We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis of Hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yangshuo Tea Cozy

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Yangshuo Tea Cozy to your Saves list
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
No.212 Xiatang Village, Baisha Town, Yangshuo County 541900, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low season promotion
Ranked #1 of 367 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Hemet, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“An Oasis of Hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Tea Cozy for three nights in early March 2013 and couldn't be more pleased with the accommodations. Each room is uniquely designed with modern conveniences coupled with Chinese antiques. Nestled a few miles from town it is a restful respite from the busier tourist areas. The key to our stay was the warmth and hospitality of Curry Chen and his staff. Curry was our English speaking guide and suggested the right activities for our ages and the area. In addition the food was excellent and the menu covered both Asian and Western taste. Thank you Curry and staff for making this the highlight of our China visit. We will return!
Paul and Betty from Hemet, California USA

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor and the view and room was spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CurryChen, Manager at Yangshuo Tea Cozy, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Paul & Betty,

Thanks a lot for taking the time and sharing your experience, and I 'm so glad to hear that you have enjoyed your trip here and your stay with us! Thanks again for your positive feedback towards our rooms, food, tours and service.

Actually I was so proud of you that you had made it hiking up to the top of Xianggong hill when we did the photo tour, you really did a good job!!

As I promised, I was sure that I would take Kevin, Brenda, Katie and Grace to go there for a visit when they come back for their next visit, and I like Katie's questions as never ends, haha!!!

I really hope to see you again, wish you all the best!
Curry and the whole team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    30
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
99
148
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We LOVED our stay at Tea Cozy. The front garden, common spaces, and individual rooms are all gorgeous. Richard and Curry have furnished the place with a tasteful selection of Chinese antiques. They’ve managed to combine charm with comfort—old carved panels and sleek bathrooms. The FOOD is amazing. We couldn’t resist the superb Western breakfast. Don’t miss the banana crepes. The lunch and dinner menus are extensive—quite amazing for a small kitchen—and everything is excellent. The crispy duck was particularly memorable. We opted, enthusiastically, to eat in every night. The location, a few miles outside of Yangshuo, is on a quiet road by a small river. Bamboo rafting is within walking distance. The scenery is stunning, and we found this low-tech, more intimate experience preferable to a motorized cruise down the Li. Tea Cozy has a stable of bikes, and there’s great biking in every direction—by rice paddies, to a Ming-era village, etc. Around every corner is a fascinating mix of new construction (like Tea Cozy itself) and traditional sights. Best of all, the staff were all incredibly warm and knowledgeable, and their English was excellent. They were always ready with information about where to go—and to take you there, if so desired. We had a great time getting to know them—shout out here to Amy!—and enjoyed mingling with other guests. Tea Cozy is a terrific value and genuinely cozy!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CurryChen, Manager at Yangshuo Tea Cozy, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Susan,

Thank you for your positive feedback towards our hotel rooms, food, tours and service. Actually we did not hire any designers to do it for us, it just has been done by me and Richard ourselves, that 's why it took us about 2 years to do facilities decorating and service preparation before its opening.

Many thanks for taking the time and sharing your experience of your stay with us, we are all very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We sincerely look forward to your next stay with us.

Best regards from the whole team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel aviv
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We have just finished a 3 days fantastic trip in Yangshou area.
We are a family of 3 and booked the entire package of hotel + 3 days guiding tours with Richard Chen . Being a worldwide frequent traveler for business and leisure, I cannot speak highly enough about the highly professional way that Richard has seen setting up this trip for us.
Starting from the first email correspondence, I found a perfect English speaking person , very polite , extremely professional and most of all , a real honest and extremely reliable person.
He answered each and every question of mine (and I had many) with lots of patient and supply all the requested data at a very fast and efficient manner . This have been continued once he picked us up at the airport and took the best possible care of us through 3 perfect days , showing us the countryside life , farmers’ houses in old town , high quality meals and fulfilling any request we came with .
Getting back at night to the Tea Cozy has been like coming back home , to the enlighten , smiley and relaxed face of the English speaking staff , the dinner that was cooked for us exactly as requested , and the very well equipped hotel room .
Thank you Richard for allowing us the experience Yangshou/China at the best possible way , and I hope we will come again with our entire family .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard c, Manager at Yangshuo Tea Cozy, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Nissim,
We so glad to recevied your wonderful review. It was been very nice to meet you, your wife and your daughter in Yangshuo and show you around this area, everything was our pleasure that we did, you are welcome!!!
I am also had a lot of fun with you in these 3 days and show you around the beautiful Yangshuo and Longsheng area, you told me that you will bring your entire family come to visit Yangshuo area in this Oct, we really looking forward to see you again, the Tea Cozy welocme you anytime.
Best regards!!
Richard and Tea Cozy Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Lakes
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We very much enjoyed our stay at the tea cozy. It's a lovely hotel and the staff are friendly and helpful. We enjoyed eating in the restaurant and the food is reasonably priced and very tasty.

My one criticism is that the trips we booked were pricy in comparison with the service we received elsewhere on our trip in China. On our tour we ended up with a non-english speaking driver and no guide. This meant that we received no background or cultural insight to the places we visited. As such, whilst I would very much recommend staying at the hotel, I would encourage people to try some of the other tours that are highly rated on this website.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CurryChen, Manager at Yangshuo Tea Cozy, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear guest, we are awfully sorry to learn that we did not meet your expectations for tours. I have realized that we should have suggest you to have an English speaking tour guide to go with you even though some of you can speak Chinese, but just in case anything unclear on the trip that a guide can manage for you, because most of the drivers don't speak English. So, your constructive feedback will certainly help us attain a better level of service quality. We sincerely look forward to your next stay with us!

