We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value, quiet location, great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of River View Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added River View Inn to your Saves list
River View Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.15 Binjiang Road, Yangshuo County 541900, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 368 Hotels in Yangshuo County
4.0 of 5 stars 285 Reviews
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Excellent value, quiet location, great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Located across the street from the riverfront promenade and a couple blocks away from the bustle of West Street, this hotel is quiet and convenient. Even the cheap rooms in the back have views of the limestone pinnacles that tower over the town. The front rooms on the upper floors are very nice and overlook the river through leafy trees. The staff speaks good English and the restaurant offers one of the most comprehensive Chinese menus in town. Great food, excellent prices. Try the Guilin style steamed bun for breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    136
    41
    6
    2
See reviews for
48
118
25
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I had a really pleasant stay in River View Hotel. Yangshuo is quite a small city but I really liked the location! Very charming place with a very nice balcony just in front of the Li River. Next to the hotel there is a small local market where you can buy souvenirs and stuff and it is also 5 min walk to animated streets with bars and restaurants. It is though a calm place to sleep!
I stayed there 3 days and they helped me organize the visits I wanted to do with the time I had (if you want to fully enjoy the city, the area you should stay more). Also, I recommend you to do bamboo raft on Yulong River, it is gorgeous (better than the Li River I think)! Otherwise the staff is really nice and helpful especially Angela who is such a wonderful person and she can speak a perfect english! We had a chance to do a day trip with her and it was one of the best day of our week of vacation over China. I highly recommend this place and hope you will have the same experience as we had! Anaïs

Room Tip: I took a room in front of the Li River with a balcony and I was really satisfied. There is a good w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Its located i a very nice place, a 15 minute walk from "west street" and belive me you do not want stay close the that loud street .

The food at the place is great!! It serves nice breakfast and yami dumplings

There is also a very big Manu for vegetarians .
You can also book all kinds of trips to the area and rent e-bike/bikes.

We stayed in a standard double room ( not the big one with a river view) and it was not very big but dissent and clean.

The staff is very helpful and speak english

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed here recently and had 4th floor river view room. very basic hotel and rooms but at the price what would you expect. other rooms were nicer but we requested these rooms. numerous signs about locking doors and windows at all time which worried us but we had no problem. no elevator but we didnt mind. 2 free computers to access internet. lovely views of river and peaks. catered to tourists very well. breakfast was excellent value for money. staff spoke english and booked several trips at a discounted rate. Hired bikes at hotel for just over 1euro a day!! (seriously) Angel was lovely and seemed genuinely friendly and helpful. They make sure guests get about safely. Right around the corner from "the strip" of shops, bars and clubs. Light show was amazing (apart from the majority of tourists talking through most of it and standing up during performance). Highly recommend the trip to white water drifing. 2 teenage boys LOVED it!! totally worth the money and it was the one of the highlights for them. cycled to moon hill which is all on the flat so an easy cycle with stunning scenery on the way. if you dont want to hike up - cycle 200 meters past the entrance and you can see it on the right!!

Room Tip: ask for the rooms in the photos or a river view. courtyard is awful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houthalen, Belgium
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

The rooms here were a little damp, but this is to be expected everywhere in yangshuo. The staff was friendly and helped us book several really nice trips. They even speak english well here.
You can order several kinds of breakfast menus, the ones we tried were really good, including fresh orange juice! The adjacent restaurant was also very nice, good food and not too expensive.
The location is excellent next to the river and just outside the tourist center.
Booking a river view room is useless, the river view is blocked by trees, and you just end up on the noisy street side. The windows don't hold back much of the sound.

Room Tip: Don't take the river view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
306 reviews 306 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
359 helpful votes 359 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Family of 4, we had 2 twin rooms which had enough room, comfy firm bed, clean bathroom and free wifi.
All of the staff were extremely friendly and provided excellent service throughout.
Great location on the river and less than 5 minute walk to West St.
Food at restaurant was consistently good with plenty of choice at reasonable price.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalgoorlie, Australia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

River view is an excellent Chinese/Western hybrid hotel. Our balcony room had basic furniture, Chinese tv, thin towels and those infamous Chinese beds, but brilliant wifi connection, a tranquil view of the river through the trees, fabulous hot water in the shower and genuine, welcoming staff, most of whom spoke excellent English. We decided to stay 2 extra days which they gave to us at the Trip Advisor price, much cheaper than the displayed room rates. They then phoned our hotel in Xian to make the necessary changes to that reservation as for some reason I couldn't do it on my tablet. The hotel is located just past the markets, so is very quiet. The hotel has an annexe 50m up the road, which also houses their restaurant. Breakfast is additional, but excellent. You can order individual items or a set menu. The yoghurt and muesli is excellent. As is the coffee. If you decide to stay, I urge you to spend a bit extra to get a room with a view. Having a few beers( ¥10 for a freezing cold Carlsberg from the grocery store on the corner) in the late afternoon, while watching the street and the river was a highlight.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to River View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River View Inn

Address: No.15 Binjiang Road, Yangshuo County 541900, China
Location: China > Guangxi Zhuang > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#32 Best Value Hotel in Yangshuo County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — River View Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel has a prime location, only meters from the Li River. Some English speaking staff who could not have been more helpful. Superior service from all concerned.The usual tourist type shops are only 5 minutes away. This is the place seen on TV where cormorants dive for fish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your River View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel River View
River View Yangshuo County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River View Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.