We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eco friendly hotel, beautiful location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yangshuo Mountain Retreat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Yangshuo Mountain Retreat to your Saves list
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wang Gong Shan Jiao, Feng Lou Cun Wei, Gao Tian, Yangshuo County, China   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
3rd night free!
Ranked #5 of 368 Hotels in Yangshuo County
4.5 of 5 stars 657 Reviews
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Eco friendly hotel, beautiful location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This is truly a magnificent spot to soak in the scenery, relax away from the hustle that is China. We stayed for 3 nights in a room overlooking the river and the limestone mountains in-between our 2 week tour of China. Clean rooms, fresh sheets, balcony, A/C. Shower and toilet more than adequate. Toilet paper to be thrown in freestanding basket upon completion of movements (not in bowl) to preserve natural septic system. Took my Italian husband a little getting used too, but he managed! Guests were of European and American descent. Served good, not great, Chinese and western food in a beautiful old dining room. Outdoor seating for cocktails, chatting, card games. Overall, a really homey, comfortable place to de-stress. (Picnic, bike, hike,)

Room Tip: View of river
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    470
    143
    30
    13
    1
See reviews for
188
272
35
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We chose sto stay here during our China trip to have some quiet downtime for a few days. This place was just perfect for this. Very quiet in an eco friendly hotle right on the Yulong river. Our rooms overlooked the river and the magnificent Karstes. The staff were attentive and spoke very good english as owned by an American who married a local girl. You msu do the bamboo raft down the river and grab a bike from the hotel and ride along the river to small villages and see how the locals go about day to day life. The town of Yangshuo has some great shopping in West street and very good range of restaurants. Get your self a one hour foot massage in your room at the hotel for $A20.

Room Tip: Rooms 202 and 203 with balcony overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Outside the hussle and bustle of Yangshuo, this little inn on the bank of the Yulong River is big on service and spectacular views of the karst mountains towering over the valley. The rooms are well appointed, the service is superb, the chinese food great and local.

But don't be fooled, this resort is not for everyone. It's 8-km from any kind of store or nightlife, and the western food on the menu won't be the stuff you're used to. So if you want a contemplative beautiful spot with flawless service - this is the place. If you want a western hotel with all the amenities, including shopping and nightlife, you may want to go elsewhere.

I'll recommend this to all of my friends - because it suited me perfectly. It was relaxing, gorgeous and the view was awe inspiring. FYI, Some of the people staying there had small children, and they seemed to be doing well.

This place deserves to be rated at the top of all accommodation in Yangshuo.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed with my parents during Chinese New Year in this lovely resort. The service was really genuinely fantastic and always with a smile. There is only 10 rooms so even full you will always receive the same level of service. Rooms are well equipped and I advise you to book one with river view and balcony. It was a bit too cold for us to stay out in the evening but during spring of autumn it must be fantastic. Our room had a great view on the Li river and the mountain behind. We were able to rent bikes at very affordable prices for the day. The food in the restaurant is also very nice without being too pricey. You are able to order both chinese and western food.

Only weak points would be the reservation where prepayment is mandatory which is a bit a pain and also we booked tickets for the evening show and the organisation with the agent was quite messy. Fortunately my wife is chinese and the speaking the language was definitely and asset.

All in all a great experience even for my parents who flew from France for the holiday and are not used to "countryside China".

Room Tip: Definitely choose one with the view on the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

We visited here late last year and agree with the comments from other reviewers. We booked the wrong rooms but they were perfectly adequate next time I will ensure we get River view. This is not a luxury resort but gives you a wonderful experience in a beautiful setting. I rarely would give 5 stars but this one gets it. I live in Beijing so look forward to going back soon.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

My partner and I stayed here early October 2012, and I can happily say it was one of the highlights of our China holiday. We took a taxi from Guilin airport as it was Chinese National week and we didn't fancy fighting for buses. We were very glad we did as traffic ground to a halt near Yangshuo as the 2 lanes of traffic un-officially split into 5. Once we turned off down a side street and right into the sanctuary that is the Yangshuo Mountain Retreat we knew we'd picked the right place to stay.

The service was impeccable, every member of staff new our room number (even after we had changed rooms), so we just had to ask for food/drink and it would be automatically added to a tab for us. We did have a slight issue with being given a room without a balcony when we had ordered one, however whilst having breakfast the next day the manageress came and spoke to us and moved us to a balcony room.

Everything else about this place was top notch; great food, unbelievable views, fantastic service. We even had a foot massage by the river with coffee brought out to us!

Definitely stay here if you're passing through Yangshuo and can afford it, and Definitely make sure you have breakfast in the garden by the river each morning watching the bamboo boats go by.

Thanks everyone at the Yangshuo Mountain Retreat!

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

My friend and I stayed here during Chinese New Year in 2013 and thoroughly enjoyed the venue and the entire experience in Yanhgshuo. The lodge rooms were clean, comfortable and well heated. The lodge staff were super friendly and very knowledgable with hints and instructions on what to do and how to do it. The other guests were friendly and diverse. Wifi is available in the main lodge building and also in the rooms.
The resort is out of town, and you have to fight traffic jams in and out of town if traveling by car... But hey, this is Chinese New Year!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yangshuo Mountain Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yangshuo Mountain Retreat

Address: Wang Gong Shan Jiao, Feng Lou Cun Wei, Gao Tian, Yangshuo County, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Guangxi Zhuang > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Yangshuo County
#3 Family Hotel in Yangshuo County
#27 Best Value Hotel in Yangshuo County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Yangshuo Mountain Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat overlooks the pristine Yulong River and surrounding karst limestone towers in the heart of the Yangshuo countryside. We are one hour from Guilin, just down the road from Impression Liu San Jie and a quick ride to West Street. We are American owned and locally run, established in 2000. Our accommodation, food and staff, not to mention our beautiful surroundings are highly rated by Frommers and other trusted guides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Yangshuo Mountain Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat Hotel Yangshuo County
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat County
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat Hotel County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yangshuo Mountain Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.