Best regards from the whole team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We recently spent 3 nights here (February 11-13, 2013) and loved it. Our room was lovely (king suite with wooden bathtub) and the bed fantastic. Food was great, but the best thing about the place is the genuinely warm welcome from Richard and the rest of the gang. We really felt at home.

The location of Tea Cozy is great, because it's outside of Yangshuo, away from the crazy traffic and tourists. You're already in the country with easy immediate access to the river, fields and interesting villages. The hotel has a great range of bikes, too, so you don't need to rent them elsewhere. We took 2 mountain bikes since we wanted to cycle through the fields, which were muddy when we visited. It was great! If you stay here there's really no need to go in to Yangshuo at all. We cycled in one day for lunch but didn't feel the need to go back there.

We live in Beijing and have many foreign friends who visit. We will send all future visitors to Tea Cozy without hesitation.

Many thanks!
David & Tim

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CurryChen, Manager at Yangshuo Tea Cozy, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear David and Tim, Thanks for taking the time to share your experiences of stay at our hotel, we are very glad that you have enjoyed your time here! and we really appreciate it that you would recommend us to all your friends who is coming to visit this area. We hope to see you again!

Best regards from the whole team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Not that this tea cozy needs more rave reviews, but I absolutely had to write something to thank the staff for an amazing five days. Look no further than Tea Cozy for your Yanshuo vacation. Having lived and traveled extensively in China over the past five years, I can say this is as good as it gets. My husband and I stayed in a deluxe twin bedroom (on the 3rd floor w/ great view) for four nights during the off-season in February so the hotel was quiet. The hotel arranged an airport pickup from Guilin Airport for an affordable RMB350 one way. Our room rate came with two free bike rentals each day in which the staff were happy to recommend off-the-beaten path trails amid rice paddies looking up to the breathtaking Karst mountains. A thoughtful staff can be hard to find, but here sick travelers were offered soup and other remedies. You can book rock climbing trips, eat a delicious meal or just relax with an in-room massage (RMB90). Like other reviewers who arrived with high expectations, ours were met with such flying colors we never wanted to leave!

Room Tip: Checkout the rooftop restaurant and bar for a stunning view. Location is trick to find if you've...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CurryChen, Manager at Yangshuo Tea Cozy, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Guest, thanks for taking the time to share your experience of stay us! and so lovely that you enjoy the in-room massage which can always make you feel relaxing after outdoor activities such as biking and hiking. We hope to have a chance to serve you again at Tea Cozy, and thanks again for all your valuable comments!

Best regards from Curry and the whole team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I do not often write reviews but Curry, Richard and the team deserve praise. This little hotel hidden away from the noise and bustle of Yangshuo is a little piece of paradise.
The location is fantastic, the building, rooms, hygiene and food impeccable. But above all the staff are absolutely fantastic. Nothing is too much trouble, Richard's hand drawn maps helped us on tours of the country side, and when we got lost in the beautiful food at the Baisha Town Farmers Market (when we should have been back on the bikes heading to the bamboo rafts) the staff tracked us down to help us get there (escort) on time. On our last day Curry even deferred a family visit to provide us with a tea ceremony (he only let slip about the visit after the ceremony)
Great people, great hotel, great location ... 5 days was not enough so we will have to go back :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CurryChen, Manager at Yangshuo Tea Cozy, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Jason, thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us! We are all really very happy that you have enjoy your stay at Tea Cozy, and especially for the Chinese tea ceremony, I 'm so glad that your kids were interested in the P.P. boys, hope they have learned how to play it at home.
We would appreciate it very much if you could recommend us to the others, Look forward to see you again!
All the best to you and your family!

Curry and the whole team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yangshuo Tea Cozy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yangshuo Tea Cozy

Address: No.212 Xiatang Village, Baisha Town, Yangshuo County 541900, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Guangxi Zhuang > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 367 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
About Yangshuo Tea Cozy Encircled by breathtaking Karst peaks, situated beside the banks of the Dragon River and hidden among local farmers’ fields, Yangshuo Tea Cozy Boutique Hotel is an ideal refuge away from the town’s crowded market streets. Come and relax in a peaceful and serene location just a short distance from Yangshuo’s famous West Street.Just as the tea cozy works in harmony with the teapot and keeps the tea warm, so we strive to surround you with the warmth of our hospitality and the beauty of the Yangshuo countryside. Tea is also a passion for us. We have a special tea house within the hotel and would love to welcome you as our guests for our next tea ceremony. Each of the twelve rooms in the Tea Cozy Boutique Hotel is unique and decorated in a traditional Chinese style with tastefully fitted wooden furnishings, personally selected by us. Every room houses an array of antiques and pieces of local artwork. Enjoy a comfortable night’s sleep on the best mattresses on the market before heading out onto the wooden balcony to take in panoramic views of the local landscape.If you are seeking action and adventure our dedicated team have expert knowledge of the local area and can arrange kayaking, white water rafting, climbing, caving and even camping. For those looking for more cultural immersion, we can arrange cooking lessons, tea ceremonies, tai-chi sessions with the local masters and more. Alternatively, if you are just seeking peace and quiet our rooftop bar and restaurant serving Chinese and Western cuisine from our organic garden providethe perfect backdrop for rest and recuperation.At the Tea Cozy Boutique Hotel we pride ourselves on high quality and personal customer service. Come and join a family atmosphere, walk among the paddy fields, meet the local villagers and immerse yourself in the local culture. We are committed to making your stay with us a magical and memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Yangshuo Tea Cozy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yangshuo Tea Cozy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.