We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Retreat in every sense of the word.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yangshuo Mountain Retreat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Yangshuo Mountain Retreat to your Saves list
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wang Gong Shan Jiao, Feng Lou Cun Wei, Gao Tian, Yangshuo County, China   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
3rd night free!
Ranked #5 of 367 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Retreat in every sense of the word.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

We recently stayed in Yangshuo Mountain Retreat on our honeymoon. It is a special place to stay right from the moment you arrive at the door and a smiling Bin Bin jumps out from behind the reception desk to greet you by name and direct you into the comfort of a comfy sofa and a warm log fire on the cold and damp night that we arrived. We were served delicious welcome drink of warm sweet ginger tea. We then tucked into some of their deloicious food before going to our room. The room we stayed in was a riverview room. very cosy with beautiful views each morning when you woke. The balcony off the room would be gorgeous i'm sure during the summer. All of the facilities are very clean and modern. The staff are always smiling and helpful. Their english is really good so no communication issues. The retreat is a taxi ride into the town of yangshuo and costs 30RMB. Yangshuo only really comes to life at night when the markets are on. But the surrounding towns and sights make it a good base for exploring. The light show in Yangshuo is a must see. I would however recommend booking it in town we booked it on the night of the show at 5.30 when show was due to start at 7.45 and got the 2nd level tickets for less than the quoted price for the lowest level seating. We booked it in a travel agent Guilin travel (i think) it is located on the pedestiran street. It is well worth shopping around a few places for the prices as they vary considerably.

Room Tip: The prices on their website are not up to date but they are quick to respond to your email with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    469
    143
    30
    13
    1
See reviews for
188
272
35
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southborough, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

The perfect place to stay to explore the countryside around Yangshuo. Yangshuo town is terribly crowded and shopping is dense with hectoring salespeople; visit it briefly and settle into paradise at the mountain retreat. We felt lucky to have stumbled upon it online.

However, some people would find this place too rustic. Lots of the property was open air even in rather brisk March. Our room had a heavenly view but no comfortable seating. The common lounge area was unheated but the bar had a roaring fire all day and guests were welcome to spend as much time there as they wished.

Staff spoke English which we appreciated, the restaurant was first-rate and reasonably priced, while onsite bicycle rental was easy and also reasonably priced. You could ride a bamboo raft from a little ways upriver (with or without a bike!) and get dropped off at the hotel. The hotel staff arranged transportation to and from Guilin airport.

Room Tip: ask for river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in March 2012 at one of the newer family rooms facing the river. Wonderful view from our beds and a lovely little balcony where you can sit and have a chat after the children have gone to sleep. Room was huge, with a double bed and single bed. Lovely comfy bedding with reading lights above both beds (strip light encased in a carved out bamboo - genius). There was a tv which we didn't utilise, kettle, thermos flask and 3 water tumblers for your use when you are out and about during the day which I thought was very thoughtful. No bath in the bathroom but they lent us a baby bath for our use during our stay. Loved the shower gel they provide in the wall mounted dispenser - they are natural herbal concoctions made by them and which they also sell in their little shop.
Towels weren't the thickest and fluffiest but clean and smelt fresh.
The restaurant downstairs was decent - we ate a lot of meals there as we have a pre-schooler and a baby. Lovely fireplace but you have to be early to stake a spot by it! Staff were absolutely lovely, they babysit your kids so you can eat in peace and genuinely seem to enjoy them.
The place is rustic but clean and so comfortable. And if you are planning a Yulong river bamboo raft trip, you can also get off right in front of the hotel if your baby decides he has had enough of being on the water. It is located outside Yangshuo which I think is actually a pro rather than a con - plus the little villages around the area are lovely. Lots of other guests at the hotel were biking around and there is a hotel shuttle bus to Yangshuo if you want to go to the town.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a Yulong river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremantle, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

Wonderful stay. Everything we'd read on TA was confirmed. Staff were warm and friendly and helpful in all ways. English great. Little Fish and her staff gave great tips for sightseeing and were able to organise efficient and inexpensive local transport, and were also available to translate by phone on the one occasion we struggled to locate the starting point of a river trip. Accommodation was clean, comfortable, environmentally friendly and gorgeous to boot. Views from the rooms were breathtaking and the envy of all friends stuck back in Australia. Food at the restaurant was tasty and very generous serves (spring rolls big). Ginger tea lovely. Despite it being winter we were able to fill in three days with interesting and relaxing activities. You do need to check what is on during winter, as quite a few of the normal things are not e.g. Impression Sanjie Liu (light show). The markets at Fuli were very interesting (but not for the faint hearted?! FULL range of meats available). If you're not up for bike riding, touring around the local area in a private car is affordable and allows you to see how the locals live their daily lives. Western style toilets can be difficult to find away from main areas. the walk up to the top of Moon Hill was well worth it for the view. Some brilliant local guides there - when I was there, an older lady followed me up and became absolutely indispensable to my climb - encouragement, drinks, chatter, good humour, and no attempt to rip me off whatsoever. I digress: main point was that Yangshuo Mountain Retreat was brilliant and is a great way to experience a completely different aspect of China.

Room Tip: River view superior king rooms - amazing views of river and karsts
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

We stayed at this excellent hotel in February 2012 and found the experience to be the outstanding part of our trip to China. The view from our first floor balcony room was like being in a Chinese painting with the skies and light continually changing and adding to the romantic atmosphere. We made two bicycle trips following the detailed maps provided by the hotel which gave us the opportunity to visit many rural villages and sights e.g. Moon Hill, Dragons Bridge.The staff arranged tickets for the Sanjie Liu "Impressions" show which was very impressive.The food was marvellous and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Superior king room provides an excellent view of the river and mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arlington, virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Yangshuo Mountain Retreat for 2 nights in February and I wished we had stayed longer . We had a superior room on the river. The view is magical, out of a Chinese painting. The room was cleaned with a comfortable bed. We loved the fresh home cooking. The staff was very friendly and professional. Sally, the receptionist always welcomed us with a smile.

Room Tip: Room with river view and upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, CA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Mountain Retreat. It was very different from the cities and hotels of the major spots in China. This is a rural and very beautiful area of China which has magnificent scenery. I've included pictures to provide a feel for the environment.
It was warm and humid in June so we didn't try to take a bikeride. We preferred to relax. I even took a quick dip in the river. I also had a foot massage on the lawn. It was remarkable, and amazingly inexpensive. The food is unusual and excellent.
I recommend a second floor room so you have a view. The rooms are airconditioned and have a balcony.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yangshuo Mountain Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yangshuo Mountain Retreat

Address: Wang Gong Shan Jiao, Feng Lou Cun Wei, Gao Tian, Yangshuo County, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Guangxi Zhuang > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Yangshuo County
#3 Family Hotel in Yangshuo County
#27 Best Value Hotel in Yangshuo County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Yangshuo Mountain Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat overlooks the pristine Yulong River and surrounding karst limestone towers in the heart of the Yangshuo countryside. We are one hour from Guilin, just down the road from Impression Liu San Jie and a quick ride to West Street. We are American owned and locally run, established in 2000. Our accommodation, food and staff, not to mention our beautiful surroundings are highly rated by Frommers and other trusted guides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Yangshuo Mountain Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat Hotel Yangshuo County
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat County
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat Hotel County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yangshuo Mountain Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.