We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Utterly Fantastic, and in a Breathtaking Setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yangshuo Tea Cozy

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Yangshuo Tea Cozy to your Saves list
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
No.212 Xiatang Village, Baisha Town, Yangshuo County 541900, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Low season promotion
Ranked #1 of 367 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Xiamen, China
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Utterly Fantastic, and in a Breathtaking Setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

As every review says, the Tea Cozy has figured it all out!
From the rooms, to the setting, to the food & tour options, to the amazing staff, it was a WONDERFUL stay.

Everything was made particularly easy by Curry, who helped us ahead of time and also ended up as our tour guide for the bike riding day we spent. They provided great information and many options for the stay. It was very easy to set things up through them ahead of time and we thoroughly enjoyed their recommendations.

The rooms are absolutely lovely. They are spacious, well-layed out, and (of course) have beautiful views. We were happy to move to the top floor for the view (they'd given us a lower room in case we didn't want to go up there). We were a group of 5 friends, and had many options for sleeping arrangements. They are also well-set up for families.

We mostly ate there, and enjoyed our food. They have great options, and out of 5 or 6 meals, there were only a couple of items that were not fantastic. The indoor and outdoor options for seating are nice. It was chilly when we were there, so people mostly packed in near the fireplace, but the other areas were beautiful too.

The location is perfect for exploring the beautiful countryside. Just use their bikes and go! (or, like they recommended to us, since we only had one full day, so no time to get lost, have them set up a guide).

A few of us already want to return to Yangshuo for the countryside, and I think we'd find a new time to go if the Tea Cozy was already booked. It was the perfect place to stay.

Room Tip: If you can't handle stairs, you'll want to request one of the lower floors. Otherwise, take...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CurryChen, Manager at Yangshuo Tea Cozy, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear Katherine,

thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed the hotel’s facilities and services, especially for the bike riding in the countryside and mud bath in the Water Cave. It is our pleasure to provide you with a memorable stay in our hotel. We look forward to your next stay with us.

All the best to you from the whole team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    34
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
101
161
11
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We are SO happy we booked our stay at The Yangshuo Tea Cozy Hotel! It is located in a serene and idyllic setting alongside the Yulong River, offering breathtaking views of the mountains and countryside from the room, yet only minutes from the bustling downtown (more touristy part) of Yangshuo. This is a quaint hotel (similar to a bed and breakfast in the US) that provides a warm and familial setting for guests - it is attractively designed resembling an ancient Chinese teahouse that features modern and stylish design elements. The on-site hotel restaurant features a vast menu with both Chinese and Western cuisine (the noodles, steam bun and ginger tea were my favorite). It also has a wood-burning fireplace, books and games, providing a welcoming setting where guests can relax and lounge around. The best part about this hotel is the staff (English-speaking) - we were greeted each time we walked by and given reliable guidance where to go each day (referred to credible, good-quality vendors: restaurants, shops, bamboo raft vendors, legitimate and clean day spa, etc.) I definitely recommend travelers who appreciate nature or are looking for a relaxing vacation (whether solo, couples or families) to stay at The Yangshuo Tea Cozy!

Advice: There is no need to plan out your itinerary before arriving Yangshuo. If you consult Richard Chen, one of the hotel managers, he can customize a perfect itinerary for you based on your interests and length of stay; he can contact the credible travel agents/vendors and make the necessary arrangements on your behalf (tours, restaurants, etc.). He will refer you to places that are NOT tourist traps, and provide guidance about where prices should range for each activity/booking.

Room Tip: Get a room that offers balconies and views of the mountain!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CurryChen, Manager at Yangshuo Tea Cozy, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your valuable feedback towards our hotel. We are so glad that you have enjoyed your time. It is our pleasure to provide you with a pleasant and comfortable stay here with us. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Regards,
The whole team of Yangshuo Tea Cozy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

My brother, his wife, my husband and I spent 4 days in the countryside with Richard, the owner of Tea Cozy. Hiking, biking, kayaking, boat riding, mud bathing. There was no stoping and every plan was right on. He speaks perfect English (a bit of Hebrew as well) and so does this staff. Richard is very attentive and energetic, good sense of humor and style (nice stone collections). We loved the hotel, the views, the rooms, the menu, the food he cooked for us (especially the Israeli salad and the lotus - turtle dinner). We enjoyed everything about the 4 days we spent there. It was megical and I still cannot figure out how one person can get it all done! Richard made us feel at home in his beautiful hotel. We felt pempered at all times. Would love to come back some time...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Loved our 2 night stay at the Tea Cozy in November. We took the river cruise from Guilin and were so pleased we decided to stay in this delightful little town. Everything about the Tea Cozy was perfect - very friendly staff with excellent English, beautifully decorated rooms oozing Chinese charm (with the bonus of comfy beds!), great food, outstanding views, and great value for money.
We loved the cosy fire in the dining room, and the ginger tea was not to be missed.
The staff arranged every aspect of the trip - the river cruise from Guilin, cormorant fishing, foot massage in our rooms and cooking course for 2 of our party.
Can't recommend it highly enough!!!

