We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fouglou is exceptional” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat to your Saves list
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.98 Fonglou Village, Gaotian Town, Yangshuo County 541907, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 370 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Hong Kong, China
1 review
“Fouglou is exceptional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I stayed in Fouglou on the last night of our 5 days trip in Yangshuo in September and it was great. Jerry the owner was so nice and friendly to show us around the area nearby on the 1st day we arrived, we biked around the village, the farm, the river, the village school, the historical secret site of the war...This place is breathtaking. The most important point is - this great biking route is just nearny Fonglou, no need to bike on the road with giant tour buses around!
Just 10mins walk to the famous Moon Hill, what a great morning hike before breakfast on rooftop with village farm view, ah.. so good...

I've been to Yangshuo for like 4-5 times before, but here in Fouglou still impress me so much. it's a peaceful getaway from the noisy town of Yangshuo, my room on the 2nd floor with double balcony was clean and nice, with handcraft wood and bamboo furnitures, hot and strong shower, fast wifi, "heehee..." Exceptional B&B in Yangshuo in short, highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    20
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
42
48
6
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I stayed for 3 nights at the Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou. Formidable views from the rooms' terraces. Very comfortable, nice and clean rooms. Very helpful and friendly staff. Bikes included. Do not hesitate to book the place for a relaxing adventure in the Yangshuo region!

Room Tip: Top floor rooms with terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed at Pagoda Fonglou Retreat for 3 nights in August and were very pleased with absolutely everything in this place. Let me list some things:

1) First of all, service! The girls at the reception speak good English and are extremely helpful in organizing any trips or events. We needed a train ticket from Liuzhou to Zhangjiajie - no problem. We needed someone to pick us up from the Guilin airport or drive us to Liuzhou - no problem (although the service itself was not very cheap). And the map we got for bicycle riding trip around the hostel - WOW. You should really publish this!

2) The building itself is a completely renovated farmhouse with some very nice touches to it. In the back there is a large garden, you sleep on a bed which used to be a hearth, there is a great verandah on the top of the buidling where you can have breakfas.. My wife and I loved it.

3) Location - very good, even if 10 km away from Yangshuo, the tourist town. It's close to the Moon Hill, it's a great place to start a must-do bicycle trip, it costs around 30-40 RMB to get to Yangshuo... Generally, the fact that it's a bit further away from it all is definitely a good idea, if you want to escape from the busy Yangshuo hubbub. One word of crtique though - I was hoping I would be able to see the river from the balcony, which was unfortunately not possible.

4) Food - best pizza we've had in China! And prices were not bad too, highly recommended!

Some words of advice:
- take a room on the 1st floor with the balcony, ground-floor rooms seemed to be smaller and obviously had a worse view
- you can skip the cormorant night fishing, it is rather short (1/2h) and misses a lot on the original experience (which is to say, instead of bamboo rafts and climatic atmosphere, you get noisy motor boats, swarms of tourists and some 4-5 cormorants tired from 'working' all day
- do not miss out on the climber's breakfast, French toasts were absolutely great!
- while there, definitely go to the Moon Hill...
- contact Luna and ask if any discounts are possible (like a package of a room + bicycle + breakfast, this could get you a good deal)
- ... and try the Fonglou pizza!

Many greetings to the great girls at the reception! / Pawel and Justyna

Room Tip: Take a room with a balcony on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nanjiing
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

we stayed in this hotel for almost one week with my husband, my 2 years old child and grandmum too. it's a great choice if you wanna avoid noisy Yangshuo and stay in a peaceful place very close to the river and to all the nice sightseeing to do here. the rooms at first floor with balcony are clean, nice and have an amazing wiew. the girls who work there are very nice and helpful at any time (they speak great english!) and they organized for us good pick up, trips in the river and cheap bike rent. food is nice and not so expensive too. i will for sure recommend it!

Room Tip: rooms with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Because this hotel was rated 6 on Trip Advisor I had quite high expectations. I was disappointed. We had rooms on the ground floor and I found them to be very average. I imagine the concrete floors are in keeping with Chinese Style building, but they made the rooms seem very cold and sparse. My bathroom was below the stairs so my hair just brushed the ceiling (my fault for being tall). The walls of the shower looked like they needed a good clean because they were full of black spots (I could not bring myself to investigate whether it was dirt or mould). The ground floor rooms are good for kids to be able to run out into the garden. The rooms higher up will of course have a better view.
Although the staff were very friendly and willing, one gets the feeling the whole hotel needs to be shaken up to standard. The food was average and the kitchen could not cope when there were many people. We were once asked to please not place our order until the kitchen had caught up with the backlog!
The view on the roof is great for the evening dinner. The location of this hotel is also excellent, being near Moon Hill and in my opinion in a much prettier area than the Giggling Tree, Tea Cozy and Outside Inn.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We loved this hotel, with its friendly, helpful staff and view of the karst mountains. It felt like a wonderful retreat. We were greeted by name whenever we returned, and we felt so warmly welcomed. We did not have the coveted upper floor rooms with balconies and views (we reserved too late), but our ground floor room was still comfortable. The bed felt luxurious, and I think it was the best I have slept in in China. Based on previous reviews, I was worried about the shower, but they must have fixed that problem. The pressure was strong and the water hot; even our friends who stayed upstairs said their shower was great. It was cool and rainy most of our week, but the heat was great in our room so we were comfy. When we went into town for dinner, the staff called the cab and loaned us big umbrellas. We only enjoyed dinner at the hotel once, but the salad was so fresh that I was sorry we didn’t have opportunity to eat there again. And the breakfast was perfect—fresh squeezed juice, yogurt with cereal and fruit, omelets, French toast, eggs and fruit in addition to tea and coffee—all on a wonderful verandah. Other choices were available too, but we were so happy with the American/English menu that we didn’t venture to other things. The hotel can make all your arrangements for you, including rent bikes, but we had a great tour guide (sally zhou sallyxiujuan@yahoo.com.cn) so we only had them call the cabs for town. It was easy and cheap to get a cab back at the end of the night (about 30-40 RMB) so we were thrilled to be outside of Yangshuo in a beautiful quiet place for most of our trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed at Fong Lou for 4 nights recently and had an excellent time. The hotel is in a peaceful quiet area and is clean and comfortable in a rustic style. The staff are very friendly and speak good English. The food in the hotel restaurant is quite good too.

Overall, I have only good comments about this hotel, although some guests might be disappointed that the rooms don't have TVs or bathtubs and are not very big. But our family apartment (two bedrooms with a bathroom between them) was very nice and perfect for a family of 4.

It is about a 15 minute drive to town (40rmb in a taxi) but this is easy to organise. You can also hire bicycles by the day. You can really relax here and it's a great place for the kids to run around in the nature!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat

Address: No.98 Fonglou Village, Gaotian Town, Yangshuo County 541907, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Guangxi Zhuang > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 370 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat presents the most natural style accommodation for you to enjoy the hills and rivers at Yangshuo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.