We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where long life is celebrated” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Xing Ping

Xing Ping
Yangshuo County 541906, China
Improve this listing
Attraction Details
Singapore
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Where long life is celebrated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

There is an old residential street near the bus station. Our walk through it was quite an eye opener. Many of the homes had little furniture: probably a television set and a few stools in the living room. Half way down a street, we stumbled upon what appeared to be preparations for a feast. There were several cooks and helpers preparing huge woks of boiling meat and vegetables. The house where the celebration took place were decked in red and someone even threw a lighted cracker when we passed. Thinking that we stumbled upon a wedding, we enquired about it and were shocked to be told that they were having a funeral wake instead of a wedding. Unlike the usual aversion for death, the passing of of an elderly relative in this instance was treated as cause for celebration rather than a tragedy. The visit of a group of distinguishing guests, to pay respects, were accompanied by a group of musicians playing respectful but upbeat music. It must have been a celebration of a life well lived.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    15
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Xing Ping ancient village”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

Well worth a visit, this ancient village is quiet and charming and allows you to feel how life has always been in small Chinese villages. The river often overflows and there is a marker on a wall that shows you how the entire town floods a few days a year. It has been a market town for centuries and even president Clinton and his family visited it when they came to China.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qingdao, China
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A break from Yangshuo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

We took the motorized raft from Yangdi to Xingping on the Li River, which does have many beautiful scenes, including the one on the back of the 20 yuan note. The village itself has a nice mixture of new-er buildings and shopping as well as the old village buildings, open market, and attractions. If you go on the right day you can take part in the open market, selling fresh food, housewares, and about anything else you possibly could need. Definitely an interesting experience if you have never been to one in China before.
There several restaurants to choose from, although some are a bit pricey for what you get. Walking the old streets is really neat, too.
We also enjoyed some ice cream with a freshly made waffle cone by the foreign boss.
Definitely worth the trip there and back. Warning: getting a bus back to Yangshuo can be done but it was very crowded and we got to sit on very small plastic stools in the middle of the aisle for the hour ride. But we did get to see a lot of other country side along the way.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Well worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

We are currently staying at the Mountian Retreat ( wonderful small hotel) who arranged a day trip out to Xing Ping for me, my 7 year old and 77 year old visiting parents. Xing Ping has a nicely done small shopping street with tourist souviners and some small eateries. If you wonder down past the sellers, you can see a bit of "old street".

Most people go to Xing Ping to see the famous scenic spot where the picture on the 20 rmb is taken. A 1 hour or so motorized boat ride up river, then a bit faster ride down, totaling 2 hours. Time was more than enough for my 7 year old, just when he was "done", boat ridewas over. We were lucky to have a sunny clear day during off peak season, so the river was not crowded and scenery was breath taking. What most of us imagine when thinking of china. There were water buffalo soaking and swimming in the river, which we all loved. Scenery was breath taking, whole experience was fun and memorable.

The 1 hour car ride to and from was also very nice. Interesting countryside, fields, farmers bringing in the harvest, water buffalo working/walking along.

We also stopped in a small town along the way as it was market day there. Each small town has a different schedule. Your hotel should know. I have been to many China markets, and even I saw some things that were new to me. Lots of colors, sounds,smells and sights. 30 minutes was enough for my dad...a bit of sensory overload. The rest of us could have explored a bit more, but still saw everything and bought a couple of things. Mostly interesting photos.

I highly recommend for all ages. Easy walking and something for everyone. The only possible tricky spot were the steps down to the river to get on the boat. Mom had double knees replaced and was able to go up and down with someone assisting. Everyone very kind and considerate in assisting her. There are various entry points, so if this is a concern, surely there are other boat operators with smoother on off.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Want to see a little of "old china" while you still can”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

Go to Xingping. It is about a 40 minute bus ride from Yangshuo at a cost of about $2.00. It is the place where you can take the rafts and see the most beautiful mountain along the Li River. that part has become overly commercial, but if you go to the old streets in the old part of town you will find the old wooden architecture of a hundred years ago. Best of all now you can find a few places to spend the night there. Lots of little shops to pick up that gift, but most are like every place else in china. What is unique is the little art galleries with so great original works and some great little eating places with local foods. I stayed at Kelly's Guesthouse which in right on the old street and they have a great little cafe there. Free internet and bikes for rent. Spend the night and mix with the people at the modern Main Street Bar-b-que. There is also a gent from Korea on the old street that cooks up a great dish.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Xing Ping also viewed

Yangshuo County, Guangxi Zhuang
Yangshuo County, Guangxi Zhuang
 
Yangshuo County, Guangxi Zhuang
Yangshuo County, Guangxi Zhuang
 

Been to Xing Ping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Xing Ping, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Xing Ping to your Saves list