We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hole in the rock” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Moon Hill

Moon Hill
8 km from Yangshuo, Yangshuo County, China
Improve this listing
Visit Moon Hill like an insider
Private Tour
$1,615*
and up
6-Day Best of Southern China Private Tour: Hong...
Attraction details
Fargo
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“hole in the rock”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

moon hill is a tourist attraction because of the unique hole shaped in the rock hill. lots of big tourist buses stop here.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    157
    89
    17
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Great hike, though nearly impossible not to buy a drink from a vendor who try to keep up.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We chose to be amused with the ladies and their coolers who tried to keep up with us and kept asking us to slow down and then we promised to buy a drink on our way down. Once we reached the hollowed out half moon area, we continued hiking to the very top of the karst for some stunning views.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“One word "Spectacular"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

There are a few ways you can get out there to see the magical MOON HILL, You can rent a taxi, you can organize a tour through your hotel or travel agent in town but I think the best way of getting out there is to rent a bicycle and ride out there! it isn't that far and the scenery on the way is just "spectacular" there are a few attractions you can stop at to break up the journey. My favorite was the strawberry fields, where you can just pick the strawberries yourself and pay by the weight. Once you get to moon hill there is an entrance fee and a lot of steps to the arch but it is well worth the effort. A lot of people find the touts annoying but remember they carry water a soft drinks for when you get thirsty! I found that I was huffing and puffing all the way up but these drink ladies just strolled passed me with a big box full of drinks, not a bead of sweet on there brow! Once under the arch you can have a rest and be amazed by the size and view from here but this is just the beginning! Go through the arch and to the left and there is a path that leads to the very top of this amazing arch, there you will be rewarded with the most spectacular and amazing 360 degree views of Yangshuo's beautiful Limestone karsks. The only downside at this point is the realization that you you can't stay at this amazing spot on the planet forever and have to at some point descend back down. This is a must do on your trip to Yangshuo and will never be forgotten even after old age dementia sets in.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kas, Turkey
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“I managed it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

fantastic views when you finally get to the top - hard work but well worth it. Hawkers at the bottom were both annoying and persistent.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiburon, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A tough climb”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Be warned. There are over 800 steps but you will be rewarded with spectacular views from the top. Worth a trip if you can handle the hike.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moon Hill also viewed

Yangshuo County, Guangxi Zhuang
Yangshuo County, Guangxi Zhuang
 
Yangshuo County, Guangxi Zhuang
 

Been to Moon Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moon Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.