We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely family hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yangshuo Moon Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Yangshuo Moon Resort to your Saves list
Yangshuo Moon Resort
No.97 Licun, Moon Hill, Shili Hualang Scenic Area, Yangshuo County 541900, China   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 368 Hotels in Yangshuo County
4.5 of 5 stars 90 Reviews
Melbourne
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Lovely family hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2010

Wei Wei and her family made our stay in Yangshuo wonderful. She cooked us breakfast and lunch, organised tours for us and guided us around the countryside with bikes she provided. Just too easy!

The hotel's location was just outside the city and away from the noise and bright lights. The rooms were generous and gave brilliant views. The beds are rock hard but so are ever other bed in China!

I highly recommend this resort and I look forward to returning.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    23
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
15
26
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2010

We arrived at this resort late at night. It was not until we opened our curtains the following morning did we see the glorious setting of the hotel with views out to the karst peaks that dominate the surrounding area.

The hotel is located in Moon Village which is several miles outside of Yangshuo. It is located near to Moon Hill and fairly close to its access road although the road is quiet at night. There is also another building next to and slightly in front of the hotel which impedes views in one direction. However, it is still a wonderful setting. The location maybe a bit quiet for some people as the village does not have the bars and other attractions of Yangshuo town but we were happy with the peace and quiet at night time and enjoyed the easy access to the countryside during the day.

The room itself was spacious, had a television and air-conditioning which could be used to heat the room when it was cold. The bathroom did require a bit of maintenance and, as has been mentioned in previous reviews, there are squashed mosquitoes dotted about the walls even though an anti-mosquito device is supplied by the hotel which meant we did not experience problems with mosquitoes in the room.

We found the family to be extremely friendly and willing to give honest advice about tours. Food was excellent and everyone spoke good English.

For those who do not need to be surrounded by bars and other restaurants Moon Resort is hard to beat at the price with its wonderful setting and welcoming hosts..

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2010

This is a simple country inn and it was a wonderful experience. We spent our first evening meal sitting in the grapefruit orchard gazing up at the Karst mountains as the sun set, eating Derek's beer fish and I doubt we shall ever forget that night. My husband says that temples and pagodas have merged together in his mind but not that evening.

We can't say enough good things about WeiWei and Derek (not his Chinese name, of course) and their family. In the three weeks we spent traveling around China, nowhere else did we experience the level of service that this family provided. For example, Derek drove us back and forth to Yangshuo for the Light Show as well as arranged for a friend to buy our tickets and waited there for us, Wei Wei did two loads of laundry for us - all of this free of charge. When we went boating on the Yulong, we took a bus there, and when we got off the bus, a woman approached us. Ready to ignore her as one of the countless vendors, she caught my attention by saying, WeiWei and then proceeded to turn me over to someone else who took us down to the boats - all prearranged by our hostess so we wouldn't get lost!

Derek's cooking has been mentioned before. Let us add to the accolades. We have eaten in many fine restaurants. His cooking is excellent. Try the beer fish but try other things as well. This is the only place we got freshly squeezed orange juice.

We loved the scenery, we loved the family atmosphere, we loved the two toddlers running around and playing with them. I loved the opportunity to talk with the women and find out more about child rearing practices in this part of the world - one of my professional interests and to have my questions answered openly, and to hear their life stories. WeiWei arranged to have various family members accompany us on some of our walks/bus trips until we knew where we were going and that was terrific.

The price is fantastic - for the room, for the food, transportation, etc.

DIsadvantages: Others have mentioned Asian style shower. What that means is that there is no shower curtain and everything, and I mean everything gets very wet in the bathroom so you can't leave anything in there. The plumbing is primitive - a hole in the floor for the shower. There is a western toilet, but the drain for the sink is a pipe that goes into a noninsulated or closed off hole. We were there for 4 days and there was no cleaning of the room or the bathroom, just emptying the wastebasket. It was just March and not too hot yet but it got pretty humid in the bathroom and it never really dried out so the floor was pretty dirty by day 4. There is a screen on the window in the room so you could keep the mosquitoes out but you need to keep the door to your room closed as the downstairs doors are kept open. The room itself needed paint badly and there were little gouges all over the walls.

However, all in all, we loved it and will always remember these four days as one of the best parts of our trip.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2010

If you visit in January or February it may be cold and the only place to eat is on the patio. Also stairs and bathrooms may be wet since water does not evaporate. But, Wei Wei is very helpful and the food is very good. With Wi-fi! Short taxi ride to Yungshuo. Best part was seeing the Moon Hill village (with a market, birth and wedding celebrations, chickens in the street, garden plots all over town, cute kids). Also can walk to Half Moon mountain (watch out for the postcard ladies), the 1500 year old banyan tree, and Dragon Cave. Cooking schools in Yungshuo. One hour minibus ride to Gulin airport.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2010

Moon resort was everything we'd hoped it would be and more. It was a relaxing place in the country where you can experience a family-like atmosphere in a small country village. The locals are very friendly, the children and even 2 year old babies said hello each time we walked through the village.

