We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Langde is the best” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Miao Village

Miao Village
Nanhuamiao Village, Sankeshu Town, Kaili 556008, China
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 10 Attractions in Kaili
Type: Historic Sites, Cultural
Attraction details
Magog, Canada
Top Contributor
549 reviews 549 reviews
261 attraction reviews
Reviews in 151 cities Reviews in 151 cities
295 helpful votes 295 helpful votes
“Langde is the best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

This seems to be a catch-all for all Miao villages around Kaili so I will discuss the 2 that we visited.
On the first day we took a bus to Xijiang. It is probably the most popular and biggest one. It was somewhat of a disappointment due to the over development and commercialization of the place. Very much like Lijiang in Yunnan. New paved streets and shops everywhere. To see anything interesting you need to try and find the narrow streets in the back. We also escaped the crowds by climbing the rice terraces. I'd give this one 3 dots.
On the next day we went to Langde. The bus dropped us right in the heart of the very small village. This was much better with a few local selling handicrafts but no shops. Very rare places to stay and no real restaurant. You basically eat in someone's home. Some locals also rent rooms. Very well preserved and natural. You can then go hiking along the reserve. This place definitely deserves 5 dots. We spend the rest of out stay in Guizhou looking for this kind of places. It also had no entry fee unlike the high entry fee at Xijiang.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    7
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Betchworth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“well worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We loved the view of the Miao dwelling on the hill and the unique building style. The food was very tasty and spicy. The people were extremely friendly and warm. The local customs means we drank more home made rice wine than we could manage! If the RMB100 entry fee could help the Miao people stay in the village farming the land and looking after the tourists, then more people should go. However, I also fear the tourists will eventually kill the authentic Miao village atmosphere and life style....

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Sisters'meal festival”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We went to Shidong to see the Sisters'meal festival: kind of St Valentine.

The festival was amazing. Thousands of girls and women go down from the villages to sing and dance wezring traditional costumes.

A must do!!!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzhou, China
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Miao community villages around Kaili endangered by progress”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I just went there last week for 3 full days and my expectations were by far not fulfilled. I visited at least 6 villages(recommended and executed by CITIS) but only Langde was worthy. It is amazing how the rush for construction(housing, highways, train lines and factories) are endangering the Miao habitat. We visited Qingman village and the road was awful due to the construction but the worse is that a new highway is just a 100 meters away from the village. The entire environment is gone. As in most of the villages, you can only see a few women and children dressing normal cloths. Later we visit Shiqiao and watch the ancient process to make paper. It was not possible because there was nobody to do it. I believe they can do a lot of stuff to be sold but there is no entrepreneur spirit. The paper/cards are very nice but lack of creative to design, even the paper umbrellas are beautiful but they just have a few with only one or 2 designs. They just built a new "arch/entrance" in the village which looks very fake. A new exhibition area is under construction but I am afraid it would look very new and fake. The is another village just a one kilometer down the river which worth to visit because has nice surroundings and I was lucky to see the Miao people dying the fabric to produce their daily cloths. Other villages we visited were exactly the same, only few old women and children. Markets has nothing to offer but to see women form the inside the hills wearing their traditional daily cloths and hairstyle. Summary, if you are not going for a festival, you just need to visit Langde and other village, otherwise you will be disappointed. Other highlight is the scenery of the road from Kaili to Fanpei, specially at the to of the mountain crossing. The arrange of rice terraces and pine tress is beautiful. Food is very good but spicy. Try the Sour fish soup.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Minority villages around Kaili”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

We have visited the minority villages around Kaili with the CITS. We contacted in advance via e-mail and received prompt and clear replies. We arrived from Guiyang on Saturday by public bus, and left on Monday with the direct bus to the Guiyang airport. We visited the Sunday market in Kaili, definitively worthwhile, and a number of villages and local markets in the neighbourhood.
Also a very interesting experience for our children.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miao Village also viewed

 

Been to Miao Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miao Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.