We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little piece of heaven.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moondance Boutique Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Moondance Boutique Resort to your Saves list
Moondance Boutique Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Fenglou 1 (behind Moon Hill) | Gaotian, Yangshuo County 541900, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 367 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A little piece of heaven.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

After a hot and hectic 4 days in Shanghai it was good to arrive at the Moondance for some rest and relaxation. The staff in the hotel are excellent and are always willing to go the extra distance to help you. The food in the hotel is ok for what you pay. I would happily visit this resort again and would like to go there when it is a little less hot and humid. A big thanks to all the staff for making our stay perfect.

Room Tip: We stayed in the stairway to heaven room. Wonderful views from the balcony of the Karsts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    40
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
69
89
9
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Four of us, two couples, stayed for five days and absolutely fell in love with the place and the people. We had Rooms 203 and 302, both of which were lovely with great breezes, balconies, and views. Everyone at the hotel was kind and helpful, making us feel completely at home. Enough people spoke enough English that we never had communication problems. During our stay we did some day trips around Yangshuo, but mostly we hung out at Moondance and relaxed--a little reading, a little walking, a little biking. Behind the hotel, you can take a series of narrow roads and paths through rice paddies and up to a nearby cave. The area is peacefully tucked away from all the hustle and bustle of tourist crowds. We so enjoyed it and would go back in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: We really liked both 203 and 302--different views but equally lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights. Good place to stay, very, very helpfull and friendley staff, hike around the hotel, you'll be surprised! Special thanks to all the girls and Sam for their kind support after our raft incident.

Room Tip: room with a balkony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Alamitos, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Love, love, love this place. This was one of the highlights of our trip. After 8 days(beijing&Xi'an) of sight seeing we were ready to just chill and enjoy the beauty of the mountains and river and take things at a slower pace and Moondance was the perfect place to do it. The grounds were quaint and relaxing, the views were awesome and the staff was very friendly and helpful. We stayed in Starry Night on the third floor which is a very spacious room with a nice sized balcony and beautiful views. The food was very good. we ate all of our meals there and especially enjoyed the breakfast and coffee outside every morning. We stayed here 4 nights which was the perfect amount of time.

Stayed May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed for several nights and loved it. The room was beautiful ("Rising Sun" 3rd floor with huge balcony). You are situated out in the country and the views all around are gorgeous. The staff was very helpful. Upon emailing them, their manager was quick with a reply and very helpful with holding a room, suggesting the best way to arrive from Hong Kong, etc.

The only disappointment was the pool. The website shows pictures of it, but upon arrival it was green and murky.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

This is a lovely place; mainly due to location and the staff. The surrounding area is gorgeous, and it all feels very homey; the people working there are natural and extremely helpful and pleasant. Sadly our smoke detector went off both nights (even having been changed after the first night), so if there is a problem with the batteries you might want to keep an ear out for this before it wakes you up at 2:30 am! Also, be aware the pool is fresh river water - we chose this hotel for the pool but then did not feel entirely safe when we learned it's the local Chinese river flowing in. Still, this is such a lovely spot and very unique; we'd recommend it! Also do take the short bike ride or approx. 20 min walk over to the Luna restaurant (gorgeous setting, cute shoppingy village nearby with stellar views and great food).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crans Montana
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here very much. Roland (the Dutch Manager) will answer any questions before you arrive. The hotel can organise airport transfers, guides, river trips, excursions in fact anything you like. We used the services of a local Tour Guide called Feng. She was great and provided us with a memorable few days in Yangshuo. Her e mail address is feng@yangshuoguide.com Her prices are reasonable, she will organise anything you want and she tries to avoid the large Chinese groups. We even had lunch at her family house (no running water, cooking on an open fire in a mud brick kitchen, water buffalo in the shed, etc, it should make you realise how lucky you are!!).
The hotel is out of the madness that is Yangshuo. Peaceful spot by the river. Rooms very nice and the staff all make an effort. Roland is normally in the reception area on his computer so he can always help with questions or recommendations.
We used the minibus / taxi vans on the main road to get to Yangshuo. Cost about 3 RMB. Taxi back about 40 RMB. We used the free bikes from the hotel for a couple of hours one morning.
Some tips and comments: The hotel is by a river so take precautions against mosquitoes in the day or night and on your balcony. The food is ok but not amazing as some reviews say. You can not put toilet paper down the loo. It was ok for us as we had no tummy trouble but it could be horrible if you have problems!! I might have thought twice about staying here if i knew this before i made my reservation. We stayed in room 206 Dreamweaver. Nice room but the kitchen and hotel staff sit outside below the balcony. As is the Chinese way they often speak loudly and excitedly. This takes the edge of the peace and tranquility. There is a family with a small child living in the room next to reception. The childs screams and crying carries up the stairs again spoiling the peace and quiet of the place. It might not effect the rooms on higher floors or in other parts of the hotel.
The Impression show is a must. Expensive but worth every penny. Amazing show on the river at night with the mountain back drop.
All in all we enjoyed our stay. Roland and his team put a lot of effort into running a hotel in rural China.

Room Tip: Obvious but choose the room you can afford.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moondance Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moondance Boutique Resort

Address: Fenglou 1 (behind Moon Hill) | Gaotian, Yangshuo County 541900, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Guangxi Zhuang > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 367 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moondance Boutique Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With twenty-one non-identical suites holding modern private bathrooms, Moondance has the perfect suite for each traveler. Enjoy your coffee on the wooden balcony, take a bath with tremendous views of the surroundings, read a book in your lounge corner and rest like Sleeping Beauty in our self-made King-Size bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Moondance Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moondance Boutique Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.