It was a beautiful place, and Wei Wei was a wonderful hostess, and made us feel very welcome.

Food:

The food was awesome! Wei Wei and her husband were willing to cook for us and her kitchen was seemiingly always open whenever we wanted to order food. Try the fried rice noodles yangshuo style with a pot of jasmine tea and of course the beer fish! We had big western style breakfasts each morning with coffee or tea. The prices are very inexpensive! It was less than 5 USD for a big breakfast with drink included, and not too much more that that for lunch and dinner dishes.

Location:

The view is amazing, in a village surrounded by the peaks. Ducks, chickens and farm animals roam through the village.

We felt like we got to see a beautiful view of countryside life by staying in Moon village, even though it was not right next to the action of the town center, we ended up meeting other guests at moon resort and hanging out in the common areas chatting until late in the evening. (moon resort has beer and a bar as well!)

It was about 15 minutes from the Yangshuo city center, but we did not have any problems with the location. A bus runs by every 10 minutes, and it costs only 5 y (about 1 USD) for a short trip to town. To get home, you can take the bus, or if you want to stay out late on West street, there are taxis and motorbikes for hire late at night to take you home, just walk to tthe bus station and they will be waiting. Have Wei Wei write down the name of the hotel in chinese or bring the hotel card with you, and getting back even late at night shouldn't be an issue.

Rooms:
The rooms were big and spacious, and the feather comforters were very warm. The temperature was colder during our visit, but there was always a coal fire next to the tables downstairs and heaters in the rooms. The shower hot water did not run out and worked great! The room was very clean and comfortable with big windows, and the bathroom was big as well, but basic and clean (shower only).

Hospitality:

Wei wei knows the town and the locals, and can help you to plan your trip. She has bikes for 20 y a day (4 USD approximately), and she guided us by bike down to the water to put our bikes on a bamboo raft and go downstream. It was amazing!
She also helped us to be as comfortable and happy as possible during our stay. Her English is great!

Overall:
This was one of the most unique places we have stayed, and would reccommend it highly to anyone we know.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2009

If you go to moon resort expecting a western hotel, then you will be disappointed. If you go searching for an honest, human and personal experience, then you will be as pleased as we were. Wei Wei and her family provide guests with an exceptional level of care and humanity and is able to organize all of your activities for every budget. She shares all that she has...fruits, water, etc....and above all, leaves you with a piece of herself.

Despite being denied an education because of her gender, she taught herself English (her English is superb) and Mandarin and opened up her own little hotel. The food was amazing! The food comes in fresh from the gardens or local markets and is cooked with so much care by Wei Wei and her family. I particularly miss the yogurt with honey (honey milled from her father-in-law's bee farm) and the pomelos she peeled for me from her garden.

Travelers should beware, there is no heat, and it can get quite cold in the winter. But we bundled up and were fast asleep.

I would NOT recommend staying in the city center. Staying out at Moon helps you feel integrated into the Chinese countryside, while having a friendly guide to come home to and share your stories. If you want to make it out to the bars, then you can always catch the minibus for 2.5RMB to anywhere.

Again, if you're coming here expecting a holiday inn or mandarin oriental, then go stay in the city center above a loud bar. LOL. You can find one by waiting in front of the KFC. Otherwise, enjoy the generosity and hospitality provided by Wei Wei and the beautiful scenery abound.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2009

Very cold when we went here and that made it a bleak place indeed. Heating was inadequate so it was quite miserable. Wei Wei was extremely helpful so I'd rate the service highly. Judging by the other reviews it must be a great place when it's warm, but not when it is cold. The location must seem better in good weather, too.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yangshuo Moon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yangshuo Moon Resort

Address: No.97 Licun, Moon Hill, Shili Hualang Scenic Area, Yangshuo County 541900, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Guangxi Zhuang > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Yangshuo County
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Yangshuo County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moon Resort family hotel is the best place in MoonHill Village to enjoy YangShuo's Countryside. Between Karst peaks and rice paddies, our 15 comfortable rooms will offers you all the modern amenities (air-conditioning, private hot shower) plus a unique view on Chinese farmer's life. Our restaurant offers local and western meal and breakfast. Other facilities includes a lush covered courtyard, a laundry and internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Yangshuo Moon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moon Hotel Yangshuo County
Moon Resort Yangshuo County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yangshuo Moon Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.