We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel basic, but great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Regency Holiday Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Regency Holiday Hotel to your Saves list
Regency Holiday Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.117 West Street, Yangshuo County 541900, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #81 of 367 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Hotel basic, but great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

There is no lift and no wifi! Rooms are very basic
But the location in in the middle of town. At the end of the very busy shopping street Oposite kfc and mc. Donalds. Breakfast is simple for western food. Staff is extreem lazy. They are hiding/sleeping behind the reception all the time..you hv to ask for bellboys, as there is no lift.
I have to say, was afraid for sleepless night, but noise was reasonable till 1am due to double glass.
But my room was at the side, with balcony..

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    36
    11
    10
    6
See reviews for
4
13
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Don't expect any modern amenities in this hotel. Very worn out and old hotel. One advantage is the hotel is situated at one end of the busiest entertainment district in Yangshuo. For this price, it is worth staying regardless of the lack of amenities and service.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

Yes the beds are a tad hard but overall the hotel is so well located that this is easily overlooked. We were somewhat dreading the noise emanating from the Street below after checking in mid afternoon but come midnight all activity stopped allowing a peacefull nights sleep. The rooms are clean and fairly basic but I can't fault the hotel. Accommodation is somewhat limited but I don't think you can go wrong in spending a few nights at the Yangshuo Regency.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed here for three nights and, having read some of the very negative reviews, felt compelled to defend it. The hotel is what it is ... a three star CHINESE hotel at the top of a busy street in a popular town. If you want five star luxury, then pay for a five star hotel. If you want peace and quiet then stay a couple of kilometres outside town. And if you want English speaking staff and English food then take your holiday in Devon or Cornwall. The hotel isn't perfect but we found it to be perfectly fine for a few days. Maybe we were lucky or maybe it was because we were travelling out of season (early Nov) but we weren't bothered by the noise. We requested a quiet room at the rear of the hotel so sacrificed a balcony with views of the peaks. We had a little bit of noise from a factory or business of some description behind but it never kept us awake. The breakfast was more than adequate. There was a comprehensive buffet of Chinese style food or, if requested, the staff would bring bacon, eggs, toast & jam, fruit, etc to our table. There was no excuse to go hungry. The staff were never anything other than friendly. It's a shame they don't provide wifi (free or paid for) but there is a PC terminal in the reception area that is free to use and most of the bars and cafes in the area offer free wifi in return for the price of a cappucino. If you want a base that is central to Yangshuo and offers good value then this may be it.

Room Tip: If you want a view of the peaks ask for a room at the front - but take your ear plugs if travelling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We booked a 'View Room" - and indeed there was one. I had stayed at this hotel several times some years back and was quite impressed with the place. On this occasion, the first night (Room 207) was fine from some points of view - but it was raining and so West Street that the hotel overlooks on one side was quiet. The wallpaper was peeling, the air conditioning was dodgy at best and the switch fell out of the power point. But come the second night, a band of troubadors armed with monstrous amplifiers aimed not only at the restaurants below but also at all the west street windows began their monotonous ditties. Surely, they'd finish at 10, I thought. Then, surely at 11. Finally, off to the front to discover when the cacophony would cease and when sleep might be possible Maybe some time after 12, the gal replied. And so I demanded a room change (Room 227). At midnight, it was quieter than the West Street room but at 5 a.m., it seemed the main road traffic was coming through the very room. And the air conditioning didn't work. The room was as hot as hell. The following morning, I frogmarched the manager through the hotel in search of a quiet room - but the sad fact is that their rooms face West Street on one side, the main traffic street on another and factories and other noisy facilities on the third side. Finally, we found a room (304) with a 'view' of a blank wall which offered respite from the noise. The place is run down and now obviously caters primarily to Australian and Chinese tour groups who don't know what they're in for but who only stay one night anyway. The mangement is aware of this - as so many Chinese managements are - and they know there are millions of innocents to follow. The manager said Yangshuo had changed. But,sadly, it is obvious the hotel had not. No double glazing that would have ameliorated much of the noise. But new wallpaper, double glazing, general repairs are not catered for in this hotel's budget. My advice to the independent traveller who has a choice, as opposed to those at the mercy of tour operators, is go somewhere else. The Manager felt he had trumped me when he flourished my booking. 'You asked for a View room', he said, I agreed 'But not with half a dozen amplifiers aimed at the window each night until midnight or beyond." The hotel is a disgrace.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere. There are plenty of hotels in Yangshuo. This one should be last on your list.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

I stayed here as part of an inclusive tour so I don't know how much the room cost but whatever it was it wasn't value for money.

Convenient location but appalling facilities - not even any complimentary drinking water!

Toilet was blocked on arrival, no mini-bar/fridge (pretty essential in Chinese summer climate). No internet. Uneatable breakfast.

My tour company justified it on grounds of central location and convenience but there were other fine hotels nearby. My room overlooked the main square and I had karaoke and amplified buskers in the street below entertaining me until 2.00 am. Needless to say the double glazing was ineffective.

Room Tip: Very noisy if you overlook the main square
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BremertonWA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Try not to complain but we experienced the following in July of 2012:
Very unreliable air conditioning - off for long periods in an extremely hot city
Poor light in room to read at night
No refrigerator which we had in all other hotels - need to keep your own water on hand
Ran out of toilet paper - they furnished so little to begin with and didn't replenish - we didn't notice until it was too late
No chairs in room - only the bed
Didn't refurbish water - we bought but had counted on some for brushing teeth in room
Poor information provided at front desk - English is very limited

Looks like other experienced some of the same problems. Too bad because the location is very good but not worth the other drawbacks.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Regency Holiday Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regency Holiday Hotel

Address: No.117 West Street, Yangshuo County 541900, China
Location: China > Guangxi Zhuang > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 367 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Regency Holiday Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Regency Holiday Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Yangshuo County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Regency Holiday Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.