We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of River View Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added River View Inn to your Saves list
River View Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.15 Binjiang Road, Yangshuo County 541900, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 370 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Heidelberg, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Very helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Vivienne, an English speaking staff member, added tremendous value to our stay by making suggestions and recommendations that were great. We hired her husband (not an English speaker) as driver and guide - he took us to the major sites and great restaurants that would be hard to find if you were not a local all at very reasonable prices.

Room Tip: A room with a view of the river with a small balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    136
    41
    6
    2
See reviews for
48
118
25
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

After spending two nights somewhere a little out of town it was good to stay somewhere much more convenient. The location is great, alongside the river as the name suggests and just around the corner from all the hustle and bustle of the town. The staff where very helpful and spoke very good english. We also hired bikes from the hotel to explore a bit of the surrounding countryside at a very reasonable rate.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

This hotel is in an ideal position when staying in Yangshuo. It is directly opposite the river and close the the shopping area of West Street. The hotel is a little tired. I must say that it one of the few hotels that we stayed in during our trip to China that had "soft Western style beds". The morning breakfast were adequate.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Stayed here two nights. Room was underwhelming. Front door got stuck on the ground, bed seemed to have permanent soft spot (or broken spring), and there was no separate space for the shower in the bathroom.

That being said, I did book the cheapest room - so your mileage may vary. Some of the other rooms appeared to be nicer in the other reviews.

Location was very good. Hotel is just off west street, so you're literally steps away from the hustle and bustle but far enough to avoid the noise. Staff was also friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur
Top Contributor
227 reviews 227 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

After having read the great reviews here and going to the Riverview after staying in a 5-star hotel in Guilin, the room came as quite a shock. No doubt one gets what one pays for but it didn't appear that well maintained or clean. Perhaps it was our luck but our bathroom was rather dimly lit and damp. The shower curtain was a bit moldy and there gaps around the bathtub. It looked scary under the basin / vanity top. Worst of all, both our toilets got blocked once during our 3 day stay.The list goes on......damp patch on bedroom wall, mosquitoes, lights and in-room telephones that didn't work......

The positives include the good location and great views when you are outside by the river. (There were many interesting activities going on and my pics try to show that and the surroundings). The reception staff spoke English and it was easy and convenient booking tours and activities. They gave a discount for the Liu San Jie sound and light show and we also arranged a guided cycling tour to Liugong ancient village with them which was the highlight of our stay. Had the "super breakfast" there one morning - it was good and very reasonably priced. Slept well too, surprisingly.

Room Tip: Perhaps ask for a riverside room on a higher floor for better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Located across the street from the riverfront promenade and a couple blocks away from the bustle of West Street, this hotel is quiet and convenient. Even the cheap rooms in the back have views of the limestone pinnacles that tower over the town. The front rooms on the upper floors are very nice and overlook the river through leafy trees. The staff speaks good English and the restaurant offers one of the most comprehensive Chinese menus in town. Great food, excellent prices. Try the Guilin style steamed bun for breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I had a really pleasant stay in River View Hotel. Yangshuo is quite a small city but I really liked the location! Very charming place with a very nice balcony just in front of the Li River. Next to the hotel there is a small local market where you can buy souvenirs and stuff and it is also 5 min walk to animated streets with bars and restaurants. It is though a calm place to sleep!
I stayed there 3 days and they helped me organize the visits I wanted to do with the time I had (if you want to fully enjoy the city, the area you should stay more). Also, I recommend you to do bamboo raft on Yulong River, it is gorgeous (better than the Li River I think)! Otherwise the staff is really nice and helpful especially Angela who is such a wonderful person and she can speak a perfect english! We had a chance to do a day trip with her and it was one of the best day of our week of vacation over China. I highly recommend this place and hope you will have the same experience as we had! Anaïs

Room Tip: I took a room in front of the Li River with a balcony and I was really satisfied. There is a good w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to River View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River View Inn

Address: No.15 Binjiang Road, Yangshuo County 541900, China
Location: China > Guangxi Zhuang > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#34 Best Value Hotel in Yangshuo County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — River View Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel has a prime location, only meters from the Li River. Some English speaking staff who could not have been more helpful. Superior service from all concerned.The usual tourist type shops are only 5 minutes away. This is the place seen on TV where cormorants dive for fish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelBookers, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your River View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel River View
River View Yangshuo County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River View Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.