We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cold Weather, Warm Hearts” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hidden Dragon Villa

Save Saved
You added Hidden Dragon Villa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hidden Dragon Villa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ji Wo Du Village, Big Banyan Tree Scenery Zone, Yangshuo County 541900, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 300 hotels in Yangshuo County
Manila
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cold Weather, Warm Hearts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

First time to China - we stayed here for one month (Feb. to March 2012) teaching English to the staff, exploring the area on the first leg of our honeymoon.

Highlights - Very friendly and youthful staff (get to know them!) who go out of their way to connect you with local culture and make your stay more enjoyable; the food was delicious (although some of the Western dishes are not what you'd expect). Try the Curry Chicken or Gong Bao if you like it spicy!; it's close to almost every activity available in Yangshuo; the building itself does have its own charm.
Downsides - Constant bamboo raft offers near the hotel (we stubbornly resisted just for spite), other offers can be a bit annoying after a while as well; a few power outages and construction, although it was in the off-season; beds in China, and Asia in general, can be somewhat uncomfortable if you're used to the Western "standard"; and make no mistake - the weather is COLD this time of year, so be prepared!

Don't expect everyone you meet to understand English, you're in China.

It was truly the staff that made this hotel stand out amongst the others in the area. :)

P.S. If you find yourself on West St. in Yangshuo town, drop by Harmony Cakes Bakery. You won't regret it!

Room Tip: Rooms can either face the village (read: "other buildings"), chickens and a few karst moun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    35
    9
    3
    4
See reviews for
13
52
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bern, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

The hotel is located in the beautiful landscape of Yangshuo county nearby the Yulongriver. To reach the hotel is a 5 to 10 minute drive by bus or taxi from Yangshuo. A lot of attractions were around the hotel and it's easy to explore them by bike. In the hotel restaurant they serve good local specialities and western food for a good price. The Rooms are big, nice and in good value for money. The stuff is very friendly and familiar. So when we go back to Yangshuo, we know were we stay....

Room Tip: Every room is good, but if it's possible take one with riverview!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

We appreciated the friendly and personal attention from the staff who did their very best to accommodate our needs, despite local power interruptions. THe meals were good, with a variety of choices and the room which looked out to the mountains warm in the middle of winter! THe hotel is close to transport and within walking distance to some special sites. WE found this hotel a welcome change from large and impersonal chain hotels. A great place from which to see some of the magnificent scenery on offer.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

This is a gem of a hotel a stone's throw away from Yangshuo with some stunning views over some rice paddies and the renown beautifull mountains. The hotel itself was adequate, very reasonable for the money however in that sweltering heat a more affective aircon would have been welcome. When it come to the staff, we would love to thank them for their wonderful assistance, we had a biking accident and needed some hospital care immediately and the staff assisted us all the way, came to the hospital with us to help translate and ensure we get the care we needed. I can honestly say that they went out of their way to assist us with an emergency - thank you!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

Let me say right up front that I am a picky traveller. Although the views from the front rooms and rooftop eating area are lovely, the building is not. It is sectioned into three parts. The left is empty but piled high with unused furniture that stares at you from dirty windows. The middle is Hidden Dragon and the right is Camelia Resort (a delightful, clean, charming little place not listed by Trip Advisor). Unbagged Garbage was piled up on either side of the front door. We needed to negotiate the ox poop on the dirt road at the front door. Our room was dark, dingy, the bathroom was terrible, the bed was 4 inches from the floor. Breakfast on the roof for the view not the food. The staff is friendly but this is not a service oriented motel. If you like to travel on the cheap, and we all do at times, this may be your spot. The photos are misleading. Frankly, it would be a 2 star, at most, in the USA. Someone needs to try the Camelia Resort in the same building. By the way, the word "resort" is used as a synonym for any lodging at all the China.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the building for best views of the farmland, oxen and mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

Very nice place to stay if you want to runaway from crowed city. Very relaxing place for holiday. We stay in this hotel in after national day of China. Not so crowed and that just nice. The staff are very friendly and helpful. I love their restoran food very much. This taste even better than outside well known restaurant. y wife love their cheese cake the most. Our daily breakfast for sure will stay at the root troop restaurant with ficinsating view. Love it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

Our room was at the front with amazing views. Large, comfortable, quiet (all rooms are around a small central courtyard), nicely done traditional decoration. It is not far from the town and taxis are cheap. Staff were consistently friendly and spoke good English. Roof top bar has stunning views, and meals were consistently good. We loved our stay here and would not hesitate to recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: You have to get a room at the front for the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hidden Dragon Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Dragon Villa

Address: Ji Wo Du Village, Big Banyan Tree Scenery Zone, Yangshuo County 541900, China
Location: China > Guangxi Zhuang > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Best Value Hotel in Yangshuo County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hidden Dragon Villa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
elegant Yangshuo hotel with Beautiful Legend, Perfect Location, Elegant Architecture in the style of Ming and Qing Dynasties and Great Roof Garden Dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip DaoDao, Tingo, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your Hidden Dragon Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidden Dragon Villa Hotel Yangshuo County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hidden Dragon Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.