We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly located quit and comfortable Hotel. The place to stay in Yangshuo!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Morning Sun Hotel

Save Saved
You added Morning Sun Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Morning Sun Hotel
No.4 Chenzhong Road, Yangshuo County 541900, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 300 hotels in Yangshuo County
Beucha, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfectly located quit and comfortable Hotel. The place to stay in Yangshuo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

I regularly travel to Yangshuo since 5 years and I always chose the Morning Sun Hotel. It is well located and very very comfortable. Already before the renovation this year it was a peaceful oasis in the heart of Yangshuo. The beds are amazingly comfortable and the bathroom is sooo nice! The staff speaks very good English, you can have breakfast inside the hotel, enjoy laundry service and get all the information neccessary for a wonderful stay in Yangshuo. On the new rooftop you can enjoy the scenery of the specific karst mountains in and around Yangshuo. The Li river is just 5 minutes away from the Morning Sun Hotel. Bank and post office and anything else you need on your trip is easy to reach. I am looking forward to my next stay in Octoberalready!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    29
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
16
18
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

Of all the hotels I stayed in China I loved this quaint hotel, the staff were polite, the decor enchanting, the rooms cleaned every day, close to parks, markets, sites. It's small and homely. The location is a magnet for tourists, but the locals are still very much into sharing their culture and fully embracing others as is evident in the many differing cuisines on offer locally. I stayed here on route as part of a 21day tour of China it was week 2 and such a welcome resting place.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

it was really a nice experience.
traveling with a baby was not easy, but the lovely room was a nice and clean place to be ending our days.
the location is perfect, and the stuff speaks english really well.
thank you guys.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

I had a fabulous stay at the Morning Sun Hotel. My experience in this hotel was just perfect. First of all, the location is ideal, i.e. in the heart of the city but in a quite street at night. The quality of the rooms was the second nice surprise: clean, nicely decorated, very comfortable beds and impressive bathrooms, not to mention the great views on the mountains on the higher floors. But what made my overall experience so unique, are the people running the hotel. They are just lovely and will go the extra mile to make your stay enjoyable. They will arrange tours for you, help you to book tickets or even massage, accompany you to the right bus, give you travel tips, and even act as your guide for a breath taking bicycling tour in the country side (thanks May!). The hotel really left like home to me during me stay in Yangshuo. I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

It was like an adventure to come to Morningsun Hotel after a long trip, and it was very helpful staff and big, clean rooms, and an "amazing" bathroom.
It`s in the center of Yangshuo, and I recomend this for everyone who want the extra.
Nice price and all in all, very good experience. Thanks to Julia and the rest of the staff who make our stay so good, and we are coming back, for sure.

Room Tip: you can feel the life from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YaPiao C, Owner at Morning Sun Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Thanks so much for the nice review. I'm very happy you had such a wonderful time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issoire, France
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

If the exterior of the building and its king size staircase has not been subjected to any major renovation, the rooms are now an amazing combination of tradition and modernization.
Particular attention has been paid to the bathroom facilities which, separated from the main room by huge glass walls, are the best even the most difficult traveler could wish. Full size bath and / or showers are well placed in spacious areas and are an open invitation to relaxation and farniente.
The bedrooms are large and many have a balcony either overlooking the quiet mountains or the more busy front side offering a pleasant view on the tourist activities.
The beds are large and of excellent quality and the overall decoration of the rooms is simple, relaxing and tasteful.
A large terrace on the top floor offers a great view on the karst mountains which surround the little town of Yangshuo.
The location of the Morning sun hotel is one of the best in Yangshuo – close to the very busy and sometimes very noisy West Street, but at the same time far enough from the noisy center to insure a quiet night and a good rest after an exciting day.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YaPiao C, Owner at Morning Sun Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
In fact the exterior did have major renovation too in that we added a new floor (12 rooms) and repainted the old parts. But you are correct, our main effort was in the rooms and especially the bathrooms. They are now very modern and probably the best in Yangshuo. And we're still adding painting from our art gallery to the rooms so that they should be even nicer when you return. Oh, and of course the rooftop area is all new and has wonderful views.

Thanks for the nice review,
Frances
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

We had a fabulous stay at the Morning Sun, which was simple, comfortable, and had a great location near West Street. The hotel was clean with western bathrooms. As a family traveling with two kids, age 5 and age 7, we took a triple. It was very spacious and was a welcome retreat at a much smaller hotel room in Beijing.! There was a huge covered balcony with a table and chairs that ovelooked the street and nearby mountains. It really acted as a second room. My husband and ate a couple of meals there in the evening after our kids went to sleep. The owner was very knowledgeable and set up many tours for us around the area (mud caves, Li River Cruise, cormorant fishing, rice fields, bamboo raft on Dragon River and Shagri-La tour). Most of the staff spoke good English and could direct us to good restaurants and shops. We even had our laundry done while we were there--it was inexpensive and they did a good job. While there was no pool on the property, the owner arranged for us to use another hotel's pool for a small fee. Thank you Frances!!! We will always remember our trip and your hospitality!!

Room Tip: Ask for something in the front--on third floor. Corner rooms have larger balconies. Noise wasn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YaPiao C, Owner at Morning Sun Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
Thanks for the nice review. It's always nice when families travel and have adventures together. We pride ourselves in being a family friendly hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Morning Sun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morning Sun Hotel

Address: No.4 Chenzhong Road, Yangshuo County 541900, China
Location: China > Guangxi Zhuang > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in Yangshuo County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The MorningSun Hotel's spacious rooms and ultra modern bathrooms truly set us apart from any other hotel in Yangshuo. Please check out the pictures to see for yourself. Completely remodeled and unscaled in 2012, the MorningSun Hotel is family owned and operated since 2002. With its superb location in the heart of Yangshuo, just off the very popular West Street, you can get away from the noise and still enjoy easy access to the many fine shops and restaurants Yangshuo has to offer. The hotel has elegant classical styling and is organized around a central atrium. You can expect a personal touch often missing in larger places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Morning Sun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morningsun Hotel Yangshuo County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morning Sun Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.