We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Good” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Applebee's

Applebee's
5050 Academy Ln, Bessemer, AL 35022
205-424-5255
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 81 Restaurants in Bessemer
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Enterprise, Alabama
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Not Good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I had a late dinner here after checking into our hotel. This is the first Applebee's I have ever visited. My initial impression when I entered the front door, was that it was a bar that served food instead of restaurant. It was very loud. We were seated quickly and our appetizer and entrees arrived quickley. The food was not good. It didn't seem fresh. I had the Cowboy burger and my wife had the Fried Chicken salad. Her salad look very dull. She ate about half it and was not impressed. Our server never returned after she brought our drinks. Finally came back to ask if we wanted dessert. So I ended up sharing my wifes drink because went the whole meal without the server return to refill our drinks.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    3
    8
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Clermont, Florida
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The ribs were not that great for an applebees. The staff was friendly, the drinks were good. If you stay at the hotels nearby, you get a 10% discount!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestBlocton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Date Night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

My husband and I love to eat here on our date nights, however this place is also great for family dinning with children. We have never recieved a bad meal here and the service is always wonderful. Waiter/Waitress and staff members are always professional and friendly. The restaurant, tables and eating utensils are clean and the environment is comfortable. There is something on the menu for everyone. I high recommend eating here if u are every in this part of town.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, AL
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Curbside To Go Was a Bust”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

I waited an hour after phoning in the order. When I got it, there was a burned section in my potatoe. No offer by waiter to do anything about it..not even a drink for my wait. Won't be back!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“A typical chain”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

I typically like Applebee's but this isn't my favorite one. I visit every few months just to see if anything has changed but it stays the same - probably management. The staff is friendly but not overly friendly, the food is fair, and it's slow coming out of the kitchen.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Applebee's also viewed

 

Been to Applebee's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Applebee's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.