We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“10 out of 10! Amazing hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat to your Saves list
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.98 Fonglou Village, Gaotian Town, Yangshuo County 541907, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 365 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Perth, Australia
1 review
“10 out of 10! Amazing hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

The moment we set foot on this hotel we knew we made the right choice. The hotel is very traditional chinese, which we prefer than the tall buildings hotels. the bed is fantastic and better than most 5-star hotels. Staff is very accommodating and friendly and we felt we're a part of the family. Jerry, the owner of the place, went extra mile and took us hiking to two mountains on separate days and he did not charge us a single cent! Lily the receptionist is super nice and always smiling. We dont usually eat at hotels to try the cuisine at different restaurants but the food here is so amazing we didnt miss a meal. Do not forget to try the pizza, i know is not traditional but it is fantastic, mapo tofu and beer fish are to die for! If you are in Yangshuo you definitely need to stay here or at least try their restaurant.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    18
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
35
38
4
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

Coming to this hotel is like visiting family . The staff have made this trip to Yangshou a really memorable one, despite being short. The have invested so much time and effort into making our stay pleasant, relaxing , stress free and memorable at that. The proprietor , jerry, has made us so welcome and has personally helped show us around.Lilly on reception has also been amazing . The hotel has a great and peaceful location that adds to the charm. Around the accommodation is a beautiful village , river , trek and cycle paths. It is not far from
Downtown -
Approx 4km. Easy to walk,
Cycle or catch a cab. The hotel also has onsite kitchen that caters for breakfast, lunch and dinner . The food is fresh and tastes great!! The pizza and beer fish are well worth trying . I couldn't complement this place enough. For the money - it's definitely well worth a visit . It's extremely clean and comfortable , which makes if a great base to explore.

Mark - Scotland

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
247 helpful votes 247 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

If you come to Yangshuo, you should definitely stay here.  Fonglou (which means Phoenix Tower) is a small village about 5k up the road from Yangshuo center.  Fonglou Retreat is one of two hotels in town.  The rooms are comfortable and clean (great beds!) and the wifi works well.

But what makes this place special is Jerry, the owner, and his excellent staff, who love hosting guests and teaching them about the local culture.  Jerry is one of the most friendly and welcoming hosts we've met in all of our travels (which is saying a lot - check out our profile!).  He really makes this hotel unique and puts a lot of energy into the place.  Early each morning, Jerry brought us on a different hike or bike ride to see the beautiful scenery, learn about the village and meet local people.  He loves the area and wants to make sure you see the best of what's around.  (During the day you might be on your own, as Jerry also has a day job, but they'll give you lots of tips on where to go). The hotel doesn't try to sell you tours, but rather they suggest off the beaten path hikes, rides and other activities, most of which can be done on your own, and for free.  Jerry also speaks very good English, as he's spent several years in the US.  Lili, the manager, also has a very strong command of English, and was equally warm and helpful.

The hotel is about a 10-minute taxi ride from town.  A taxi will set you back 40 yuan.  (Ask the taxi driver to bring you to "Fonglou".  Once you turn off the main road, it's one of the first buildings you come to.)  Your other option is to borrow one of the hotel's bikes and ride about 30 minutes into town.  We did this once and it was an interesting ride with lots of places to stop off along the way.  But really, there's not much need to go into town (though there are a couple of little streets in Yangshuo lined with bars that could make for a fun night out).  The food at the hotel was amazing and we ate pretty much all of our meals there.  Also, many of the natural wonders and highlights of the area are around the hotel, so most of the time we'd see people from town coming out to our area, rather than vice versa. There are endless beautiful places nearby to explore by bike, and there's a river close by where you can take bamboo raft rides.

Overall, we can't say enough positive things about our time at this hotel.  If in Yangshuo, be sure to stay here! 

One final tip - before you book, check directly with the hotel for the best deals.

Room Tip: We had a room on the top floor, which was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed here during the busiest week of the year, the October 1 national holiday. We arrived very late due to traffic, and the owner, a Taiwanese man named Jerry, was waiting up for us. He took us right to the room and left checking in for the next morning.

The room was cute, and there was free water and wifi.