Room Tip: No lift so request a low floor (there are 5) if stairs are a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CurryChen, Manager at Yangshuo Tea Cozy, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your great review! We all are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel, and really appreciate that you recommend us to the others,thanks again and we welcome you back anytime!

Best Regards from the whole team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Tea Cozy last week. Curry, Amy, Richard and everyone here was the highlight of our China trip! We stayed at Tea Cozy for three nights and had an amazing time. Everyone was very friendly and all spoke good English. They were as enthusiastic about sightseeing as we were, and Curry, one of the owners, took us on a bike ride through several small villages and showed us some of the nearby beautiful scenery.

The room was very clean and quite comfortable - but honestly, we only went there to sleep and shower. Breakfast was nice and the tea ceremony that Curry held for us was fun, informative and gave us a chance to meet some of the other guests.
Yangshuo was amazing. And Tea Cozy was the perfect end to our China trip.

Room Tip: Email Tea Cozy directly and discuss with them on the best room for your group and also the best iten...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CurryChen, Manager at Yangshuo Tea Cozy, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Parag, Thank you very much for your sincere review! We are all very happy that you have enjoyed your stay here. Speaking of the bike tour to the countryside, was a little bit challenging, but great view, wasn't it? As i said that In this area there's a lot to see and also a lot to do, so that you will have to plan your next stay longer....

Hope to see you again, and you are welcome back anytime.

Best regards from the whole team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

My wife, 2 little daughters and father-in-law spent 4 nights at Yangshuo area last weekend. It was the best China trip we've experienced since we moved to Asia and an authentic opportunity to experience village life in China.

Richard, the owner, guided us throughout the vacation and took us through a fantastic bicycle ride, cave tour + hot springs, Impression show, and a wonderful trip to the rice terrace villages (3 hrs drive north) where we spent a night at a village.

Overall, truly amazing experience. The one final note was that the food prepared by the hotel staff, headed by Richard, was probably the best Chinese food we have ever had. It's always v rewarding to know that your next meal is likely to be a great one...

Service and attention level to my family was great, and hotel quality was definitely adequate (don't expect Four Seasons but good, clean, relatively comfortable bedrooms).

Overall, if I get back to the area, would repeat the experience at Tea Cozy.

Room Tip: Probably the ones who face the back yard so there is no much noise from street, but don't think...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

honestly... it was GREAT EXPERIENCE for staying at his hotel. the staff can speak English fluently so there is no burden for communicating each other or requesting something.

the view from our room is PERFECT. the bed is very lovely and truly Chinese! psstt.. i love the "Chinese Bathtub" in the room.

smooth arrangement from the staff for additional show in Yangshuo area, LiuSanJie Show. the rooms are limited so better you reserve the room 1-2 months before.

for the service, two thumbs up!!! the staff are really helpful !!! they can accommodate all of my
"annoying" requests hahaha.

the value, i think it is quite reasonable. i really love this place and beyond my expectation.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CurryChen, Manager at Yangshuo Tea Cozy, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Nitskie,

Thank you very much for your trustful review, It really makes us feel proud, and we are all very happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us here at Tea Cozy, hope to see you again someday. Also, we'd really appreciate your recommendation to others, for sure we are working harder to make all our future customers a comfortable stay with us as you did. Thanks again!

Best regards to you from the whole team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yangshuo Tea Cozy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yangshuo Tea Cozy

Address: No.212 Xiatang Village, Baisha Town, Yangshuo County 541900, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Guangxi Zhuang > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 367 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
About Yangshuo Tea Cozy Encircled by breathtaking Karst peaks, situated beside the banks of the Dragon River and hidden among local farmers’ fields, Yangshuo Tea Cozy Boutique Hotel is an ideal refuge away from the town’s crowded market streets. Come and relax in a peaceful and serene location just a short distance from Yangshuo’s famous West Street.Just as the tea cozy works in harmony with the teapot and keeps the tea warm, so we strive to surround you with the warmth of our hospitality and the beauty of the Yangshuo countryside. Tea is also a passion for us. We have a special tea house within the hotel and would love to welcome you as our guests for our next tea ceremony. Each of the twelve rooms in the Tea Cozy Boutique Hotel is unique and decorated in a traditional Chinese style with tastefully fitted wooden furnishings, personally selected by us. Every room houses an array of antiques and pieces of local artwork. Enjoy a comfortable night’s sleep on the best mattresses on the market before heading out onto the wooden balcony to take in panoramic views of the local landscape.If you are seeking action and adventure our dedicated team have expert knowledge of the local area and can arrange kayaking, white water rafting, climbing, caving and even camping. For those looking for more cultural immersion, we can arrange cooking lessons, tea ceremonies, tai-chi sessions with the local masters and more. Alternatively, if you are just seeking peace and quiet our rooftop bar and restaurant serving Chinese and Western cuisine from our organic garden providethe perfect backdrop for rest and recuperation.At the Tea Cozy Boutique Hotel we pride ourselves on high quality and personal customer service. Come and join a family atmosphere, walk among the paddy fields, meet the local villagers and immerse yourself in the local culture. We are committed to making your stay with us a magical and memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Yangshuo Tea Cozy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yangshuo Tea Cozy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.