We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yangshuo Mountain Retreat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Yangshuo Mountain Retreat to your Saves list
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Yulong River Road | Gaotian Town, Yangshuo County 541907, China   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary breakfast
Ranked #5 of 370 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Stayed here for two nights in April 2013 and wish we could have stayed for much much longer. Fantastic location, fantastic staff and fantastic food. A small slice of heaven. The view from the rooms is breathtaking.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    493
    148
    32
    13
    1
See reviews for
199
280
37
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, Shanghai, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

This is THE place to stay in Yangshuo. It is 15 min by taxi to the village but it is so nice to stay at the resort. Very contemplative atmosphere!

The staff, the rooms, the food. Everything was great and we would definitely recommend to stay at this resort.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed here in May 2012 for four nights. I cannot recommend it enough. We also stayed in the Mountain Retreat - the other well known Hotel in Yangshou for a further four nights. My partner and I much preferred the Li River and wish we had just stayed there for the whole time. The Mountain Retreat felt more like an upmarket resort. It was busier, in an area surrounded by other similar resorts, in a far less spectacular setting and more expensive. It is also more difficult to get into Yangshou.
The Li River Retreat is more intimate, friendly and peaceful, the surrounding mountains truly breathtaking and the restaurant food great. I agree with all the positive comments other people have made regarding the staff. What was also lovely was that Alf the owner was often around and very helpful regarding places to see, even drawing a map for us showing his favourite bike ride routes.
Despite the feeling that you are in complete isolation here, it is just a short walk by the river into Yangshou town so you have the best of both worlds.
We spent most of the time cycling around the rural areas - (the bikes were also much better and cheaper hired here than at the Mountain Retreat). Be prepared to get lost - proper maps do not exist. But found some wonderful little villages and ate at little local places. We had an amazing time.
This is my first review for trip advisor, but felt compelled to share our experiences. The memories after almost one year still linger. Would love to return.

Room Tip: We stayed in the very large room on the top floor, enormous window with amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We were not so sure about booking this hotel when we first started planning our China vacation however when we read the excellent reviews about the place we decided to take a chance and boy are we glad we did.

The location is excellent right next to a bend in the Li river with a breathtaking view of the mountains. The water is not very active however I do not recommend swimming in it.

The room is quite comfortable although you should not expect a lodge to provide hotel facilities and we were not disappointed by what we got. It's old style rustic ambiance fit the location very well and they do provide a TV, DVD player and hot running water.

The staff is extremely friendly and provide facilities like free internet and a decent DVD movie library (working on the honor system).

The breakfast unfortunately is a fixed menu with limited choices but not bad.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor have a limited view of the lake so if your a nature lover one of the highe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed at this hotel 2 nites in March as part of our trip package with China Odyssey tours and really enjoyed it! This is a low-key, rustic lodge type of hotel with every amenity you could want in a town like Yangshuo! We were in room 202 I believe and the view was FANTASTIC! We stayed in the room with our son and even with the 2 beds, there was still adequate room! Breakfast was included which was made to order instead of the typical buffet found in many hotels in China and was excellent!!! The hotel is just outside of town which I think is perfect! I would imagine that the hotels in town would tend to noisy. This hotel is lovely, quiet and peaceful! Be sure to read the guide book in the room - it is filled with loads of good tours that you could take and information about the hotel and staff. We also really enjoyed the Luna restaurant on the sister hotel. Recommend that too!

Room Tip: be sure to ask for a room facing the river! Wonderful views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

As the heading suggests, I can't find enough plaudits for this hotel. The staff are excellent - friendly and helpful without being too prominent or pushing. The meals are pretty good - perhaps not the highlight but worth staying in for on a night or two. The location is probably the star attraction, with the lovely traditional-style accommodation being in second place. And despite being in a traditional style, the rooms are pretty well appointed. The prices are very reasonable for what you get.

My only complaint was that the bed was very hard - almost futon hard - and the pillow was similar. I am OK with firm beds, but I found this a bit uncomfortable.

Room Tip: We had one of the family suite things. Was excellent, with it's own balcony area for hanging out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UndertheMoon, Manager at Yangshuo Mountain Retreat, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Daniel,

So glad you enjoyed being here with us. We noted your comment about the beds and you are right, many of our beds are locally made from natural cotton batting, like a futon, but we do have a pillow top we can put under for guests who find this too firm. On your next visit, we will make a note of your preference and make sure you have a softer bed for a better sleep experience. Same goes for the pillow :)
Thanks again for staying with us, and we look forward to having you back.
Warm regards,
Little Fish and Mountain Retreat family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Stayed 1 night in mid march 2013. Location was gorgeous and the view was one of the best I have ever stayed in all our travels. Room was warm and comfortable. All the staff were warm and helpful.

Was really nice to receive the lovely Chinese purse gift upon checking out.

Appreciate the complimentary one way transfer to their sister Luna cafe but would be better if return transfer was complimentary as well because we purposely took dinner at Luna so that we can visit Yangshuo Village Inn.

YMR did not charge us for the stomach ache medicine but we had to pay for toothbrush and toothpaste.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yangshuo Mountain Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yangshuo Mountain Retreat

Address: Yulong River Road | Gaotian Town, Yangshuo County 541907, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Guangxi Zhuang > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Yangshuo County
#2 Romantic Hotel in Yangshuo County
#20 Best Value Hotel in Yangshuo County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Yangshuo Mountain Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat overlooks the pristine Yulong River and surrounding karst limestone towers in the heart of the Yangshuo countryside. We are one hour from Guilin, just down the road from Impression Liu San Jie and a quick ride to West Street. We are American owned and locally run, established in 2000. Our accommodation, food and staff, not to mention our beautiful surroundings are highly rated by Frommers and other trusted guides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Yangshuo Mountain Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat Hotel Yangshuo County
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat County
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat Hotel County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yangshuo Mountain Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.