We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yangshuo Mountain Retreat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Yangshuo Mountain Retreat to your Saves list
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Yulong River Road | Gaotian Town, Yangshuo County 541907, China   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary breakfast
Ranked #5 of 370 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“An oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

The best hotel I experienced and could imagine. The location is quiet with excellent views. I could spend quite a long time sitting watching the view. The hotel is small and environmentally conscious. The staff had very good English and helped us with reasonably priced tours/activities. The restaurant had excellent freshly cooked food. This is not a luxurious could-be-anywhere hotel. It is a good quality, down to earth, suited-to-its-setting hotel. If you want time away from the hustle and bustle, and time being looked after by English speaking staff though very much in a Chinese setting with great views, come here.
The two rooms we had were both twins. I did not find out if double rooms are available.

Room Tip: Consider if you need a ground floor room as there are no lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    492
    146
    32
    13
    1
See reviews for
199
277
37
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

My family spent four nights at this nice hotel. For those of you who are expats, you know that service is a concept lacking in China. This was not the case at this hotel. The staff was extremely helpful with our tours and suggested different places for us to visit.

The menu has enough food for 3-4 days, with plenty of Western selections..

One nice feature is sitting outside listening to the river as it passes by you.

The rooms are clean and well kept. While the rooms are not four or five start, you are definitely not paying for four or five stars. The hotel is a great value and I would recommend anyone to stay here. We would come back to this hotel of we returned to the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

My son and I had were in China two years ago, and this was one the few places that we decided we had to return to. It was just like we remembered.... great staff, good food, and wonderful just relaxing in the river while the bamboo rafts go by. We had a really fantastic room on our first visit (on the second floor above the lobby) with a terrace, and we didn't have nearly as nice a room this time, but it was fine, and you don't go to such a beautiful place to hang out in the room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

This little hotel was by far the best choice of our long trip around China, although we have also stayed at several beautiful 5 star, stilish and glossy hotels. The location is perfect, just on the shore of the Li river, the staff is nice, everything is simple, not sophisticated, warm, true. Rooms are big and clean (though definitely not luxurious). The view takes your breath away. You can rent a bike there and explore the area. And food is probably the best we have had all around China! I am looking forward to go there back again.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the 2nd floor, view is better and should also be less humid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
272 reviews 272 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 124 cities Reviews in 124 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Lovely hotel...right on the river with great views. Restaurant lovely...great chinese dishes, delicious. Great service...hotel organised lots of trips for us...we hired bikes from them, visited the lightshow, they organised taxis and bamboo rafts down the river...all very easy to organise and prices good. Hotel authentically styled with lots of bamboo...could have been a little more polished. Location good in that great views and relaxing location but no other options for dinner unless you took a taxi. We also visted the sister hotel Yangshuo Village Inn located in Moonhill, while the decor was very similar and you would get the same great service we did prefer the location of the Mountain Retreat...made for a more relaxing stay being right on the river. Great shower and always hot water.

Good value...meals well priced as were excursions and the hotel itself...I would recommend upgrading to a river view room..balcony with lovely view.

Room Tip: I would recommend a river view room with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

this is one of the only times in your life where you will be able to stay in a hotel on the banks of this great chinese river. whereas the summer heat can really get to you in this part of china, the mere fact that you can lounge back in the chairs & under the parasols of this bankside hotel; that you can just stay put on your balcony; that you can go tubing in the river in just a few steps - all this whilst having a direct view over the most stunning river/mountain view you will ever see - it is hugely refreshing. this was such a chilled out, relaxing atmosphere. the food wasn't the best ever, but it was fine, and even tasty if you're not too reluctant about having some simple but satisfying food. and the service was friendly, and the location was splendid. with the city just a short/cheap taxi ride away, we would certainly recommend this time and time again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We booked 3 nights as part of our honeymoon in China. Having booked a river view superior king room, we were slightly disappointed to find the view not as quite as good as the room used on the website. To be fair the hotel is by the river, but the accommodation block is set back from the river so ask for a upstairs room if you a get chance as the views are much better! (We did ask after check-in but were told the upstairs was full).

The rooms are rustic and fairly basic but comfortable. Staff spoke enough English for day to day needs. The food is more expensive than other places but is of a good standard and wide selection.

We went on a rafting trip and also to the light show (highly recommended) which were both excellent. Also walked up Moon Hill, followed by dinner at Luna (their sister restaurant) - excellent Italian food in China!

Definitely worth a trip to Yangshuo for scenery alone!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UndertheMoon, Manager at Yangshuo Mountain Retreat, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
We delighted that you chose Yangshuo Mountain Retreat for your honeymoon and thank you for your kind review!
We have 3 locations of Superior King Rooms, some are 2nd floor and some are ground floor, in two buildings, which of course offer slightly different views, but are all less than 50 feet from the Yulong River, as depicted in all our photos. This is the closest of any hotel rooms in Yangshuo to the River, and given that the Yulong can flood in Summer, we built with a minimum setback to ensure that guests can enjoy views of the river without physically being in the river.
We apologize that we couldn't move you upstairs as we were fully booked and have noted your preference for your next visit.
Safe travels!
Little Fish and Mountain Retreat family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yangshuo Mountain Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yangshuo Mountain Retreat

Address: Yulong River Road | Gaotian Town, Yangshuo County 541907, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Guangxi Zhuang > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Yangshuo County
#2 Romantic Hotel in Yangshuo County
#20 Best Value Hotel in Yangshuo County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Yangshuo Mountain Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat overlooks the pristine Yulong River and surrounding karst limestone towers in the heart of the Yangshuo countryside. We are one hour from Guilin, just down the road from Impression Liu San Jie and a quick ride to West Street. We are American owned and locally run, established in 2000. Our accommodation, food and staff, not to mention our beautiful surroundings are highly rated by Frommers and other trusted guides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Yangshuo Mountain Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat Hotel Yangshuo County
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat County
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat Hotel County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yangshuo Mountain Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.