We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of River View Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added River View Inn to your Saves list
River View Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.25 Binjiang Road, Yangshuo County 541900, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 370 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

The hotel was clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful, they also spoke good English when necessary.

Room was nice although strong smell of smoke present throughout the stay.
Recommend a room with a 'view' although the trees can block out most of the river.

Also, hire bikes and explore the moon hill, hot spring in caves, go out in the evening cormorant fishing and take the trip to longji rice terrace! All organised by the hotel

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    136
    41
    6
    2
See reviews for
48
118
25
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Utah
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We really enjoyed this small cozy well-run hotel on the river. Nothing fancy but very clean, staff extremely pleasant & helpful. Much better English spoken than in the 4 & 5 star hotels in large cities. Hotel staff happy to give sight-seeing advice or arrange tours. They rent bicycles for 10-30 yuan/day. Restaurant is quite decent & reasonably priced, Chinese & western dishes. Try the banana crepes!. We could hear a waterfall from our room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kharkiv, Ukraine
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I stayed in a room on 1st floor. The room had a window facing a courtyard garden which I was happy about because river view rooms get more noise from the street. I think river view rooms are overpriced because the view is nothing special really. From other side I got my room for only 80 RMB, which was the cheapest double room I had in China and of course great value for money. The room was clean, with every accessories that a budget hotel can offer, including TV, shampoo, slippers, teapot, etc. The hotel's location is the best in town, close to the Li river, close to the main streets where you will spend time in evening, but the place where the hotel itself is quiet, so you wont hear a music from bars. The staff is nice, speaks good English. There is a small cafe with good food and many bikes for rent, including some cross-country Giants. Overall I enjoyed my stay and will definitely be back again.

Room Tip: Choose a room WITHOUT a river view. The river is nothing special, but garden view rooms are much qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed in room 308 for 2 nights and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The room was large and sunny, the view spectacular and the pretty balcony a lovely bonus. The bathroom even had an enclosed shower! The first we have had since coming to China. The room also had a kettle. The TV had only Chinese stations. The wifi was pretty slow, but it worked. They also have 2 free computers that are ethernet connected for guests’ use. The breakfast was very good and the portions large compared to all the other breakfasts we have had in China. The staff was very friendly and helpful and were fluent in English.

We really loved Yangshou. It’s a very walkable town, has great restaurants, some eclectic shops, and is great for people watching. The hotel arranged tickets for the Impression Sanjie Liu performance at a small discount. I have never seen such a spectacular show in my life ! Highly, highly recommended. The hotel also helped me arrange for bamboo rafting down the Yulong River. The trip was beautiful and serene.

Just across the street from the hotel is the Li River and some fantastic scenery. Boats and bamboo rafts ply the river, horses are on the opposite riverbank, there is a small waterfall nearby

Room Tip: the higher levels have better views. we had 308 which was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

The hotel is in a great location...just far enough from all the noise but a short walk to where it's happening! We found the Chinese people to be so very accommodating and friendly but this was the only place where I didn't feel that way...we were not greeted when we arrived, didn't feel welcome and wasn't told about the 4 flights of stairs we would need to climb to get to our room! And no one helped us with luggage! We were there for 4 nights and after about 2, the bathroom started smelling like a sewer...there was a drain there and we threw some water down it and covered it with a towel and the smell was gone. The furniture and bed/bathroom linens need to be upgraded but it was clean.

Room Tip: Be aware that the hotel does not have an elevator! We stayed at the top floor (4th) which was great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed 4 nights at the River View hotel. Loved the location as it was away from the noise of the hopping town centre but still close to everything and easy to walk to from the end of the Li River cruise that we took to get to Yangshuo from Guilin. Rooms are basic but a good size and comfortable. Linens and towels well-worn but clean. No safe in the room and no wardrobe but lots of hangers and hooks. Good prices for having laundry done by the hotel (ranging from 3-6 RMB per item of what I had washed). Nice and helpful front desk people with good English. You can rent bikes here and don't forget to check out the restaurant menu and prices before venturing into town to compare for value. We ended up having most breakfasts and dinners here after the first two days once we looked at the menu and what others were eating! You can book tours at the front desk and rent bikes. We also booked a massage which is just 4 minutes down the road and loved it so much we went back two days later for a longer massage. I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

This is a lovely hotel to stay at while visiting Yangshuo, however beware of SOME of the staff. While enjoying a nice although very expensive coffee, 25RMB, ($3.85 AUD), I witnessed a couple of twelve year old Australian kids getting being totally ripped off by the hotel staff. These unknowing kids had just ordered 3 hash browns along with a serve of french fries. The staff charged them a massive 90 Yuan, ($13.84). Annoyed at this blatant dishonesty I immediately jumped up from my seat, went to their rescue and told them that they were being over charged; These kids didn't understand the money exchange and were both rather shocked. The two hotel staff involved were obviously fully aware of their ignorance and were taking advantage of this fact and until I intervened were taking full advantage of this fact. After my intervention the kids decided to cancel one of the hash browns and the charge was reduced down from 90 CNY to 65.00 CNY the equivalent of $9.00 AUD/USD. I think the Hotel's staff should be absolutely ashamed of themselves. I am also certain that this type of day light robbery would NEVER occur back home in Melbourne, Australia.

A little note to the staff involved in this incident.

Think carefully before you act. Tourism is good for any economy and by me posting this poor review onto Trip Adviser I hope that the staff involved will learn some respect for your clients and employers. You have marred the reputation of your otherwise wonderful hotel by what you have done.

Sincerely,
Francine R.
Australia

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a great view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to River View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River View Inn

Address: No.25 Binjiang Road, Yangshuo County 541900, China
Location: China > Guangxi Zhuang > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Yangshuo County
#29 Best Value Hotel in Yangshuo County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — River View Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel has a prime location, only meters from the Li River. Some English speaking staff who could not have been more helpful. Superior service from all concerned.The usual tourist type shops are only 5 minutes away. This is the place seen on TV where cormorants dive for fish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, HostelBookers, Hotels.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your River View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel River View
River View Yangshuo County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River View Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.