We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing resort - right at the river” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yangshuo Mountain Retreat

Save Saved
You added Yangshuo Mountain Retreat to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wang Gong Shan Jiao, Feng Lou Cun Wei, Gao Tian, Yangshuo County, China   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 286 hotels in Yangshuo County
Bangalore
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Amazing resort - right at the river”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for 3 nights at the start of the spring. Checked in late evening and were given a 'Mountain View room' for one night and a river view room for the rest of the stay - due to availability. The room was somewhere at the backside and I was little worried.. did I pay more for this not so interesting room.. I woke up next morning and with a coffee in hand, stepped out into the balcony.. moved my head to the left - and there it is.. a gigantic 100+m mountain right at the balcony.. as if it grew just now in front of my eyes.. same view on the right side.. just amazing feeling. full of greens and unadulterated fresh breath of air..
The other rooms were even better.. right at the river bay surrounded by the mountains on all sides.. I woke up just to see many couples riding on the bamboo rafts slowly sailing through the sedate river.. Just fantastic..

The food was excellent and customer service was superb.. almost everyone spoke English. and they arrange for transportation for sight-seeing etc..

The entire city is hidden in a nest - sorrounded by mountains on all sides.. that inspired the 'Avatar' movie director.

A must visit city - and if you are here.. stay in this resort.

Room Tip: Ask for river view rooms only... preferably 2nd floor ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    415
    136
    29
    11
    1
See reviews for
170
241
33
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Co. Antrim
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This was without doubt the best hotel we stayed in on our China trip. The views from the balcony of our room- book a river view room, that's a must - were amazing, we could have sat looking at the view of the hills and watching the bamboo rafts on the river all day long. The hotel is clean and comfortable, we loved their environmental approach. Food was good and staff wonderful, always helpful and friendly. It was a wrench to leave, it was a never to be forgotten experience.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Beautiful view, quite and peaceful. Listening to the river just ouside our room was very relaxing. The staff was very helpful, the rooms were clean but worn. Took a bamboo rafting tour up the river and they were able to drop us off right at the hotel - very handy! Have uploaded a picture of the hotel taken on our rafting trip. You can see the building at the base of the mountain.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony facing the river to get the full effect of the location
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Four of us spent three delightful days at this tidy and attentive little inn. The scenery is the reason to travel here, but the kind attention of the small staff is the reason to linger. They arranged trips floating the river on bamboo rafts that allowed us to off load immediately in front of our rooms. The Yangshuo River passes along in front of the inn and is lovely, even in driving rain. The rooms are comfortable and ours was large with a great mountain and river view to wake to. They also arranged a very able driver (at a very reasonable rate) who spent our last day driving us to the Dragon Backbone rice terraces, waiting while we hiked, and then back to the airport. It was fantastic.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midhurst, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I am writing this while sitting on the balcony of my river view room with a glass of wine left over from dinner. The sun has already set but I can just make out the spectacular view through the darkness. The hotel is full of character and passion in its environmentally sensitive approach and friendly family vibe. I disagree with a previous reviewer on the quality of the food - we have just had a magnificent meal in the restaurant downstairs. It's out of town which I think is a selling point and in the most fantastic location. Warm and efficient welcome. Great rooms with views. Staff with decent English and a big smile and willingness to both help and share a joke. I love it and would strongly recommend to anyone.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My mother and I were traveling to China for the very first time. Yangshuo was our fourth stop. Oh what a treat! My mouth dropped wide open when I saw the view of the beautiful mountains. I was amazed at God's creation. We enjoyed our one night stay (3/12-13) at the Yangshuo Mountain Retreat. The area is quiet and relaxing. The staff was sweet and helpful. We were invited to sit down at the cafe to have tea while checking in to our room. When they realized we were in the wrong room, they immediately switched us to the correct room with no problem. They assisted us with our luggage up the stairs. They don't have elevators. I loved the views from our balcony. Our room was facing the river. The room was just the right size for us. We felt right at home. The room was cozy, clean, neat, comfortable and authentic. The bed was soft and comfy. We were provided with a phone to received calls from family in the US and a computer room at the front desk, movies at the front desk to watch since there was no cable, homemade slippers, water mugs to carry around on the go, a remote for the air conditioning/heating system, and umbrellas for the rain. It was great to have our room in the main building right over the front desk and cafe for easy access to the entrance/exit. We had to leave at 5:30a so the security guard was nice enough to help us to carry our heaviest luggage. The front desk staff gave us a special homemade gift as a thank you for staying. Something you wouldn't get at a regular hotel. I'm glad I decided to come visit. Yangshuo Mountain Retreat is truly one of a kind. On my next visit to China, I will be sure to stop by for a night's rest in the mountains.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guilin, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I celebrated our anniversary at the Yangshuo Mountain Retreat recently. We had a great experience with the staff, from booking through checkout. The staff was kind, cordial, and catered to our every need or request. Our room was spacious, clean, and had a superb view-- overlooking the Yulong river and dozens of magical Karst formations. Everything about our stay was excellent... except for the food. Sadly, it just wasn't up to par.
We ate there 5 times, and each time there was at least one problem. Too salty, too much garlic, undercooked meat... and so on. Stick with the Macaroni and Cheese and any of the soups.

Room Tip: Choose the Second floor for a better view and more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UndertheMoon, Manager at Yangshuo Mountain Retreat, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Hi, Matthew,
This is really valuable feedback for us on the food, and I wish you had come a week later! We have Italian Chef Pietro Mincuzzi in the kitchen this week and training the staff in the process. I see you're in Guilin so when you come back for a visit, stop in for lunch on us. We think you'll be pleasantly surprised.
Thanks again for sharing your experience with us and happy anniversary!
Yours,
Little Fish and Mountain Retreat family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Yangshuo Mountain Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yangshuo Mountain Retreat

Also Known As:
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat Hotel Yangshuo County
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat Hotel
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat County
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat Hotel County
Address: Wang Gong Shan Jiao, Feng Lou Cun Wei, Gao Tian, Yangshuo County, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Guangxi Zhuang > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Yangshuo County
#5 Family Hotel in Yangshuo County
#20 Best Value Hotel in Yangshuo County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Yangshuo Mountain Retreat 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat overlooks the pristine Yulong River and surrounding karst limestone towers in the heart of the Yangshuo countryside. We are one hour from Guilin, just down the road from Impression Liu San Jie and a quick ride to West Street. We are American owned and locally run, established in 2000. Our accommodation, food and staff, not to mention our beautiful surroundings are highly rated by Frommers and other trusted guides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Yangshuo Mountain Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yangshuo Mountain Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.