We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Imperial City Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Imperial City Hotel to your Saves list
Imperial City Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.9 Binjiang Road, Yangshuo County 541900, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #160 of 370 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Ciudad de México, Distrito Federal, Mexico
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Yangshuo is a very beautiful place, I think this hotel is well located, I really love the views from the balcony. The room was regular, didn´t´have any problems. I liked to stay at night at the balcony having a beer and playing cards with the people I met from Gadventures tour.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    7
    5
    7
    7
See reviews for
6
2
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

This dump is in a convenient location. Handy for the water front and shopping. But it is still a dump. The decor is straight out of the 1930s and this is not meant as a compliment. The rooms smell and the entire hotel is an unpleasant place to spend any time. Intrepid should speedily eliminate this as one of their places to stay.

Room Tip: There is none ,. . the entire place is a cesspool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teesside
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Stayed here as part of the Intrepid Travel China tour. This was a dingy poorly lit hotel with old stairways carpet and a strong odour on entering the bedroom each time. Toilet blocked on 2 occasions.

The location is however fantastic, with terrace views of the river and Karst mountains. Shopping streets and bars within 1 minute walk from the hotel.

Yangshou is definitely a party town with more than enough activities to keep one active.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

This hotel is in a marvellous location if you enjoy the hustle and bustle of Yangshou being played out in the street below. The traders pack up late and are back early in the morning, so if you are after peace and quiet it would be best to look elsewhere. The biggest problem with this hotel is the attitude of the staff. The housekeeping station at the top of the first flight of stairs was almost permanently manned, whilst all around you piles of dirty sheets were waiting to be bagged up and collected. My companions had to negotiate stained mattresses leant against the walls of their corridors, piles of cleaning equipment (which I suspect that hadn't been used recently) I was lucky and had sole use of a family on the top (roof) floor which had amazing views of the river and the best air con that I have ever had in any hotel. My companions had worse experiences of their rooms with smelly sinks/showers and mould ridden bathrooms. We even worked out that the house cleaning staff who emptied the bin were simple tipping the contents of the litter bin straight out onto the balcony roof rather Than dispose of it properly. The staff on the front desk were usually too busy watching television or on their computers to even notice anything that was happening around them. My lasting memory will be the amount of dirt on the carpets and dust on every surface. I feel very sad for this hotel because it could be a great place to stay. I really hope the owner reads their reviews, gets their staff to do the job they are paid to do and stops using misleading advertising which inevitably leads to disappointment.

Room Tip: Pot luck. Be prepared for anything. No consistency between standards of rooms. Sense of humour requi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury East, South Australia
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Of all the hotels I have stayed in and of all the hotels that were used in China, the Imperial City hotel would have to be the worst. The hotel is located on the river and the whole establishment had a damp smell and feel. The front foyer is shared with over a dozen fish tanks set up for aquatic fish massage which only makes the foyer even more damp. The front staff speak very little English and the use of an apt on your iPad or phone is a must. Yangshuo is a tourist destination,directly out the front of the hotel steps is a market that starts around midday and packs up around 11 pm every night. There is a super mart next door to the hotel and another on the road to the left of the hotel. Smoking is through out the hotel and can be smelt on every floor. The hotel does not have wheel chair access at the front and there is no lifts installed only stairs. The carpet in the hotel is passed its use by date and should be replaced as it is worn and damp. The rooms are small and the beds are like trying to sleep on a wooden plank. There is no fridge or safe in the rooms. The bathroom did not have a shower enclave only a shower head sticking out of the wall that flooded the bath room floor. There was no view from the window to speak of. The hotel is close to some good restaurants and one street away from the bar scene. Turn to the right from the hotel front and the next street is full of vendors and a lot like bangala road in Phuket with out the Gogo girls, madness street. I can not recommend this hotel, try some others as there are plenty to choose from.

Room Tip: Look around first before choosing this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

We stayed at the Imperial City Hotel as part of a G Adventure Tour Aug 2013. First impressions were not great, we were given rooms that was like a backpackers, the room was not finished the sliding door to the outside was hard to lock, the bathroom was so small you could not sit on the toilet properly as there was not enough space for your legs! And the shower was over the toilet. They had authentic murals painted on the walls. This room faced a busy bar street which was noisy until about 2am. And yes the store selling the flutes... OMG! We complained and were eventually given another room, inside the hotel, on first look it was much better as long as you did not look at the big damp patch on the wall or on the ceiling! The shower was large with a nice rose shower and lots of hot water. Neither room had a safe or a fridge. The hall ways were dirty and unkempt, the carpet was rucked in place, a right trip hazard. There was a balcony which gave a lovely view of the River Li. The only plus was the free wifi, and its location close to River Li and the market.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

I don't know where to begin...
the room smelled, it was not clean, it was depressing in any possible way....
to make things even worse there was a store selling flutes under our window so we had the most annoying music all night.
Just don't stay here...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Imperial City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial City Hotel

Address: No.9 Binjiang Road, Yangshuo County 541900, China
Location: China > Guangxi Zhuang > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #160 of 370 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Imperial City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Ctrip TA so you can book your Imperial City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Imperial City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.