We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb hotel and location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moondance Boutique Resort

Save Saved
You added Moondance Boutique Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Moondance Boutique Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Fenglou 1 (behind Moon Hill) | Gaotian, Yangshuo County 541900, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 357 hotels in Yangshuo County
Sydney
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Superb hotel and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

What a surprise China is. such a mix of huge cities and beautiful locations. This was our favourite place in China - what an amazing region .The Moondance is a lovely hotel in a unique location on a tributary of the Li river with stunning views across the region. We stayed in the Starry Starry Night room on top (3rd) top floor with a glass roof over a huge bath, large bedroom with king size bed a balcony with wonderful views. We enjoyed the free bikes and explored the beautiful region by bike and local bus,
The staff were friendly and very helpful and the food was excellent in fact so good we ate in every night. My only regret is we did not stay longer.as we booked 3 nights but could have stayed a couple of weeks.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    148
    35
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
60
80
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Despite the bad weather, we spent 3 days in this lovely little hotel during the Chinese New Year, ideal to evacuate the big city stress.
We had a nice stylish traditional room (very clean) with a balcony overlooking a pleasant garden along the river.
We enjoyed the nice breakfast and diner there everyday (excellent fresh and cheap food), also the family atmosphere of this place.
If you plan a trip in Yangshuo, this is really the place to stay, you will not be disappointed.
Thank you to the Moondance team for its efficiency, kindness and good suggestions and
Happy New Year

A Parisian Hotel Manager

Room Tip: If available ask for a room overlooking the river and garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roland S, Manager at Moondance Boutique Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
It was great exchanging experiences. We are happy that we could live up to your expectations and truly hope we have given you a time always to remember.

Looking forward meeting you in Paris in the New Orient Hotel one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I stayed here with my Mom, husband and son (age 2). When we arrived, the staff greeted us by name and made us feel very welcome. We stayed in room 101 (Strawberry Fields), which we felt worked quite well for our family configuration. Moondance isn't perfect, but any small problems were more than made up for by the friendly and helpful staff and the gorgeous and relaxing setting.

The location won't suit everyone, as it's about 10km from Yangshuo. We took the bus to town in the daytime (3RMB) and a taxi at night (40-50RMB).

Pros:
- Extremely friendly staff. The staff showed my son puppies, which was the highlight of his trip. They also made me ginger tea (free) to help with a headache.
- We thought our room was really lovely. The decor was tasteful and unique.
- My husband is 6'8 and was shocked that the bed was long enough for him.
- The location is beautiful and very tranquil, and just a short bike ride to some of Yangshuo's sites.
- The crib and bedding they provided was perfect for our 2 year old.
- Bikes are free to use and they had a baby seat that was appropriate for a toddler.
- Restaurant is pretty good.

Cons:
- Sometimes staff forgot items or got our orders a little wrong at the restaurant.
- The location is lovely, but for some people it might be a little far from town.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roland S, Manager at Moondance Boutique Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
We thank you for your clear and objective review. We hope that you have enjoyed your stay with us very much and we are looking forward welcoming you and/or your colleagues in the future.
As for your comment about the Location - being 9km out of town can be a bit of trouble. But as you said - most guests prefer the serenity and quiet of the countryside. I hope you never had to wait long for a taxi ride in and out of town.
All the best to you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed in the room named "Bed of Roses' and it lived up to it's name. We stayed two weeks, and I am not sure how the staff did it, but we felt completely at home while at the same time feeling like we were staying in a luxury hotel. Staff are friendly, polite and accommodating and super efficient with making any necessary arrangements. We are definitely recommending this hotel to anyone - you have to visit to see the scenery for yourself.

Room Tip: Room 202, where we stayed, had a great view, it's own balcony and was a beautiful room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I love luxury hotels, and I've covered quite a number of these in most corners of the globe- but it seems like most of them have gone the way of "modern blandness" in terms of decor and room fittings. Plonk one in a deluxe suite in any major luxury hotel brand, and one can easily forget the country they're in- they all look the same. But the Moondance goes out of its way to be unique. In fact, not only the hotel is unique- each room is unique. They're named- when was the last time you stayed in a hotel which named its rooms with monikers like "Unforgettable", or "Rising Sun", with a description of each on its website and a worded portrait of the views they offer? The interiors are fitted out simple but tastefully. I noticed that a lot of the items- cushion covers, the Chinoiserie mugs- were available in the town markets, reasonably priced. A demonstration of how beauty can be achieved even on a budget.

