We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“only good thing was the view” 1 of 5 stars
Review of New West Street International Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added New West Street International Hotel to your Saves list
New West Street International Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.68 Pantao Road, Yangshuo County 541900, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #154 of 370 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Manhattan, Kansas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“only good thing was the view”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

We stayed at this hotel with China Focus tours. The only good thing was the view. The carpet had stains and the staff were unhelpful. The glass walled bathroom is great for "design" but totally impractical. The hotel was not in a great location. You had to take a cart to get to a part of the city that offered more things to do. I did not feel comfortable outside the hotel at night. Fortunately we were only there for one night. China Focus tried to claim this as a 5-star but they overrated all their hotels. You are better off staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    17
    15
    8
    6
See reviews for
10
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
North, South Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

One night was enough. Hotel is on a busy street, you have to take a golf cart to get from this hotel back to the main shopping street. The room had filthy carpet, thin towels, box spring and no mattress. No western breakfast, not even cereal. It did have free wifi and a nice area out back with a pool, tennis court and small garden area. Nice view from back of hotel. Must have a back room, lots of traffic noise out front.

Room Tip: get a room in on the back side
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

The hotel lobby looks grand. The rooms are okay but there is a glass partition with the bathroom which seemed very odd. Of course there is a curtain which can be pulled; but it is outside in the bedroom side, so the person inside the bath has no choice! We felt very odd with this arrangement.
The breakfast buffet was very basic. There was only hard boiled egg; no omlet or scrambled eggs and no cereals either. Moreover when we asked for another tea-bad to make a stronger tea, the steward said we will have to pay an additional 3 Yuan; very embarassing indeed.
Comparing to other places we stayed in our tour of China, this was the most stingy place. I feel the management lacks international tourist exposure.

Room Tip: Avoid road-side rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2011

You enter a stunning marble lobby. Rooms are of normal size ,look good at first glance.Dark wood panels with golden inlays. The bed is good. There is a glass wall to the bathroom and unfortunately every time you enter the bathroom very bright lights together with a noisy fan go on automatically- not practical at all. Early in the morning trucks on the busy road make a lot of noise.
Service is non-existent. there is no bar, but a corner with chairs where drinks could be served. In the afternoon our chinese friends asked that in the evening we could sit down and drink a bottle of wine. At that hour they agreed. In the evening it was denied. But the worst was breakfast experience. Quite dirty tables, poor choice. And they clos down very early, immediately when the large tour groups left.
Alltogether not recommended.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2010

My wife and I spent 1 night here after we spent the previous night at the Shangra La in Guilin. We were on a 5 star tour with superb hotels. So we were extremely disappointed to be put up in this dump. Not sure how they can claim it is a 4 start. It is closer to a 1 star. Dirty room, bathroom, dining area, lobby, hallways etc. We will be bringing it to our tour operator to prevent others from staying there.

One thing that was funny is they have a sheet that details all the costs you will pay for damage. Such as - 1 cigarette burn in the carpet - 50 yuan. More than 10 cigarette burns - replace entire carpet. So we were wondering what type of people stayed here.

Also, they only accept 100 yuan as a security deposit. They cannot even handle putting it on a credit card. So when you check out, they send a runner to check the room.

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park,KS
Top Contributor
532 reviews 532 reviews
281 hotel reviews
Reviews in 212 cities Reviews in 212 cities
308 helpful votes 308 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

Hotelis updated, and very nice.Rooms are large and clean. If you get a hotel on the street side it will be noisy. This hotel is used by several tour groups including China Focus.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

Wenn you go here, do not expect a good four star hotel, but a budget hostel. Then you're stay will be fine. It is very basic and not very clean, but I think is was all right for the money. The rooms are simple and the bed not very good, but I slept very well, although it was a bit noisy. The situation is very good with many shops in the nieghborhood. I had a good stay after all.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to New West Street International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New West Street International Hotel

Address: No.68 Pantao Road, Yangshuo County 541900, China
Location: China > Guangxi Zhuang > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Yangshuo County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — New West Street International Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Hotels.com so you can book your New West Street International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel New West Street

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New West Street International Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.