We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Snow Lion Riverside Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Snow Lion Riverside Resort to your Saves list
Snow Lion Riverside Resort
No.1 Mushan Village, Yangshuo County 541900, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 367 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Kunming
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“My favorite hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

The location is super - just outside the bustling city of Yangshuo with a calm and beautiful surroundings.
The staff is very friendly and helpful and will do everything they can to help you.
I've been in Yangshuo many times and I always stay at Snow Lion Resort!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    31
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
34
29
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rehovot, Israel
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Guilin city, Guilin's Minorities's area and Yangshuo were a very special journey that took us into the Southern China, a mysterious world. All along, from the first day to the end, thanks to Linda and William Lu, our wonderful guides, we had the confidence that every day will bring us to a landscape-excitement and satisfaction from the new views. Needless-to-say that the scenes; the rice terraced fields, the green hills, the high mountains, the Jade colored waters, were just fabulous. The people, the culture, including authentic and excellent local food, were wisely introduced us thanks to Linda. She is above all a culinary expert. To satisfy our curiosity in rural areas she attached us with the Chinese people openly and sincerely. As we bicycle aside the Li River shore, we were four "happy young" people (around sixty)"singing in the rain" (heavy rain), and we successfully have driven, on wet and slippery roads. For all of us with a broad world-record of traveling, despite learning well the program, every moment was one more surprise…again and again.
Coming back from the Minorities, on a sunny day, we took at Guilin a 4 hours Cruise on the Li River. Bizarre, high mountains popped up around us, all along the cruise. Finally we arrived to Yanshuo for 4 days. We have chosen to stay at the "Snow Lion Riverside Resort", 3 miles from this joyful city. This beautiful, quiet and clean Resort, with occidental facilities, located among green bamboo trees, is owned by Linda and William, and run by friendly and warm managers (Angela and Lena) willing always to help us. So obviously, we were happy again. Instead of 4 days of rest and calm, we got 4 days of outdoor and indoor intensive activities. including walks, bicycle rides, impressive landscapes, impressive Night Show on the Li river, foot massages, Tai Chi and Calligraphy classes , and.... last but not least... a cooking lesson manage by Linda, our charming Chef who leads a Chinese Cooking School ("Cloud 9 Restaurant") at Yangshuo. The dishes we cooked were delicious and we prepared them already for our family in Israel!
Indeed, we thank warmly to Linda and William (and Angela…), who had organized and mange successfully every moment (day & night) in our trip and made personal efforts to give us an unforgettable vacation (like feel at home). We certainly, strong recommend on those 10 days; great experience with Linda and William.
Gisele & Micha Vered
Rehovot - Israel

Room Tip: From time to time we had needed the hotel supporting for room services
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Started in Chengdu, you can't beat the pandas, then headed to Yanshuo to tick of another RMB note.
The hotel is not big city, five star, the bathrooms could do with a refresh but the rooms are very clean and comfortable. Two outstanding things, the staff and the location. With a young family, Yangshuo town centre is manic, especially at the weekend and after the sister Li show, you can dip into that when you want but you can always come back to this wonderful oasis. The staff are amazing, perfect English, super friendly with the kids and cant do enough to help you get the most out of this amazing part of China. This is the first trip to China where I really didn't need a local to translate or help as the staff sort it all for you, amazing service.

Room Tip: family suite is disappointing, better to get the triple and double rooms that are beside each other/
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

I love this hotel! We stayed here back in 2010 in November as part of a school trip and the staff were helpful and friendly. Their buffet breakfast in the morning was a great mix of local and continental, most substantial and delicious! Furthermore, their location was great for a range of activities.

The rooms were comfortable and we enjoyed the balcony view of the amazing landscapes outside. I would give the rooms 'excellent' except the shower in the room we stayed in was uncovered meaning water got everywhere.

The hotel was far enough from the main city that we got the quiet side, but close enough that with a few minutes traveling we were in the thick of things.

If we return to Yangshuo then we'll be sure to stay here!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful surroundings, great countryside location and a very well maintained hotel. Linda the owner is extremely helpful and pleasant and will find out whatever you need to know about the area. Most staff speak very good English which is a real bonus in China given that this can be the main issue when traveling. The rooms are spacious, airy and have lovely balconies. The Li River is 100m away and if you're lucky, your room will face it. The food is pretty good with a variety of local and western dishes. Breakfast is not bad too, although after getting food poisoning from their Cloud 9 cooking school I did not avail of this service.
All in all, a good place to stay, just be careful what food you choose to eat, particularly with meat and rice.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

This a family owned resort. Very neat and homely. Perfect for family and couples.
The owner and staff are very helpful and courteous. They speak English, which is a big plus as language was a major problem for us in China.
The rooms are very clean and offer an excellent view from the balcony.
It is away from the West Street but still easily reachable by car.
We had a very good experience.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

The staff make the real difference here, as well as the beautiful location.

I've been visiting Yangshuo since 2007 and as it is now definitely a 'boom town', I much prefer my choice to stay outside of town rather than in town itself which is overrun with tourists.

The food is great with a lot of variety, the beds comfortable. The bathrooms are ok and much better than most Chinese hotels in this category.

All in all, Snow Lion feels like a home away from home.

The new swimming pool should be finished in August so I look forward to using it on my next visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Snow Lion Riverside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snow Lion Riverside Resort

Address: No.1 Mushan Village, Yangshuo County 541900, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Guangxi Zhuang > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Yangshuo County
#7 Family Hotel in Yangshuo County
#8 Romantic Hotel in Yangshuo County
#23 Best Value Hotel in Yangshuo County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Snow Lion Riverside Resort is located in Mushan village, 2.5 km south-east of downtown Yangshuo. The resort is beautifully situated next to the Li-river, surrounded by amazing karst formations and picturesque farmlands. The spacious rooms and suites, as well as the friendly and relaxed atmosphere, makes this resort ideal for families.A free-of-charge shuttle bus service, between the resort and downtown Yangshuo, is available to all guests. The front desk provides assistance with the booking of activities in and around Yangshuo, as well as tours and tickets to other destinations in Guangxi and the neighboring provinces. The resort also rents out bicycles, making it possible for clients to explore the surroundings at their own leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Snow Lion Riverside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Snow Lion Riverside Hotel Yangshuo County
Snow Lion Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Snow Lion Riverside Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.