We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Peaceful Retreat from the Hustle & Bustle of China’s Cities” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yangshuo Mountain Retreat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Yangshuo Mountain Retreat to your Saves list
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Yulong River Road | Gaotian Town, Yangshuo County 541907, China   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary breakfast
Ranked #5 of 370 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Washington, DC
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Perfect Peaceful Retreat from the Hustle & Bustle of China’s Cities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

The staff, service, food, and accommodations at this serene location made for a completely relaxing few days at the end of our China trip. The location is ideal for bike rides around the countryside and yet is close enough to make travel into Yangshuo a breeze.

The staff greeted us warmly at check-in and escorted us to our standard river view room, which was nice but incredibly small for two adults and our two packs (one side of the bed was almost on top of the tiny bathroom). Fortunately, the desk staff were able to move us to a larger mountain view room (room# 201A) with private balcony featuring gorgeous views. The room was well kept with updated bathroom fixtures, air conditioning/heat, plenty of hot water, and space for our packs. We couldn’t have been more pleased and considered the extra cost well worth it.

The retreat includes a full restaurant on site featuring a wide range of tasty dishes that are reasonably priced, which is good since you are not near many other options. For breakfast, 40 yuan buys you yogurt/muesli, toast, 2 eggs, coffee/tea and juice. You can also spend less but we found this to be a great bargain – also try their ginger tea; it’s amazing!

Throughout our stay the entire staff proved to be incredibly friendly and helpful. They arranged transportation for us into town and gave us a business card that included written instructions for our taxi driver on the return trip. For 30 yuan the retreat also rented bicycles for the day – an investment that was well worth the experience!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    496
    150
    32
    13
    1
See reviews for
203
281
37
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed here four nights. Everything was wonderful. The setting is almost too good to be true: right on the Yulong river (you can watch the bamboo rafts go right by), with 360 degree views of the amazing karst mountains.

The room was nice. Attractive, bamboo decorations. Our room had a river view, with a small porch where you could sit and just watch the river. All the facilities worked (AC, hot water, etc).

The food was great. Because this is a bit far from the center of town, we were worried about eating options, but the food at YSMR was great, so it was not a problem. We mostly stuck to Chinese food, but did have pizza once, which was good, too. Best of all, the food seemed reasonably priced. I've been at places where, because they know you don't have options, they overcharge for meals. Not here.

The dining area encourages you to meet other guests, which enhances the family-type atmosphere. We met a lot of very nice folks there.

They offer bike rentals (again, reasonably priced), which is a great way to see the countryside, or ride into town. The bikes are good quality, and well maintained.

We were a bit concerned, before we got there, of it being far from town. But, between bikes, the free shuttle, and taxis, we had no problems getting around.

Possibly the best part about this resort was the people there. The staff was very friendly and helpful, telling us where to go, what to see, etc. They seemed genuinely happy to be there and wanted to help.

Really, nothing bad to say at all. I loved our stay there, and wished it could have been longer.

Room Tip: I don't think there are any bad rooms here. Ask for a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Very cosy, small enterprise justified in their description of "we are a family". Staff seem genuinely to care for you - not just doing it because it is their job. River activities were closed throughout our stay due to a deluge but that made us take advantage of other trips - we would recommend the Chinese cooking and fan painting.

Room Tip: Upstairs front rooms obviously have the best river views and we think they are worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

