We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was a great experience.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hidden Dragon Villa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hidden Dragon Villa to your Saves list
Hidden Dragon Villa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ji Wo Du Village, Big Banyan Tree Scenery Zone, Yangshuo County 541900, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 370 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“It was a great experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

Irene was the secretary and she was very helpful. It is a great hotel. The room was very nice and it's a great price. Every hotel has something it could work on and the shower would be it for this one (cold and sprayer). Besides that great view and service.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    39
    10
    3
    5
See reviews for
14
55
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

December 23, 2012

Being our first Christmas trip after moving to Beijing, Yangshuo County was on our to-do list as soon as we got here. Whilst planning the trip, we came across this gem of a place. We immediately booked our accomadation in September with the hopes of a green warmish spring-like Chirstmas. The rates for the Supreme Room were highy reasonable for a travelling family, and we were delighted with what we found there.

Unfortunately, much like travelling to Ireland or the U.K. in winter off-season, the weather turned after Christmas Eve Day from warm and sunny, to cold, damp and rainy. But as my wife, my 1.5 year old daughter and myself have spent time in Oban and Dingle during the winter, we were well prepared for that type of weather (we had also been warned in Beijing about this type of weather occurence happening). The first night there was a problem with the hot water, but by the next day it was fixed. On our second last night, the heater stopped working, but again, the problem was solved immediately and with grace and charm.

The staff was amazing at this place, helping to arrange tours into one of the cave sights, getting us back and forth into town, helping us find where to buy diapers and picking us up and dropping us off at Guilin Airport. In particular they very much helped to accomadate our toddler and were particularly ethusiastic and kind to her. The Christmas Day Bar-B-Q was really a class y move on their part.

The problem with this area is that from Spring to late Fall it is over-inundated with tourists from all the big cities and that to really get the chance to see the beauty of this place, you need to come in the winter when the tourists are not around. But understand that to come to Yangshuo and have the weather turn like it did on us, you have to persevere, and plow through to see the beauty of it and of Hidden Dragon Villa. For the price of the room at Hidden Dragon Villa and with the visual landscape that came with it, we have nothing but good things about it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

Booked into hotel with all the good reviews, whilst hotel is lovely, situated in a nice area, helpful staffs etc, but the experience of stay is so awful. Maybe it is just pure bad luck, we are basically freezed ! In the cold winter days, the hot water never real worked! Arrived and checked in late the first day and had to take a almost cold shower! The staff adviced that hot water will return after an hour due to some maintenance work etc. hot water was returned second morning and that is about it.hot water literally ran out with luke warm temp not sufficient for the winter coldness, and completely no hot water!

The reverse air conditioner in room also is not sufficient to keep the room warm but at least we are able to cope with putting on warm clothes but COLD SHOWERS in winter? Will definitely remember this hotel the first ever hotel stayed in without adequate hotel water !

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dragonvilla, Owner at Hidden Dragon Villa, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear friends,

Thank you for your comment. We are very sorry for the experience you met. I understand your feeling. As you mentioned, our hotel has a very nice location and helpful staffs. And we do have been improving ourselves day by day.

We acknowledge that the machine have some problems during your stay. As we know that accident happens any time. But we have already arranged a repairman to fix it right away while we realize it. We apologize that we didn’t let you know clearly about the problem of the machine at that time. And now we have 2 different machines to provide hot water in our hotel to make sure everybody will have enough hot water anytime, especially in winter.

For the air conditioner in room, some were old at that time and not sufficient to keep warm. But we have changed some old air conditions after that.

And we do appreciate your efforts for improving our hotel again. We will do our best in the future. Thanks a lot!

Hope to see you next time, and have a new good experience here.
Best wishes,

John & Hidden Dragon Villa family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandalay, Myanmar
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Initially had trouble deciding where to stay for a weekend in YangShuo. The Hidden Dragon was my first choice, so I went with it - proving to be a perfect choice. The rooms were cosy and clean. Mine looked onto the breathtaking scenery. Staff was very helpful, they took arranged all the excursions and took care of all my requests effinicently.Restaurant on the roof is a very nice place to sit and enjoy the beautiful scenery while having a meal.

Location; perfect.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here for three nights at the end of September. Our room looked directly onto fantastic scenery. We ate beer fish in the roof restaurant one evening and we had our breakfast there -- unfortunately, apart from our first afternoon, it rained constantly during our stay. Had the weather been better we would probably have spent more time sitting up there, admiring the panoramic views around the hotel. We enjoyed this hotel and the staff was very nice and helpful, and as mentioned, the view from the room was amazing.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

There were six people in our party, and we all had a really good experience. Like the other reviews stated, the staff was amazing. They really go out of their way to help you with anything. The view from the rooftop resteraunt and bar was unreal,it was a great place to sit and have some drinks after we had a really good supper.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harbin, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Our family came to visit us in China during the Chinese Fall holiday. We started in Beijing (bad idea during any holiday) then made our way to Yangshou for rest and relaxation. This hotel offered exactly that. The staff was very friendly and warm and willing to help. Their English was above par compared to many other Chinese. If you are looking for a 5 star hotel....this is not the place, but it was perfect for what we were looking for. The rooms were clean but aging (as to be expected). It would be comparable to an old bread and breakfast in the U.S. There is a sign in your room that says everything (art work, shoes, tea cups/tea pots) is for sale and to just ask for pricing. We received a gift upon entering the hotel, along with fresh fruit and water. We also received a gift when we left in order to wish us safe travels. The roof top restaurant and bar offered great views, a fairly well stocked bar (nothing crazy...but the essentials were available) and a fairly large menu along which combined Chinese and Western dishes. The room was clean with hard wood floors and crown molding with WiFi but No TV. The bathroom had western toilets and a leaky shower. The bathroom floor would be soaked after every shower. The rooms on the front side of the hotel had amazing views of the karst peaks. The hotel is about 5 km from down town Yangshuo but we loved that it was away from the hustle and bustle of the city. We toured with China Odyssey Tours so we did not have any trouble with transportation to and from the hotel because they picked us up and dropped us off at the hotel everyday. We all would recommend this hotel to others and if we ever come back to the Guilin/Yangshuo area we will stay here again. Again, this is not a 5 star hotel...more of a bed and breakfast.....but the beautiful scenery, homey feel and warm caring staff more than made up for the lack of swanky amenities. If you are looking for a relaxing, low maintenance vacation this place is for you.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hidden Dragon Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Dragon Villa

Address: Ji Wo Du Village, Big Banyan Tree Scenery Zone, Yangshuo County 541900, China
Location: China > Guangxi Zhuang > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Best Value Hotel in Yangshuo County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hidden Dragon Villa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
elegant Yangshuo hotel with Beautiful Legend, Perfect Location, Elegant Architecture in the style of Ming and Qing Dynasties and Great Roof Garden Dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hidden Dragon Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidden Dragon Villa Hotel Yangshuo County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hidden Dragon Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.