We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crazy owner who is desperate for money” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Huating Holiday Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Huating Holiday Inn to your Saves list
Huating Holiday Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.18 Pantao Road, Yangshuo County 541900, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 367 Hotels in Yangshuo County
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Crazy owner who is desperate for money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2011 via mobile

Holiday Inn is in a very good location. We were also pleased with the receptionist who were able to communicate with us in English. Our stay in the hotel was very pleasant until we met the owner. On our last day, we asked for half day extension so our check out time was 6pm. At exactly 6 pm, we opened the door to our room and started bringing out our luggages. We were 4 adults and we had 1 child with us. My mother in law who went with us is old already and one eye blind. We were carrying 5 Luggages and a stroller. It took us 10 mins to reach the lobby with all the Luggages and while assisting my mother in law and my 3 year old son. We were on the 3rd floor so by the time we reached the lobby, it was already 610. The crazy owner was charging us full day for it. She also charged us 5 yuan per towel because the towels looked dirty. Of course we used the towels and the towels are not really brand new when they gave it to us. My mother in law had the wash to towels herself just to show them that it can be washed because it was really stupid to charge your customers for using the towels. Overall, I WILL NOT recommend this hotel. THE OWNER WAS REALLY DESPERATE FOR MONEY and will do anything just to earn extra. Too bad the location was really good.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    9
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
3
7
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2010

We walked in to this hotel without reservations and luckily managed to get a room on one of the busiest holidays in China (but had to spend 2 nights in one room, and one in another which was fine). Our first room had a queen bed, our own computer, TV (no English channels) and glass bathroom. Room smelled mildew-ish, there was obvious water damage on the wall by the shower. Carpet needed a good shampoo but overall our sleep was comfortable for the most part - we did overlook a parking lot beside the hotel and with the exception of the holiday day, it was largely empty and quiet. Our second room had two twin beds and a much better bathroom, no water damage or funny smell. Had a bit of a problem with the language barrier of the staff but were saved by the delightful manager of the hotel who could speak perfect English and was able to help us with just about everything we needed including booking us flights onwards. The location is great, about 5 to 10 minute walk away from the main drag of the walking street and fairly quiet, away from the noisy street and nightlife.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shenzhen
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2010

we had a wonderful stay at the Huating holiday inn in Yangshuo.
we just back from yangshuo which we loved and stayed at huating holiday inn.we stayed here two nights at May, it's a great hotel,the free internet in the lobby worked well,the staff were friendly. and the small garden on the secend floor was so beatiful.the room was wonderful i love my room is so quiet and clean.
overall.Huating holiday inn is a must stay in Yangshuo.I'll come back.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chengdu
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2010

Arrived at the hotel and have to say I was very dissapointed. First problem was they wouldn't accept my credit card, even though it was the same card used to guarantee the room. Overall, I found the hotel staff to be very unfriendly compared to other hotels in Yangshuo or China in general. The bathrooms were incredibly small and for some reason one wall of the bathrroom is a large window looking in to the hotelroom so you can forget any privacy in the shower/toilet. The room wasvery damp and there was mold on the walls and carpet. We had picked what they call the "view room" thinking we could see the city, but the view was of a small courtyard and if you actually had the curtains open, every other "view room" had a clear view into your room.

On the plus side, the location is very good, but IMO the downsides outweigh this and there are a number of other hotels nearby .

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2010

I stayed in Huating Holiday Inn around easter 2010 and chose it initially due to many other resorts being full for the time. I had read about the hotel in advance so I had good expectations and the hotel didn't let me down. The hotel was in a fairly good location right next to a mountain and close to the core of Yangshuo. The only downside was the traffic noise coming through the windows, but that was to be expected.

The service was really good and friendly although I feel that one portier lured us to go to a fairly expensive restaurant when we asked him for recommendations. We had a broken toilet which was fixed without any delay. The rooms were quite spacious, clean and furnished with taste and the only thing I was kinda missing was a fridge.

In general I'd give the hotel props for it's location, service and rooms and I would recommend it for people traveling to Yangshuo although there is plenty to choose from.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beijing, china
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

Although visiting Yangshuo and seeing its natural beauty (and lively streets, too) would be enough to make a visit there worthwhile, the staff at this hotel made it even better. They were incredibly nice, even after a snafu with our online reservations temporarily cancelled our reservations--they promptly found us another room and even offered to upgrade us when a larger one became available. There are several English-speaking staff members, including one woman who is fluent, and they arranged local transportation and trips for us--all went smoothly. The hotel is also very nice, clean, and in a great location.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shenzhen
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2010

convenient location,close to bus stop of yangshuo, hotel facility very good,such as
air conditioner,kettle,hair drier and etc all in good condition,Simple and archaistic decorate, roomily and clearly
like very much.comfortable stay,nice rate,highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Huating Holiday Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huating Holiday Inn

Address: No.18 Pantao Road, Yangshuo County 541900, China
Location: China > Guangxi Zhuang > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 367 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Huating Holiday Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Huating Holiday Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Huating Holiday Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.