhaps they could send someone to trip the system before a guest arrives?

Room Tip: The top floor is probably warmer than the rest, so during the summer, I'd stay away from that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

I arrived in Birmingham to attend my cousin's wedding. At check-in, the staff presented me with a gift basket from the bride and groom and the keys to the room. I informed the desk clerk that I did not recieve the rate that quoted on the couple's wedding website, and she adjusted my rate. The room was clean, spacious, and equipped with all the comforts of home. Breakfast was fresh and delicious. You will not be disappointed if you stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phenix City, Alabama
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed here on short notice in March and was pleasently surprised. The room was huge, the bed was very comfortable and even though we had a room facing the Interstate, we never heard a sound. We never heard the people around us or in the hallways.

Breakfast was nice, but could have been kept warmer. It is close to the area where we shop and dine and not far from the event we were attending. We arrived early in the morning and our room was already available, which was very nice. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

My only complaint is that there was no safe in the room where I could leave my iPod. I'm not used to staying with no safe to lock up my things, but it wasn't a big deal.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

I arrived early after a long trip with my husband and 2 kids. I asked if a room was available and was given a room to my shock- it was only 1:00. The young man at the front desk was very helpful and polite. That sums up the good. When we got into our room the toilet immediately overflowed onto my childs feet. In a hurry to be somewhere else, I just let it slide. Upon returning in the evening and settling into bed, we were appalled at the noise from the interstate. It is not just a distant rumbling of traffic. It sounds like you have set up camp on the grassy ledge next to the freeway. The hotel has no insulation AT ALL, which leads me to my next horror story. At 9 pm, the couple next door decided to become intimate. They woke my 2 children...boy were those noises hard to explain. We heard everything. The walls are so thin it is absurd! When they finally concluded next door, around 2 am, we got about 4 hours of sleep. We decided to try some breakfast in the lobby. It was so awkwardly set up and hard to move around that we finally gave up. It is a tiny space with a wall right in the middle and people were bimping into each other. Disaster. Oh- the a/c does nothing for the interstate traffic noise. Be warned.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Birmingham - Colonnade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Birmingham - Colonnade

Address: 3950 Colonnade Pkwy, Birmingham, AL 35243
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 81 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Birmingham - Colonnade 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near Birmingham International Airport, the convention center, Talladega Superspeedway and area attractions, SpringHill Suites Birmingham Colonnade is ideal for corporate travel or fun weekend getaways. Our hotel located near downtown, offers complimentary breakfast buffet, free wireless Internet and a 24-hour food market, pool, and fitness center. Up to 25% more spacious than traditional hotel rooms, our hotel guest rooms feature separate eating and sleeping areas, microwave, refrigerator, and pull-out sofa bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your SpringHill Suites Birmingham - Colonnade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Birmingham - Colonnade Hotel Birmingham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Birmingham - Colonnade, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.