We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try Elsewhere” 3 of 5 stars
Review of New Century Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added New Century Hotel to your Saves list
New Century Hotel
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Near Yangshuo Park, Pantao Road, Yangshuo County 541900, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 370 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Sydney
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Try Elsewhere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Its OK at best. Thats not a massage parlour next door (actually in same building) and advertised as a massage parlour in the lift with dated pictures. Its a Brothel, is that a problem - not for most of us but check out the seedy types hanging around after dark!
Rooms otherwise around average and the location is not too far from West St unless its raining. There is another very nice place in Yangshuo called the Green Lotus - worth checking into.
New Century was priced ok and gets a mention in LP. Buffet breakfast a bit disappointing and reception staff were a hit and miss at times with not the greatest help for either matters involving your stay at the hotel or assistance with local interests.

Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    56
    54
    19
    6
See reviews for
24
63
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
in my world
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

As a 3* hotel, it's very good hotel. It's clean, tidy, and less than 5 m walk to the market street.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel as part of a tour of China. While the other hotels we stayed in were quite nice (4 and 5 stars), this one barely deserved a 2 star rating. When we first entered the lobby, it was dark and uninviting (despite being the middle of the afternoon). I assume the hotel was trying to conserve energy, so they shut most of the lobby lights off which made for a very dull first impression. We found our way to the room only to discover it was poorly appointed, not anything like the management pictures provided online, with water stains on the wall and a bed that was harder than the pavement outside. The towels provided were threadbare, complete with several large holes. Our breakfast, served in the charming lobby restaurant, was the least appetizing of the “western style” breakfasts we ate in China. The fruit was not replenished, leaving us with the scraps (despite being quite early in the morning), and the other selections were dry and tasteless. Luckily, our stay was short, and we were ready to depart for Shanghai later that morning. If we had stayed more than one night in this hotel, I would have asked our tour operator for a partial refund. There appear to be many hotels in Yangshuo, so shop around!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, England
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012 via mobile

Easy walking to centre of town with a free water cooler in the foyer to quench thirst on return. Front desk staff offhand but room was large and airy with a comfortable bed. Stayed here for dinner and breakfast after a cruise down the Li river and had enjoyable meals both times with the breakfast buffet set up in the ground floor atrium. Recommend going to the nearby spectacular "Impression of Sanjie Liu" evening show if tickets are available as it is absolutely superb and a highlight of our stay.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

This is a hotel catering to Chinese tour groups. Beds are 'hard' class. Slightly state-owned hotel feel about it all. Reception looks more like a train ticket office than a hotel reception. Food is served when the tour groups need it.

But it functions OK. The rooms are clean, bathroom nice if old, aircon working. Actually the TV did not work in my room - but not much to watch on it in Yangshuo anyway. Breakfast is chinese noodles and steam buns basically. And set up for Chinese tastes. So tea good, coffee awful. Internet at a 'business centre'. So basic three stars.

However the staff are fantastically helpful. Got my laundry done in record time when I needed to leave. Helped me get around town. Very kind.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wakefield
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

Good hotel in decent area. Handy to walk into the town. Eating places nearby. Breakfast room very busy with large groups of people all arriving at once, but ok..staff a bit disorganised and not too friendly but that's China! Would recommend

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cromwell
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

We visited the lovely Yangshuo in April along with 14 other photographers on a 25 day tour of
China. During this time we used 11 different hotels and this one was the worst by far. On the credit side of the ledger, I have to note that the hotel was well placed within easy walking distance of "West Street" and the river, adjacent to a park and very near to the city markets. Also on the credit side is the fact that the rooms were equipped with all the amenities one needs......they were just very tired and dated.
Our allocated room was comfortable but the curtains were drawn - we opened them and found a wall a metre away! We closed them and got used to all the lights being on when ever we were in the room. Colleagues whose room was on the other side of the corridor report that they looked down onto the very grubby roof covering the central courtyard where breakfast was served. We were able to observe rooms at the front of the hotel. These looked over the park, were large and may have been recently refurbished.
Skip cereals at breakfast there was plenty of other things on offer.
We loved Yangshuo and recommend visitors go "Impressions of Liu Sanjie, a spectacular evening show on water. We also recommend visiting the Yulong River and taking a bamboo raft down stream. If you visit the market in the morning you are in for a surprise - check out the meat department.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel overlooking the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New Century Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Century Hotel

Address: Near Yangshuo Park, Pantao Road, Yangshuo County 541900, China
Location: China > Guangxi Zhuang > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 370 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — New Century Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your New Century Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel New Century

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Century Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.