The bathroom is probably the best feature- sparklingly clean, huge, deep tub with a view across Yangshuo's rural bucolic. The black-and-sandstone colour theme continued throughout- not a single bland glass fixture to be seen. The reading nook in "Unforgettable" is a particularly nice touch for the many misty (mystical), drizzly days that is probably part of Yangshuo's character- and charm- perfect spot to curl up with a glass and whatever literary escapism you have on hand.

Yes, the hotel is far from the action (about 10 mins by taxi or 15 mins by tuk tuk- both easily found near West Street), but one does not travel to Yangshuo for its action. The banks of the Jinbao River is a dreamy antidote to the mass tourism of West Street. Aptly perched along the Ten Mile Gallery, the most scenic route of Yangshuo, it's a traditional Chinese painting come alive with the sounds of roosters, the occasional buffalo and the chatter of local women as they washed their laundry in the clear waters in the early morning. It is easily the prettiest spot in all of Yangshuo- no mean feat when one considers that the town is probably the most picturesque part of China.

Breakfast is included, and excellent- although this wasn't made clear on the hotel website. There are set breakfast sets (Western or Asian) but I would recommend the "a la carte"- choose from a wide range of items to fit your appetite- all included as long as it remains within the maximum budget (Y25). The hash brown was particularly well done.

Five star beauty at 3 star prices. If only we could have stayed longer!

Room Tip: Read through all the room descriptions and choose one that appeal to you. "Unforgettable"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dordrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Unforgettable was the name of the hotelroom in Moondance Boutique Resort and indeed: our stay was unforgettable. Arriving in Europe after travelling in southwest China we already miss the beauty of the hotel and the room with view on this typical Chinese scenery, the good meals and the warm ginger tea, the garden with the flowers, which we only knew from southern Europe, the dogs and the usual sight of the village people, walking by. This hotel was a restplace in a very strange and far away country, where in other hotels we experienced that almost nobody spoke English and practically did not understand us. We appreciated the staff in Moondance, helping and advising us in trips andexcursions. Very nice young people with lots of energy and enthusiasm. Also the guests, attracted to this hotel, seemed to be more open for contact and some talking, sharing the costs of the taxi and going together on bycyle tours. The whole atmosphere was warm and friendly and we liked it a lot. Thanks again to Roland, Emily, Milly, Amy, Lynn and Sem. If possible: we'll come back next year.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

It was not our first trip to China, but it was certainly the best one because of the wonderful time we have spent in Moondance Boutique Resort, a outrageous hotel on a splendid spot. Actually when we arrived, we drove on a water hidden road, due to heavy rainfall, on a dark evening, but you can guess our surprise next morning, seeing this lovely area, next to the river, with the mountains in the background. Women were doing their laundry in this river, buffaloos came by. The hotel itself breaths out a warm and welcoming atmosphere and the staff is very eager to help you, also willing to advise with trips and calling taxidrivers. As we have been in more Chinese hotels where hardly anybody spoke a word of English, we were happy with this communication, which offered us more potential. Looking back we say: we had the time of our life in Moondance Boutique Resort and we want to thank Roland and his staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moondance Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moondance Boutique Resort

Address: Fenglou 1 (behind Moon Hill) | Gaotian, Yangshuo County 541900, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Guangxi Zhuang > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 357 hotels in Yangshuo County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moondance Boutique Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With twenty-one non-identical suites holding modern private bathrooms, Moondance has the perfect suite for each traveler. Enjoy your coffee on the wooden balcony, take a bath with tremendous views of the surroundings, read a book in your lounge corner and rest like Sleeping Beauty in our self-made King-Size bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Moondance Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moondance Boutique Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.