We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Basic Hotel & Location, Terribly Abusive Night Security” 4 of 5 stars
Review of River View Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added River View Inn to your Saves list
River View Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.15 Binjiang Road, Yangshuo County 541900, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 370 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Beijing, China
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Basic Hotel & Location, Terribly Abusive Night Security”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

I have just come back from a great little trip to Yangshuo, which was well worthwhile and ideal for a couple of days.

There is enough to keep you going for 2-3 days and if you stay “downtown” then for a basic hotel the River View Hotel is fine. Basic, but the heater worked, the room was clean, the bathroom usable, the balcony was great. Location 3 minutes to West Street for all the dining you will need.

However when leaving we were locked into the hotel as the Night Security guard did not know we were leaving early, even though reception had been informed and he was not at all “helpful.” My wife speaks fluent Chinese so there was no language barrier, just attitude from him!

As we were leaving before 7am we had to wake him up and from there on it went downhill. He ended up shouting at us, refusing to open the door (all bills had been paid) in the end I would imagine most of the hotel heard our problems. Sorry.

So I would recommend the hotel, but check to see if the security guard is still working and then make sure that you leave after reception come on duty.

Room Tip: This is a basic hotel, but good value for this category. Make sure you get one overlooking the river...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    136
    41
    6
    2
See reviews for
48
118
25
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

On a family trip in January 2011, we stayed here for five nights. The rooms were comfortable and well appointed. The location was wonderful, close too all Yangzhuo has to offer, but far enough away to be comfortable. The staff was AMAZING. Sharon and the rest of the staff went above and beyond, including serving as our interpreter at the pharmacy when members of our group became ill. Easily the best place I've stayed in Asia. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

Not able to find a hostel, so I booked this hotel with a balcony (mountains view) to pamper myself for three nights. The hotel is right beside the river with beautiiful mountains infront. When I arrived, the lobby hall was cold. The room is descent size with regular size tub and shower but the water and room take awhile to heat up. The balcony is large with a rocking chair and 4 seating table and chairs but "river view" wasn't much of a view, trees blocking it. Down side; only one plug, not close to the bed therefore you must charge you laptop or other device over night before use. The free computer is in the lobby and not comfortable when there's no heat. I found another hotel (Bamboo Resort) with better comfort (jacuzzii), and close to same price range and I checked out after the first night. Pros: the staff are very friendly and willing to help.

Room Tip: Always book one night and check out other hotels if it is worth staying longer at that location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

At the end of a travel day we found this hotel and its staff very welcoming. We enjoyed our 3rd floor room with balcony, although after the first night it was too cold to ever open the balcony door again! The room was well-appointed and clean. Nice touches with lighting and bathroom fixtures. Hot water and tea were instantly ready in the room. There is free wi-fi. We chose to rent their bikes one day. $1.50 USD per day! And they were nice, 7-speed bikes! Also, when it was time to travel back to Guilin in the early morning, the clerk, whom we'd awakened, suggested we take a taxi to the airport rather than just to the bus stop. Since it was raining, we took him up on the idea. It was reasonably priced and SO much more relaxing than messing with a bus.

Room Tip: Riverside, 3rd or 4th floor if you can handle the stairs. (The desk clerk with carry your luggage.)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

We booked here last minute after another hotel did not meet our expectations. The staff were very helpful and let us see all the types of rooms so we could get the right ones for our group. The rooms are big and face the river with private balconies. The staff responded quickly to our requests for extra blankets and provided a space heater when our room didn't warm up much. We had laundry done there and while it wasn't ready when they said it would be they got it to us later in the day which worked for us. This is a good place to stay for your time in Yangshuo - it's close to the river, shopping and restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen, Colorado
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

Nice property with good modern facilities. Not really a "view" property as the trees block the river view and when the river is low it's not all that super of a sight anyway (sorry Yangshuo tourist center). Good heat in the rooms, but like many other hotels in the area, no heat in the lobby for the free internet or their restaurant. Staff was pleasant but it seemed they were living on their having been listed in the guide books with just a bit of "attitude" and a bit pricey. Still all in all a very reasonable choice for lodging.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tianjin, China
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

There really is no other place to stay when you are staying in Yangshuo.

The location is perfect over looking the river, close enough to West street, but far enough away to be quiet.

Be sure to request a 4th floor balcony room overlooking the river.

The only negative I have is that the showers are small and prefab. But besides that our stay was perfect.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to River View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River View Inn

Address: No.15 Binjiang Road, Yangshuo County 541900, China
Location: China > Guangxi Zhuang > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#33 Best Value Hotel in Yangshuo County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — River View Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel has a prime location, only meters from the Li River. Some English speaking staff who could not have been more helpful. Superior service from all concerned.The usual tourist type shops are only 5 minutes away. This is the place seen on TV where cormorants dive for fish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, HostelBookers and Agoda so you can book your River View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel River View
River View Yangshuo County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River View Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.