We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquility” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moondance Boutique Resort

Save Saved
You added Moondance Boutique Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Moondance Boutique Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Fenglou 1 (behind Moon Hill) | Gaotian, Yangshuo County 541900, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Construction Finished
Ranked #5 of 300 hotels in Yangshuo County
Hong Kong
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Tranquility”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

A great hotel to escape to. Recently renovated and in very good condition. It is situated some way out of YangShuo town and the ride will cost about 40 RMB in each direction. The hotel has a good arrangement with taxis but this could still be a problem in peak seasons. Best suited to those who wish to make the Hotel their base and to explore the surrounding country. The reception staff are excellent and make the stay much less stressful. My location rating is based on serenity and tranquility not on closeness to town.

Room Tip: Get the honeymoon suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    142
    33
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
55
78
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We just returned from five days at the Moondance Hotel and I definitely recommend this hotel. We stayed here with three children, ages 5, 3 and 1. The hotel has a lot of stairs but the children felt very welcome and the staff was very accommodating and friendly. Lynn was EXCELLENT! She helped us arrange all of our day trips and picked great activities for us to do with our children. The bikes that guests can borrow and use for free are in great condition. My children LOVED our bike outing. The hotel is located very close to all the main attractions and activities but it is off the beaten path so you don't feel like you are in the heart of the activity. The food here was delicious and there were a variety of options to chose from.

To give one great illustration of the SUPERB customer service here - our driver to take us back to the airport did not show up at 1pm when he said he would be at the Moondance to pick us up. Roland, the owner of this hotel, immediately got his keys and offered to drive us to the airport in Guilin. Roland drove us to the main road where the driver ended up meeting us and taking us to the airport as planned but I was SUPER IMPRESSED that Roland immediately jumped in and was ready to solve the problem if the driver never showed up. None-the-less, Roland let three young boys with completely mud-covered shoes get in his brand new car without blinking an eye!

Roland and his team went out of their way to help our family and make sure our whole trip went smoothly. Thank you!

I would DEFINITELY RECOMMEND this hotel to families!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roland S, Manager at Moondance Boutique Resort, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
It was pretty tricky and nerve-wrecking with the traffic jam and the driver being late, so we hope that you can all laugh about it when looking back. It's great to hear that the kids had such a wonderful time with us and that they are now able to make all kinds of special creations with the local broccoli.

We would like to thank you for your kind review and hope to see you again one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wuhan
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there 3 nights with 2 children and 4 friends. Rooms are splendid, food is very good, staff is friendly. The only point to improve is the rooms to be better cleaned when you stay several nights. Only beds cover were replaced, but as it was raining the floor was still with dust. Not a bog issue at all comparing to the souvenirs we have.
One difficulty is to reach the hotel by car as the river was overfloaded. But our driver managed , no pb.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roland S, Manager at Moondance Boutique Resort, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you very much for your review and we are happy that you have enjoyed your time at Moondance. We hope to welcome you again in the future and we will work on the advice you have given us
The Moondance Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights in this lovely hotel.
1.setting is great, just beside the river and village.
2. Rooms are big and clean.
3. Bathroom is big, love the decor.
4. Lobby is comfortable but the sofa cover look a bit old.
5. We used the hotel bikes for cycling and one of the bike broke as they are not in good condition , I spoke with the owner who told me they are planing to replace the bikes with new ones soon.
6。breakfast is basic and I was disappointed from the quality of the coffee although the hotel own 2 espresso machines.
It's lovely to sit out side in the big yard, be aside the river and have breakfast.
7.dinner- we tried dinner one night and were very disappointed from the food.chinese dishes were a bit better than western but still not tasty.

8. Service was good.

Overall I liked this hotel and probably will come back.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret River, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

What a delighful surprise it was to arrive at Moondance. Such a lovely setting. We had been given the name by someone who stayed over a year ago, but you never rfeally know until you see for yourself. Staff were friendly, accommodating. The manager was also friendly without being intrusive. The room was lovely, very clean & spacious, as was the bathroom. Food was fresh...loved the Spring Rolls Moondance style! Beautiful to just sit on the balcony, with our spring rolls & drinks, or down in the gardens, eating breakfast whilst taking in the lovely scenery. Didnt want to leave! Gotta go back one day..

Room Tip: Our room was in the front which overlooked the river, but ALL rooms had a beautiful view, so you wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comox
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Magical. Lovley... pretty and well appointed.. right beside the river... with lots of lovely garden space.. and so peaceful with the birds.. and lovely bamboo....charming in every way, afternoon cocktails/ drinks beside the pool with puppies cavorting and early breakfast watching ladies washing clothes river side,,, and waterbuffalos wallowing were special experiences...
Interior wise...rambly and run... unusual grey brick at first feels institutional to westerners... but soon seems just right , it like the many levelled mainly unoccupied farmer residences soon become normal...thenormal correct thing.. lots of local decor interior and exterior choices makes for interesting visuals...
.......we loved it there....was surpriased about my reluctance to go. Actually we left without paying, but it wasn't really intentional..we just started an;other fun converstation, with staff.... and suddenlyt.. it really was time to go to the airport........ but alas..I guess the real reason we didn't pay is.... we just wanted to go back... and say goodbye again....have another few days of bliss...
...
we spent ten days here. Never had a moments regret and usually we are sick of something after a few days, usually five.
But roland, Ling,and all staff are. delightul....fun, honest. totally available , they give great recommendations for activities, and stimulating conversation and insights...when you want them, and skillfully fade into the woodwork when you don't .,,,,
We liked the bikes which were our method of exploring and there were lots of them always available....flat and tons of amazing sights..we swentto town on the local mini bus which is available up at the highway and an experience that should not be missed... night entertainment show was world class.. and is world famous for good reason.
. ..

Room Tip: We wanted a room with a tub and for some reason this request was ignored.. i am not sure why.///woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roland S, Manager at Moondance Boutique Resort, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your review with such a wonderful score for our hotel and staff. We truly enjoyed having you here for ten days, sharing all kinds of ideas and experiences in our various conversations. We are happy that you look back on a wonderful time with us and wish you all the best in Japan and your cruise back home.

In addition I would like to explain to all our guests that Moondance has 12 non-identical rooms and that it is always better to book with us directly and specifically choose the room to your liking instead of booking through an agency or booking site, where a room will be allocated to you, which might not be the room you had in mind.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

What a surprise China is. such a mix of huge cities and beautiful locations. This was our favourite place in China - what an amazing region .The Moondance is a lovely hotel in a unique location on a tributary of the Li river with stunning views across the region. We stayed in the Starry Starry Night room on top (3rd) top floor with a glass roof over a huge bath, large bedroom with king size bed a balcony with wonderful views. We enjoyed the free bikes and explored the beautiful region by bike and local bus,
The staff were friendly and very helpful and the food was excellent in fact so good we ate in every night. My only regret is we did not stay longer.as we booked 3 nights but could have stayed a couple of weeks.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Moondance Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moondance Boutique Resort

Address: Fenglou 1 (behind Moon Hill) | Gaotian, Yangshuo County 541900, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Guangxi Zhuang > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 300 hotels in Yangshuo County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moondance Boutique Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With twenty-one non-identical suites holding modern private bathrooms, Moondance has the perfect suite for each traveler. Enjoy your coffee on the wooden balcony, take a bath with tremendous views of the surroundings, read a book in your lounge corner and rest like Sleeping Beauty in our self-made King-Size bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Moondance Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moondance Boutique Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.