My mom reserved this place because she wanted to unwind and relax....and that we did. It was wonderful. We took the last two rooms which were on each end of the hotel. Small but nice. We had a small deck from which we saw the river and mountains. Fantastic front desk. Very Very helpful! It was truly a beautiful place to stay. We loved eating out by the river. The food was fantastic...both the Chinese and Western foods. Although the hotel is away from the city, we took full advantage of the free shuttle to and from the city, and also the Luna Sister Hotel where we loved seeing Moon Hill and having dinner. I would recommend bringing insect\mosquito repellent. We LOVED our day bike ride to Yulong\Dragon bridge and then bamboo raft from Yulong to Juixian. The ride was easy and scenic. Loved watching the locals plant their farms. Make sure to take a camera. Get directions from the receptionist. We were concerned about the directions but ended up doing just fine and chalked it up as an adventure. We also enjoyed taking a local bus to Fuli town. You MUST go on their lucky days to experience the local market. If you like adventures it was awesome. When we told the front desk that was our plan for the day they laughed. They said this is what we do in our everyday lives. It was great. We also enjoyed West Street shopping (bargain hard), Indian foods, and just relaxing as we soaked in the scenery. Loved our stay and would definitely go back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We had a three night stay here and wished we were staying longer. The location is absolutely amazing. The hotel is sat right by the river and you could not ask for a better view. At the same time, you can walk to the busier strip and some of the caves in about 30 minutes and are a short taxi ride away from the town. You can eat by the river overlooking the beautiful scenery and we had a river view room with a stunning view from our balcony. The rooms are basic to fit in with the "eco" theme. However, they are very nice and we had a lot of space. The staff are friendly and helpful. They all have great English so we had no problems communicating. We were surprised by how good value the hotel was. The rooms are very reasonable and the food/drink is cheap but very good. We would definitely recommend this place and will hopefully find time to go back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

The hotel is some km off downtown Yangshuo. We had taken a taxi from another city and he had a hard time finding it, but nothing that couldn't be sorted out with a phone call.
Our first impression at arrival was of awe: scenery is mindblowing, the access has a nice, tropical, relaxed feeling. We were offered a welcome drink while our check-in was being prepared. We were then conducted to our room: a superior with a river view. It was in another building few meters away from the main reception/restaurant building, which could have been a problem because it was raining, but they have umbrellas available all over the place.
It had a HUGE fully-furnished terrace overlooking the river and the mountains across. The room itself was ample and appealing, all furnished in traditional bamboo furniture. The bathroom was also adequate.
The restaurant is very nice, offering a nice menu with both chinese and western specialities. We were always pleased with the food.
As our stay passed by, some "cons" appeared...
First, the fact that the hotel is a bit isolated makes it hard to discover things beyond its limits. I mean, of course you can take a taxi and have dinner in downtown YangShuo, but most of the people would stay in the restaurant. Which was very nice, but at some point we missed having other alternatives within walking distance.
Then, after the initial excitement faded away, we could see that there is a difference between rural and rustic, and just sometimes not properly taken care of. We had the impression that both the room and the bathroom could have been cleaner and in better condition. They offer free DVDs, ideal for a rainy evening, but the DVD in our room didn't work.
Biking around the area is a very nice experience, although our maps were not totally accurate and we had to improvise.
Nice garden in the grounds of the hotel where you can eat by the river, play table tennis or badminton or just relax outside and enjoy nature.
Talking about nature: please be aware that the hotel is quite "out in the wild", so get ready to see lizards, big spiders and snakes. You get instructions from the hotel on how to prevent nasty encounters, and the rooms all well prepared against mosquitoes.
All in all a very relaxing experience in an amazing, mind-blowing scenery: we got what we wanted and needed: a couple of days to catch up our breath and continue our trip through China. Don't expect luxury, however.
Would probably go back!

Room Tip: There are several buildings in the grounds of the Restor. River view superior rooms have amazing ter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nth Coast
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

From the moment we arrived it was just magical, beautiful position overlooking the Yulong River.
Meals were very nice and plentiful, prices very competitive with outside the retreat.
The staff were just beautiful, friendly and extremely accommodating.
Free dvd's available as no tv.
Enjoy the bamboo rafting, very relaxing.
This is a lovely and relaxing place to stay

Room Tip: an upstairs room overlooking the river was a great way for us to wake up in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yangshuo Mountain Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yangshuo Mountain Retreat

Address: Yulong River Road | Gaotian Town, Yangshuo County 541907, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Guangxi Zhuang > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Yangshuo County
#2 Family Hotel in Yangshuo County
#20 Best Value Hotel in Yangshuo County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Yangshuo Mountain Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat overlooks the pristine Yulong River and surrounding karst limestone towers in the heart of the Yangshuo countryside. We are one hour from Guilin, just down the road from Impression Liu San Jie and a quick ride to West Street. We are American owned and locally run, established in 2000. Our accommodation, food and staff, not to mention our beautiful surroundings are highly rated by Frommers and other trusted guides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Yangshuo Mountain Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat Hotel Yangshuo County
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat County
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat Hotel County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yangshuo Mountain Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.