We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such an adventure! We loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moondance Boutique Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Moondance Boutique Resort to your Saves list
Moondance Boutique Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Fenglou 1 (behind Moon Hill) | Gaotian, Yangshuo County 541900, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 367 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Louisville, Kentucky
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Such an adventure! We loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We stayed at the Moondance in May of 2013. We absolutely adored it! I highly recommend the Starry Night Room, the view from the balcony is exquisite & the room is perfect, especially the bathtub- very romantic. We ordered room service every night (too exhausted by the days activities to consider going out) & the food was some of the best we had in China.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roland S, Manager at Moondance Boutique Resort, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for the Great Review. We really appreciate it that you take the time to share your feelings and experiences with us and we are happy that you enjoyed your time with us here. Let the memories linger for a while.... :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    40
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
69
89
9
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We stayed here because of the good Tripadvisor reports but we found Moondance to be very poor value for the price. Our room had mold growing down the walls and the ceiling was badly marked with either dead bugs or mold. The toilet leaked across the floor when flushed but they have this covered by giving you plastic shoes! There are only a dozen rooms and so there is not breakfast buffet but you each have 30 RMB to spend and order off a menu. The first morning they didn't want to make us orange juice because they said they were too busy although they did provide it in the end. The second morning they had no oranges! The other choice for a juice is lemonade. We ordered the French toast but could not eat it because it was very oily and the oil smelt old. They provide a library of DVDs to borrow from but you must ask for the player to be brought to your room. We did so and they agreed but it never arrived. The access to the hotel is across a causeway which our driver was able to go across the first day but after that it rained and the causeway was totally flooded. The other road is just a very narrow, extremely potholed track. There are a lot of mosquitoes but our room did have a screen door. We would not recommend this hotel especially at the price they are charging.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dillon, CO.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed here after a long journey from Chengdu. I can’t say enough good things about this place. IT is remote yet close by to town. The bikes they have to rent are great and a must do at least a few of the days of anyone’s stay. The villages up the river are very scenic and give you a sense of a long time ago. Everyone was very friendly. We hired Sam, who works at the hotel, to take us on the 30km bike tour and it was one of the highlights of our entire 25 day china trip. The food is excellent as well. Thanks again guys!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Judging by all the reviews I had hopes that this would be a very special place. In fact - Moondance exceeded all my expectations. The setting outside Yangshuo on a river near a small village was perfect. The rooms were 5 star and the hospitality was warm and attentive.

My elderly parents and I went on several day trips organised by the hotel and they were all fantastic.

The food was also fabulous - we stuck to the Chinese dishes which were superb.

It couldn't be better than this.

It is about a 10min easy taxi ride from Yangshuo which for us was great. After visiting Yangshuo once - that was enough for us - the rest of the time was spent rafting, walking and visiting various other small towns in the area.

I cannot recommend more highly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We loved Yangshuo so much that when friends were going to be coming to visit us in Beijing we suggested a few days here and that we would join them. This resort caught our eye on TA and we were very glad we chose it! Since then, many friends have stayed here and enjoyed it as much as us. Hospitality here was great! Food was good and all of their set up and suggestions for activities were great! We walked to a very cool karst that had such a big cave that it was almost hollow and went rock climbing, zip-lining and abseiling there (i'm sorry I don't remember the name of that company). We biked all around, went on a bamboo raft trip, climbed moon rock, wandered West Street and just had a great time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roland S, Manager at Moondance Boutique Resort, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Any belated review is welcome if they can be as wonderful as yours! Thank you for the nice words and for introducing us to your friends! We try our best to provide everyone with a satisfied stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westchester
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Moondance was one of our favorite hotel/lodge that we stayed in while in China. We stayed primarily in 5-star hotels, but Moondance provided a much better experience than the others. There was a very relaxing tone to the place and the employees and owner were AMAZING with their friendly attitude and they were filled with information on the local area and things to do and see. They even arranged for my husband and son to have in-room massages from a local masseuse. The free bikes were an added plus and we rode them everyday that we were there. The town of Yanhshuo was a bike-ride away, as was the cave, moon hill, and many other sights. It was so nice to be outside of the main city where it was quiet and we could get a feel for the local flavor with a wonderful view of the river and the nearby fields with water buffalo, etc.
The food at the restaurant was wonderful and we ate there almost every meal during our stay.
We would DEFINITELY stay there again if we make it back to China.

Room Tip: Our family of 4 stayed in the stairway to heaven and it was a comfortable arrangement. The only thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed at Moondance at the end of March for 3 nights and had a lovely time. The hotel is perfect for a relaxing stay which is just what we wanted. It has a countrified rustic feel, yet had modern facilities and high spec bathrooms including loads of hot water. The staff are all very friendly and helpful and looked after us really well. After communications by email it was great to meet Roland who made a point of introducing himself. We stayed in the room on the top floor called Starry Night which was luxurious and spacious with a lovely bathroom and had a beautiful view of the river. i have read other reviews that mentioned hard beds but our huge bed was extremely comfortable, probably the best out of the 3 Chinese hotels we stayed in. The position of the hotel is set a little way away from the main hotel area, but within walking distance of all the main sights. The only downside to the location for some people is that when it rained heavily, the river level got very high and cut off the main access to the hotel which meant it was difficult to walk anywhere or get one of the usual taxis. However when this happened during our stay the staff arranged for a local driver who was prepared to take the back route to Moondance, which was along the farm tracks to the rear of the hotel. He took us to the main village to meet some friends in another hotel one evening and we telephoned when we were ready to come back. We could not have asked for a better or more personal service. I am not sure how often this happens with the river but it was not a problem for us as we were happy to chill out in the beautiful surroundings for one day, and the access road across the river became passable very quickly. It would certainly not stop us from staying there again nor recommending Moondance as a fantastic place to stay. We are not really cycling people but for those that are, getting around the back roads would not be a problem if the front access was inaccessible, and the hotel lends out bikes for free. We explored the local sights including the Big Banyan Tree, Gold Water caves, Fuli fan painting village by raft and watched cormorant fishing. If we are ever lucky enough to visit this part of China again we will definitely stay at Moondance Resort, it was perfect!

Room Tip: Starry Night is a large, luxurious room with a modern bathroom, huge bathtub and separate shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moondance Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moondance Boutique Resort

Address: Fenglou 1 (behind Moon Hill) | Gaotian, Yangshuo County 541900, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Guangxi Zhuang > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 367 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moondance Boutique Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With twenty-one non-identical suites holding modern private bathrooms, Moondance has the perfect suite for each traveler. Enjoy your coffee on the wooden balcony, take a bath with tremendous views of the surroundings, read a book in your lounge corner and rest like Sleeping Beauty in our self-made King-Size bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Moondance Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moondance Boutique Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.