We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lived up to its reputation....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Li River Retreat

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Li River Retreat to your Saves list
Li River Retreat
No.1 Shuang Village, Yangshuo County 541900, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 370 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wuhan, China
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Lived up to its reputation....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

We stayed here and very much enjoyed the hotel and the staff. The room was large and comfortable. The views from the room were great and from the rooftop, spectacular. Breakfast was very nice and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Wish we had stayed at the hotel and in Yangshuo at least a second night. The town and hotel were great.

Room Tip: I don't know if there is a bad room in this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    113
    20
    8
    6
See reviews for
106
206
29
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

A unique spot with fantastic views over the Li River, a quite hotel away from the chaotic Yangshuo.
We stayed a few nights, and it was a great break.
The staff is very helpful, the rooms are beautifully done and all of them have a very big terrace, and the food is pretty good (Chinese and Western).
We had a great time, walking around the river, eating outdoor overlooking the fruit gardens and the river and chatting in the restaurant with the guest and the owner with background chinese music.

Great hotel and fantastic people!

Room Tip: Pick a room on the third floor! Great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

We visited Yangshuo during Chinese New Year festivities, so the town was very crowded and hectic with tourists. Staying at the Li River Retreat was a nice break from the pace of the town, and the restaurant more than satisfied our needs for both Chinese and Western food. We had a great time chatting with Alf, the owner, who even helped us watch a live stream of the Super Bowl so we could feel connected to life back home. He was always around to help. The mountain view from the roof is spectacular at both sunrise and sunset. Other guests were a mix of nationalities, which was nice to see at such a busy travel time for the Chinese. Our room had been recently renovated, and Alf mentioned he had been putting a lot of time and work into upgrades. Free wi-fi throughout was an added bonus. If we're ever back in this area, we wouldn't hesitate to return to the Li River Retreat!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

My friend and I stayed here in December 2013. We had a wonderful time there and would highly recommend it.

First, this is a very nice hotel, but it is not a super-fancy 5 star hotel. It's a very nice, but if you are the type of traveler where luxury is first and foremost in your mind, then this may not be the place for you. That said, the facilities are nice, clean, and way more than I would need.

What makes this place great is the owner, Alf, and his staff. For example, we wanted to take a hike and Alf used google earth to show us some great places in the area. One night we stayed up late in the dining room area discussing politics with Alf and other guests (booze was involved). Those are just specific examples to highlight that this hotel creates a really nice community and is very welcoming.

The views are spectacular from the roof top and most rooms.

Room Tip: I would guess the higher rooms have the better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

I stayed at the hotel for 6 days with my boyfriend and his family over Christmas. I was a little worried at first because it was not going to be a traditional Christmas, and I didn't know what to expect. But my worries were gone as soon as I arrived at the hotel. The view from the hotel is breath-taking. It is located perfectly - away from all the noise in the city but close enough to get to the city by foot or taxi (by foot it is around 20min, taxi around 3 min).

The service was amazing. Both the owner and the girls at the hotel delivered class A service. They were so helpful in every aspect. The English level at the hotel is also very high (The owner is Australian/Spanish).

The food at the hotel was great. When I didn't feel like going out to the city, I just ordered great Chinese or Western food and enjoyed the view from the hotel. (please note their breakfast is AMAZING!)

I read in other reviews that the hotel is a little run down. Please don't worry. When we got there they had just finished renovating. The hotel was beautiful.

Overall we had a great experience, and we will for sure be back!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed at the retreat in late December 2013. It is a wonderful place and we can highly recommend it. We did splash out (by local standards) on their best room which was huge, very clean, nicely decorated with a large clean bathroom and a private balcony. It was still very good value for money by Australian or European standards. The view from our room was fantastic. The bed was very comfortable.
The staff were very friendly and looked happy with their jobs which is very important. We are usually sceptical about hotel food but the food and the service at the retreat were a pleasant surprise. We enjoyed having drinks and snacks at the terrace with the view that you can't get tired of. The hotel is located about 20 min walk from Yangshuo, close enough to walk (bring a torch if walking back late, there is a 10 min strectch in complete darkness) but a comfartable distance for piece and quiet away from the tourist shops. You can also catch a taxi back from Yangzhou for 30RMB if you don't feel like walking back at night.
The owner, Alf, is very friendly.
We would definetly come back if we happen to be in the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Stayed there some years ago not long after it opened..
Its run by Alf who has the Buffalo bar in central Yangshou.
I, like others, liked the place, and enjoyed my time there.
The walk back from Yangshou was nice in the evening.
Able to enjoy the still of the night with a drink overlooking the Li River below.
I splashed out when I stayed there had a fantastic room with private terrace.

I will return,next time I'm in Yangshou which will be in 2014

Room Tip: No pool or fitness centre when I was there. Have a room with private Terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Li River Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Li River Retreat

Address: No.1 Shuang Village, Yangshuo County 541900, China
Location: China > Guangxi Zhuang > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Yangshuo County
#6 Romantic Hotel in Yangshuo County
#19 Best Value Hotel in Yangshuo County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Li River Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Li River Retreat Hotel Yangshuo County
Li River Retreat Yangshuo County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Li River Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.