We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Tangrenjie Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Tangrenjie Hotel to your Saves list
Tangrenjie Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.30 Guanlian Road, Yangshuo County 541900, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 367 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Kiev
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Stay away”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Thanks god we stayed there only 1 night after Li River cruise. The hotel is very big, old and needs renovation. Our room (on the 6th floor; overlooking Li River with fantastic view from the balcony) was very outdated, with very old furniture, extremely hard-rock and uneven (like Yangshuo lanscape :-() beds, moreover, with dull and coming unstuck wallpapers and stained carpet. It was very cold (almost chilly) in the room (we visited Yangshuo in the first days of January). The bathroom was surprisingly very big, clean and modern (recently renovated). There was no safe deposit box in the room. There were persistent problems with door lock (we managed to lock our room properly only after three unsuccessfull attempts). Also there was awfull sickening smell of very cheap Chinese fastfood in corridors and elevator. We did not eat breakfast in the hotel due to very early check-out, but they provided us with cold breakfast box. It contained 1 orange, 2 eggs, 1 strange looking sandwidch, 1 small carton of milk, roll, cake, butter and jam, however, the most funny thing was that there were neither fork, knife nor even sticks to put them on bread. The hotel is located on East Str. in Chinatown quite close to Impression light show theatre (about 1.5 km), however, the road is not good for walking (dark, uneven and with crazy chaotic driving). It's better to take duk-duk (after show it's possible to get it for 10RMB for 2 persons; you have to negotiate price with a driver; initial price was 20 RMB). The distance to West Str. is a little bit less. During low season there is no problem to buy tickets for the show directly on site. Standard ticket price is 198RMB. Ticketing office at theatre main entrance is open from 15:00. The show itself starts at 19:45 (in winter), admission to the theatre - from 18:30. During cold season it's wise to take small blanket or at least towel to sit on it (chairs there are maid of plastic). The way to Guilin airport from the hotel took about 1h20min by minibus provided by our travel agency. But this was during low season and very early in the morning. Be sure to have extra time during high season (roads in this region are bad, there are a lot of motobikes, duk-duks, lorries and their style of driving is a little bit crazy)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    59
    36
    6
    9
See reviews for
4
14
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ramonica
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The hotel is nice, not quit in the center of Yangshuo but close to it, everything important is within walking distance. The rooms were average, but it had the feel of a not very well maintained hotel although it seems they have a lot of clients. The area is a turistic one.
It has a swimming pool, never seen anybody there, but the pool seems nice.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liedekerke, Belgium
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

While making a roundtrip we stayed in this hotel(photo 3). Into a really nice room with a little balcony (the first & last one we got during this trip photo 2 & 5), we found everything to our liking,except the mattress on the bed(photo 4) which felt a little hard to our standards.The bathroom(photo 1) looked very new and clean,(maybe recently renovated) provided with all the amenities needed. At 7am. we went for breakfast,because it was early we got the buffet(bacon,sausages,fruit-juice, toast, etc.) for us only. Quite good coffee and eggs were served by the waitress, .Because we got a very nice local (lady)guide with us who helped on every occasion,the difficulties with the spoken English were non excisting, without her we would indeed have had problems to communicate, the staff attempt to speak English, yet exercise is needed. The swimming pool,at that time,was clean and well maintained.The location is ok, almost anything and everything important is at walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

It is a very nice hotel with an excellent western breakfast and swimming pool. The only thing is that the matrasses in our room were very hard. We needed to put all blankens on it and to sleep on top of it.

Room Tip: Try the bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

'Very ordinary hotel' is being kind. Everywhere u look u see paucity of supply ranging from bathroom supplies to room fridge (empty and unplugged). I have just finished breakfast- total of 4 diners at 8am. No buffet, no AC, no cereals. Waitress asks if i want bacon & eggs. Eggs only pls, well cooked, turned over. They could not even get that right. Even Front Desk dont really speak English, yet they ask for 200 Y security money. Is a CRT TV worth that much?.....it is the only item one could steal. Stay her if u can get a very cheap rate. The rack rates on display are Y1000-9000. ($160-1500)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

Stayed in this hotel for one night in August 2011, for Y300 (about US $45). Was pleasantly surprised. Large room with a lot of amenities, fairly clean. Decent breakfast included, though in a non-air-conditioned cafe, so in the summer get up early to avoid the heat. Bed was hard, but that is common in China and I like it that way.

Staff was friendly, with very limited English. Which is OK if you know Chinese or if you do not need a lot of services (such as local arrangements or business services).

Location is OK, on the path from West Street to the Liu San Jie show. About 15 minutes walk from West Street, and about 20 minutes to the show.

Would probably stay here again if going to Yangshuo.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

The rooms and front desk service are terrible. When we check-in, the front desk people were so rude even our local tour guide was appalled and had to speak to the manager. Both of our rooms had peeling wall paper and one of the even had mole growing from water damage. We asked to change room and they just said no rooms available. I really think they just didn't want to give us to a higher grade room. Some of the towels were like dish clothes that has gone through too many wash. We stayed at the far end on the 5th floor. The hallways were like a maze. It is dimly lit so it gives off a haunted feeling as you keep circling to find you room. I had trouble sleeping. Not sure if it is because of the hard bed the other reviewer mentioned or this eerily feeing that someone is watching me. It gives me goose bumps to even thing about it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tangrenjie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tangrenjie Hotel

Address: No.30 Guanlian Road, Yangshuo County 541900, China
Location: China > Guangxi Zhuang > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 367 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tangrenjie Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 423
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Tangrenjie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tangrenjie Hotel Guilin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tangrenjie Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.