We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel in a Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat

Save Saved
You added Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.98 Fonglou Village, Gaotian Town, Yangshuo County 541907, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 300 hotels in Yangshuo County
Toronto
1 review
“Fantastic Hotel in a Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

In many years of travelling I have not reviewed any of the locations I have stayed in however was so impressed with this location was compelled to public praise it! We travelled throughout China for 4 weeks and this location stood head and shoulders above anywhere else we stayed. The location is slightly outside of the main town but easy to get in and out and worth the incremental $30RMB cost for the views and tranquility that you get in return. Lily and her staff were incredibly friendly and helpful for all of our needs from renting bikes, to getting taxi's through to tickets to the Light Show (which I would also highly recommend) and could not do enough for us. The rooms are clean, modern and spacious and each provide a balcony overlooking farmers fields and numerous karsts that are picture postcard worthy. The food in the restaurant. both breakfast, lunch and / or dinner are great and well priced for what you get. If you are planning a visit to Yanhshuo I would definitely recommend the Yangshuo Pagoda as the place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    111
    15
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
29
33
4
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

We were the second western couple to stay at this hotel which we found by chance while cycling through the countryside with Mr. Su (also highly recommended) our tour guide. By chance I walked in met with Luna and the manager Jerry Lee and got a great deal on a beautiful room and a great breakfast. In the end we prolonged our stay to five nights just because of the brilliant service and hospitality of the staff and the beautiful scenery in the country side. We took taxis to and from Yangshuo for a few dollars.

Thank you again for a brilliant stay. We felt very welcome being far away. We will definitely com back someday all the way from Iceland.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

I can see Yangshuo view in my room. the size is good. I like their breakfast, different cuisine.
Luna and her team are very friendly. This little hotel near Yulong river. They help to book driftage and bicycle, very nice.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzhou, China
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

After heavily researching the area, we decided to take the advice and skip Guilin and head directly to the Yangshuo area for a 7-day/6-night trip. We are a family of five and loved staying at this retreat for the entire time. The staff, Luna, Lily, Fannie and Sissy, were the best and made our trip into a vacation. They set up all our adventures around the area: rafting, cycling, hiking, etc. Our suite easily handled five and the restaurant food quality was yummy for b-fast, lunch & dinner the entire time.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

We stayed for four nights and five days with our colleagues. I really like this hotel. It was pretty good. It is at the base of Moon Hill, convenient to lots (walk to Moon Hill, walk to the ancient village, and go to town by bicycle) but it was very peaceful and relaxing. The rooms were distinctive, comfortable and spacious. The roof terrace which you can bathe in the morning sun. Backyard garden there are small trees. In the room you can see the vegetation of the mountains. The breakfast on the roof was particularly good surrounded by the dainty scenery.
With the assistants and boss were very lovely people. They very much take care of the feelings of guest; will help recommend the play routes and projects. BTY, you can rent a bike in the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Luna and her team are very helpful and friendly. The pick up in Guilin airport was organized for us and all went very well.
Rooms are of a good size and have all needed amenities. Only one pb: almost no pressure in the shower on the 1st morning, still not sure why.

We enjoyed the calm of the environment (9km from busy Yangshuo), great views and what a pleasure to have breakfast on the roof top facing the karst peaks! As well the Moon Hill hike is at walking distance as well as Luna, a nice Italian restaurant with a nice terrace.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the 3rd floor on the "B" side. Best view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry5306, Owner at Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
Dear Guest, thanks for your staying with us, we appreciate that you like our hotel.
As for the no water pressure for the 1st morning, it is because the water pump is stuck by little sand and calcium. In the Karsts, most of the underground water has more or less calcium and lillte sand and they sometime cause the problem. However, the water pump is not very often to be stuck and if it happens, it is easy to be fixed in a minute. We are sorry to cause you the inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

First of all- don't stay in Guilin. Head straight for Yangshuo.

I am passionate about views. This hotel is in the middle of the countryside surrounded by 42 karst peaks ( give or take a few I couldn't count through the mist). You can hear birds waking you up in the morning and see the locals working in the fields from your balcony. To get this you are not in the town and yes, you do have to take a taxi into town. But you are within walking distance of great caves and the river. We cycled to an ancient village and walked along the river. We did a cookery course (absolute must do) in town which included transport and of course, dinner. We took the raft trip on the Yulong ( 10 mins taxi there and a 10 minute walk back to hotel).

All this was made possible by Luna and the other girls who were fantastic hosts. They organised our pickup from Guilin airport and taxi at the end of our stay. Our family rooms - one twin and one double with bathroom between were ideal and the beds are so comfy. Food was good. Well maintained bikes/ tandems for all sizes including our children.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat

Address: No.98 Fonglou Village, Gaotian Town, Yangshuo County 541907, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Guangxi Zhuang > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 300 hotels in Yangshuo County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat presents the most natural style accommodation for you to enjoy the hills and rivers at Yangshuo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.