The breakfast on the rooftop was good, and had a great view of the characteristic karst peaks. Jerry and Lily continued to provide great service as they helped us figure out our hiking and biking route for the day.

We purposefully chose a lodging option that was outside of the town, knowing that we wanted to bike. For people without a car or not interested in cycling, it may not be an ideal location. It's about a 10 minute drive or a 20-30 minute ride into town. The retreat offers a large selection of decent quality bikes free of charge. We really appreciated that! The location was mostly quiet and peaceful, which we also appreciated.

Dinner at the retreat was good as well, with good pizza and even better Chinese food.

Our trip during this holiday was a bit marred by hordes of people, thousands of boats crashing into each other on the river, and tons of honking cars and trucks, but Fonglou Pagoda and the great scenery made the trip worth it all. Don't go on October 1, but DO GO to Fonglou.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I stayed in Fouglou on the last night of our 5 days trip in Yangshuo in September and it was great. Jerry the owner was so nice and friendly to show us around the area nearby on the 1st day we arrived, we biked around the village, the farm, the river, the village school, the historical secret site of the war...This place is breathtaking. The most important point is - this great biking route is just nearny Fonglou, no need to bike on the road with giant tour buses around!
Just 10mins walk to the famous Moon Hill, what a great morning hike before breakfast on rooftop with village farm view, ah.. so good...

I've been to Yangshuo for like 4-5 times before, but here in Fouglou still impress me so much. it's a peaceful getaway from the noisy town of Yangshuo, my room on the 2nd floor with double balcony was clean and nice, with handcraft wood and bamboo furnitures, hot and strong shower, fast wifi, "heehee..." Exceptional B&B in Yangshuo in short, highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I stayed for 3 nights at the Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou. Formidable views from the rooms' terraces. Very comfortable, nice and clean rooms. Very helpful and friendly staff. Bikes included. Do not hesitate to book the place for a relaxing adventure in the Yangshuo region!

Room Tip: Top floor rooms with terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed at Pagoda Fonglou Retreat for 3 nights in August and were very pleased with absolutely everything in this place. Let me list some things:

1) First of all, service! The girls at the reception speak good English and are extremely helpful in organizing any trips or events. We needed a train ticket from Liuzhou to Zhangjiajie - no problem. We needed someone to pick us up from the Guilin airport or drive us to Liuzhou - no problem (although the service itself was not very cheap). And the map we got for bicycle riding trip around the hostel - WOW. You should really publish this!

2) The building itself is a completely renovated farmhouse with some very nice touches to it. In the back there is a large garden, you sleep on a bed which used to be a hearth, there is a great verandah on the top of the buidling where you can have breakfas.. My wife and I loved it.

3) Location - very good, even if 10 km away from Yangshuo, the tourist town. It's close to the Moon Hill, it's a great place to start a must-do bicycle trip, it costs around 30-40 RMB to get to Yangshuo... Generally, the fact that it's a bit further away from it all is definitely a good idea, if you want to escape from the busy Yangshuo hubbub. One word of crtique though - I was hoping I would be able to see the river from the balcony, which was unfortunately not possible.

4) Food - best pizza we've had in China! And prices were not bad too, highly recommended!

Some words of advice:
- take a room on the 1st floor with the balcony, ground-floor rooms seemed to be smaller and obviously had a worse view
- you can skip the cormorant night fishing, it is rather short (1/2h) and misses a lot on the original experience (which is to say, instead of bamboo rafts and climatic atmosphere, you get noisy motor boats, swarms of tourists and some 4-5 cormorants tired from 'working' all day
- do not miss out on the climber's breakfast, French toasts were absolutely great!
- while there, definitely go to the Moon Hill...
- contact Luna and ask if any discounts are possible (like a package of a room + bicycle + breakfast, this could get you a good deal)
- ... and try the Fonglou pizza!

Many greetings to the great girls at the reception! / Pawel and Justyna

Room Tip: Take a room with a balcony on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat

Address: No.98 Fonglou Village, Gaotian Town, Yangshuo County 541907, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Guangxi Zhuang > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 365 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat presents the most natural style accommodation for you to enjoy the hills and rivers at Yangshuo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.